We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GG122
Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Beautiful room but breakfast need improvement

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 13, 2024
We arrived almost at midnight, it was raining but we had to go back outside across the road for our room (cairn apartments - superior double room), I'm guessing that side is the fancier one. So basically the company owns 2 buildings which are not connected to each other.
The room was a generous size, beautiful with a modern design, 5 different types of lightning in the room, huge ceilings, wardrobe, desk, kettle, compliment water, cookies and chips, hair dryer and several heaters and most importantly very clean. We loved the towel warmer in the bathroom and the shower set up. There is no A/C but I doubt you would need it in Edinburgh - we just opened the window. We didn't hear any neighbors unless they were passing by our door. Instead of 1 bed, there were 2 beds together. But they were bigger than singles- so like a king size all together. The mattress and the pillows were very comfy.
What I disliked - it's hard to pass through to the other side of the room, as it's extremely narrow between the bed and the tv (big suitcases would not fit there).
The closest outlet to the bathroom is by the entrance door, and the hair dryer cord is too short for me to be in the bathroom and close the door. So I had to use it as is in the room and of course my husband woke up from the noise.
For a breakfast we had to go outside to the other building. The seating area is limited and you may have to wait at busy times. Overall the breakfast was poor (compared to even budget hotels in London). No fresh bread, just croissants in individual wrapper (not the best quality) and sandwich bread (the type that can be on the shelves for weeks). Ham and cheese, yogurt and a few hot (more like warm) items which were not very good. Eggs, beans, and some sausages, yogurt. And they were putting 6 bananas at the time. Why not put all, so the basket look full? The buffet area is very small and the employees were standing there and watching you.
Also as other reviews mentioned, they do charge for the luggage storage ($1 per bag in a separate room) which is a very strange practice, usually all hotels do it for free. The hotel is already on the pricier side, over $200 on a Wednesday in May and the price is like $300+ on the weekend. For this price I can get a room in Florida right on the beach. Just cut corners on something else, like chips in the room (nobody like vinegar flavor anyway) and make the luggage storage free.
At the check out, they give us a little box with 2 macaroons inside which is very sweet of them. Overall the hotel and the employees are very pleasant, I would stay here again but perhaps had breakfast elsewhere.
P.S. We almost missed a train because no Uber, Bolt or regular taxi were available at 5pm mid week!? We had to run with suitecases...about 10-15 min to the waverly train station. So plan accordingly.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review
Responded Jun 18, 2024
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and would stay again, our breakfast is not for everyone and the bread is fresh and delivered daily, the croissants are wrapped and are also fresh daily, The fee for luggage storage is indeed £1 per bag but this is at the guests choice to leave them, there is also luggage storage at the train station for £5 per item or the bus station for £6 plus per item,
Regards
Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$542
  • ibis Styles
    C$542
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$520
  • Expedia.com
    C$543
0.9 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$326
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
C$224
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Exterior view
C$511
  • Booking.com
    C$511
  • Vio.com
    C$412
  • Expedia.com
    C$512
1.0 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$276
  • Expedia.com
    C$276
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$220
  • Hotels.com
    C$276
13.8 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$222
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
C$156
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
13.3 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
C$376
  • Vio.com
    C$411
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$371
  • Agoda.com
    C$370
1.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$339
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$339
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$277
  • StayForLong
1.1 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premier Inn bedroom
C$158
C$139
  • Vio.com
    C$158
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$148
  • StayForLong
14.2 km from Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Edinburgh
Reviews (1,755)
Filter reviews
1,755 results
Traveller rating
574
642
311
120
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
574
642
311
120
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews playhouse theatre single room continental breakfast omni centre city centre calton hill leith walk minute walk tea and coffee train station would stay again the ground floor reception staff bars and restaurants reception area comfy bed royal mile
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,755 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2024

Such lovely staff. We were met at reception by a woman named Helen- she was so lovely and welcoming. She understood that was travelled early in the morning and gave us a call when the room was ready so we could come back and have a nap/freshen up. Customer service 10/10. The room was very clean and a great size. A lovely shower also. Would absolutely stay with this hotel again.

Room tip: There were multiple signs around saying to book in with them directly for potentially some savings.
Date of stay: June 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2024

Dear Ellem555
thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are always here to help in any way we can. we do hope on your next visit to Edinburgh you may stay with us as your preferred hotel
Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2024

The room was very small and very hot with no air con or windows to open for fresh air.
The reception staff who checked us in said that breakfast was included in our stay.
Only when we checked out did one of the staff tell us it is 9.50£ per person per day for breakfast, and charged us after we were misled when we first checked in.
There was no understanding from the lady who checked us out, who was rude and would not listen.
We would not have had breakfast if we knew it was an additional cost, and only had a bowl of cereal, for which we were charged £9.50. Rip off.
This must be made clear when checking in.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2024

Dear LilybE6703QX,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry that you felt the reception lady was rude to you.
You have booked the small double room without breakfast through a travel agent. The room you were allocated was the small double room you have booked.
Once you go down for the breakfast, the breakfast team ask you to sign for to be charged to the room. Which you have done. Hence we have charged the breakfast.
We are so sorry that you felt this was a rip off. Unfortunately we have charged for what you have consumed and agreed.
If you are can send us the confirmation showing your room included breakfast we will happily refund the charges.
On behalf of the team I apologise for the inconvenience this might have caused. The reception lady was only trying to do her job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2024

When we arrived we thought the room seemed lovely - big spacious room and comfy bed. However, when we left the hotel during the day time we returned to find the room was completely swarming with ants. Photos do not do justice for the number of them. They were all over the floor, had crawled onto the dressing table, inside the kettle, in the bed! We went to reception to ask for a move of room as it was completely gross and unhygienic - although the man at reception was apologetic and as helpful as he could be, he said he was unsure what to do as there were no spare rooms so he would need to speak to his management team. 10/15 minutes later he knocked on our door to tell us that his manager said the only 2 options were 1) we are refunded and could stay elsewhere or 2) they kill the ants and we stay. It was already 5pm and attempting to find and move hotel so late notice would have been very expensive and time consuming so was not really an option (as it was my birthday we did have bookings and a time schedule to keep, we did not have a spare few hours to find and move hotels - even without bookings this would cause a downer on our trip away). So we felt we had no choice but to accept their offer to kill the ants and remain there for the night. We were though shocked when they came into the room, sprayed and killed the hundreds of ants, and then left them there on the floor rather than clean them away! We were just told to “avoid that area” if we could. Completely unacceptable, disgusting and unhygienic. The management teams response was completely unapologetic and their options for “remedy” just weren’t acceptable. 100% avoid - would not recommend at all. Makes you question the levels of cleanliness for the rest of the hotel!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Q5301YTemilyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2024

Dear MR BEN CATERER
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are really sorry that there were ants in your room.
The hotel was full and we couldn't move you to another room At first when you have addressed the issue, our team have responded quickly to resolve the matter to the best of their ability. The issue was caused by leaving the window open by the housekeeping for some fresh air. When we cut the grass at the back garden, the small insects - flying ants found their way to your room- which was already inspected before your arrival and everything was perfect. When we have given the options, you have requested for a rebate on the rate. At the time, the staff member were not authorised to rebate because you have booked through a third party agent. Then at a later point, the agent contacted the hotel and agreed to a 25% rebate to your total stay. Which we have agreed.
We maintain high standards in our cleaning and this was absolutely one of a strange issue. We apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused and our tea have done the best they could do within their limit at the time.
You had no further issues after the steps we were taken. We are really sorry that it happened and please accept our sincere apologies.
Your agent have agreed a 25% reduction and we have done that from our end.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2024 via mobile

Fantastic, friendly, helpful and well appointed hotel. Couldn’t fault anything about it and they fitted us in as a last minute booking at a particularly busy time. Really comfortable rooms with many added extras to make your stay feel exceptionally special.

Room tip: Book this hotel if you want a base really close to Edinburgh city centre
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KatieM4737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Katie,
thank you for your review we are happy to read the hotel met your expectations, we do hope to see you in the future
Regards
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2024

Staying here just now, the room is very nice, but the main plus for Staying here has been the staff ! Absolutely fantastic service from every staff member we've dealt with. Thankyou to each of you. The hotel is located less than 2 minutes walk from the playhouse theatre, so that was our main reason for staying here, we'll certainly be back. Thanks once again. Robert and Sandra.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RabJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kannan Nair, General Manager at Cairn Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2024

Dear Robert & Sandra,

thank you so much for your kind review, as i said this morning when you checked out we do strive to make sure our staff are very kind , helpful and anything we can do to make sure guests stay with us memorable we will always do our best to do this, we cant wait to welcome you again in the future and you are now part of our cairn family:)
take care
Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews