We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
425
169
35
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
169
35
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar complimentary sherry four poster bed spa bath honor bar city centre the main house shortbread biscuits day ticket drawing room bus service main road minute bus ride small hotel lovely hotel free car park leave the car
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 641 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We were given a room in the cottage which is away from the main road and is set in its own garden. On arrival we were meet by Shaun, who is a kind and helpful host.
During our 3 night stay he did everything we asked and even cooked breakfast on Sunday morning.
All of the rest of the staff were friendly and very pleasant.
The hotel is small and about 4 miles out of the main city, which is easily accessed by the great bus service offered in this city. We enjoyed our stay
I would recommend staying either at the back or in the cottage as the main road can be quite noisy.
They also serve a very comprehensive breakfast and dinner on some nights as well.

Room tip: Stay in the cottage.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

This is a traditional hotel with very friendly owners for whom nothing was too much trouble. Clean, with all the facilities we needed, plus excellent breakfast. The acid test of scrambled egg passed with flying colours! Whoever cleans all that brass deserves a special mention and a medal.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Destination803725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Our family and friends recently invaded Kildonan for four days this month during the Fringe Festival time in Edinburgh. It is a hugely busy time for hotels and restaurants and despite that, Kildonan far exceeded our expectations for ease and phenomenal service while we prepared for and celebrated our daughter’s wedding. We had lots of arrangements and questions in the months leading up to our trip and every email and question was answered promptly and with great help and information. Once we arrived, Sean, Chrystal, Gem and their staff were absolutely terrific. Nothing was too much trouble, and believe me, we kept them busy!

The Inn is conveniently situated on a main road south of the city centre, but just steps from a convenient bus stop to go to and from. Ubers were plentiful as well. The rooms themselves are beautifully appointed, and the breakfasts each morning delicious. With all that said, our favorite memories will be those of the kind and attentive staff. Thank you Kildonan for being such an important part of our daughter’s special day.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

My family recently stayed there for a family wedding. They were very accommodating so that the immediate family, extended family, and friends could stay there. It was wonderful to be able to do this since everyone lives in different cities in the US. We were able ti catch up on family news while eating a full breakfast every morning.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank blaeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

If you drive in the bus lane slowly, you can pick out the small gold and black sign amidst the long row of hedges and B&Bs along.this part of the busy road south of town. Just a few feet beyond that sign is the ivy-covered entrance to the small parking lot at the rear. Otherwise I don't know where you would park within miles of the place. Suggestion: room number five has an entrance directly off the parking lot. Unfortunately, we arrived on a Sunday and there was no dinner served here but breakfast Monday was very good and cooked to order. I actually got some Scottish oats in Scotland, rather than the usual “full English breakfast” that included bacon (what we would call ham), sausage, eggs, beans, and black pudding (what we would call blood sausage). We ended up driving several blocks up the street to a Papa John’s pizza place. Finally, after 16 days, some “American food” .

Room tip: room number five has an entrance directly off the parking lot.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank snochasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews