We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This home away from home is a great base from...”
OUTSIDE OF THE PENTHOUSE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OUTSIDE OF THE PENTHOUSE
FRONT VIEW OF THE PENTHOUSE LOUNGE SOFA'S
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
OUTSIDE OF THE PENTHOUSE
FRONT VIEW OF THE PENTHOUSE
LOUNGE SOFA'S
LOUNGE + SOFABED
LOUNGE
DINING TABLE LOOKING ONTO LOUNGE
DINING TABLE SET FOR FORMAL DINNER
42' PLASMA TV + CABLE TV + DVD PLAYER AND VCR IN LOUNGE
KITCHEN + BOSCH FRIDGE ETC
KITCHEN - BOSCH WASHER/DRYER + BOSCH DISHWASHER
KITCHEN - BOSCH DOUBLE OVEN, GAS HOB AND BOSCH DEEP FREEZE
OPEING GLASS DOORS ONTO BALCONY
HALL
MASTER BEDROOM WITH 37' PLASMA TV, DVD PLAYER + FREEVIEW
MASTER BEDROOM WITH GERMAN/BRITISH DESIGNER BED + IPOD DOCKING STATION
MASTER BEDROOM LOOKING THROUGH TO ENSUITE WITH DOUBLE SHOWER
BEDROOM 2 AS SUPERKING
BEDROOM 2 AS A TWIN / 2 SINGLE BEDS
BEDROOM 2 AS SUPERKING
BEDROOM 2 AS A TWIN / TWO SINGLE BEDS
BEDROOM 2 AS SUPERKING
BEDROOM 2 - PLASMA TV/DVD PLAYER + FREEVIEW
BEDROOM 3 SET-UP AS A TWIN
BEDROOM 3 AS A SUPER-KING
BEDROOM 3 - PLASMA TV/DVD PLAYER + FREEVIEW
BATHROOM WITH BATH / SHOWER
BATHROOM
ENSUITE WITH DOUBLE WALK-IN SHOWER OFF THE MASTER-BEDROOM
ENSUITE - DOUBLE WALK-IN SHOWER OFF MASTER-BEDROOM
PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL + GYM A 5 MINUTE.WALK AWAY FROM THE PENTHOUSE. THERE IS AN ENTRY FEE.
PRIVATE GYM + SWIMMING POOL A 5 MINUTE.WALK AWAY. THERE IS AN ENTRY FEE TO USE THE FACILITIES.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Hudi76
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This home away from home is a great base from which to tour Edinburgh and beyond.”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Our daughter was studying abroad in the Fall semester at St. Andrews University. My husband, our two teenaged sons and I flew over from our house in Texas to meet her at the Semester Break. We spent a week at The Penthouse including Christmas.
The Ewen's have a beautiful apartment home. Everything we could need including hair dryers, curling irons, soaps, towels, linens, etc were provided in the bathrooms. The kitchen is well appointed. We enjoyed the welcome basket generously filled with breakfast, snack and beverage items. The wine was delicious. The living and dining areas are very comfortable for 6 people. We appreciated having the DVDs and the televisions in the family room as well as the bedrooms.
The area around the apartment is safe feeling day or night. We walked to and from nearby bus stops as well as from the movie theatre. Restaurants are a short walk away.
Eddie was prompt to address any questions we had in a friendly, courteous, and professional manner. We felt at ease using appliances etc. in the apartment because of all the manuals and extra guidance provided to help you use everything properly and safely.
The Ewen's provide guests with an impressive assortment of guidebooks at the apartment as well as sending clients with a well appreciated list of websites, restaurant recommendations, theatre locations, etc.
We had a rental car, so we appreciated the free parking spaces in the lot convenient to the building in the apartment complex.
We toured around Edinburgh on bus, taxi, and the hop on hop off tourist bus. It was easy to drive into the apartment as well as to the airport and farther out into the countryside.
We have been staying in private homes or apartments in Europe since 1999. The Penthouse is one of our all-time favorites.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Booking with Eddie
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MO
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salt Lake City
Reviewed 27 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NM, USA
Reviewed 19 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susy0
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Light, spacious apartment with beautiful decor.”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This apartment is in a quiet residential area but close to the cinema, restaurants and two supermarkets and only a 15 minute walk to Princess Street. Parking for two cars is a real plus in Edinburgh where even the top hotels cannot always provide this. The apartment is very well furnished with rooms that were much larger than we expected. The decor is elegant and gives a luxurious feel to the accomodation The kitchen is particularly well equipped and with everything so pristine that we hardly dared to use it! However the greatest thing about the Penthouse is that the owners Eddie and Doreen really try to ensure that their guests have a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of the rooms.
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like but be aware that the apartment is up two flights of stairs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJ S
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Look no further..... stay at The Penthouse!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Penthouse for 3 nights during our visit to the U.K. and we all wished that we could have stayed longer. If you look at all the other reviews you can see that this place is really special! The apartment is roomy, clean, nicely decorated and conveniently located. It is a short walk to most of the major attractions in Edinburgh. There are several restaurants and shops close by and the area seemed very safe. We had driven to Edinburgh, but did not want to drive around town and the free parking spaces provided were much appreciated.
Believe me, just about everything that you could possibly need is at the Penthouse, and Mr Ewen was unbelievably helpful in both planning our stay and making sure we would be happy with our choice of accommodation in Edinburgh. Not to mention the lovely welcome basket.
If you want a comfortable, luxurious, and memorable stay in Edinburgh, stay at the Penthouse, you will not be disappointed. I would definitely return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners interest in assuring a happy stay at their place.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing