We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant apartment , in a central location”
OUTSIDE OF THE PENTHOUSE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OUTSIDE OF THE PENTHOUSE
FRONT VIEW OF THE PENTHOUSE LOUNGE SOFA'S
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
OUTSIDE OF THE PENTHOUSE
FRONT VIEW OF THE PENTHOUSE
LOUNGE SOFA'S
LOUNGE + SOFABED
LOUNGE
DINING TABLE LOOKING ONTO LOUNGE
DINING TABLE SET FOR FORMAL DINNER
42' PLASMA TV + CABLE TV + DVD PLAYER AND VCR IN LOUNGE
KITCHEN + BOSCH FRIDGE ETC
KITCHEN - BOSCH WASHER/DRYER + BOSCH DISHWASHER
KITCHEN - BOSCH DOUBLE OVEN, GAS HOB AND BOSCH DEEP FREEZE
OPEING GLASS DOORS ONTO BALCONY
HALL
MASTER BEDROOM WITH 37' PLASMA TV, DVD PLAYER + FREEVIEW
MASTER BEDROOM WITH GERMAN/BRITISH DESIGNER BED + IPOD DOCKING STATION
MASTER BEDROOM LOOKING THROUGH TO ENSUITE WITH DOUBLE SHOWER
BEDROOM 2 AS SUPERKING
BEDROOM 2 AS A TWIN / 2 SINGLE BEDS
BEDROOM 2 AS SUPERKING
BEDROOM 2 AS A TWIN / TWO SINGLE BEDS
BEDROOM 2 AS SUPERKING
BEDROOM 2 - PLASMA TV/DVD PLAYER + FREEVIEW
BEDROOM 3 SET-UP AS A TWIN
BEDROOM 3 AS A SUPER-KING
BEDROOM 3 - PLASMA TV/DVD PLAYER + FREEVIEW
BATHROOM WITH BATH / SHOWER
BATHROOM
ENSUITE WITH DOUBLE WALK-IN SHOWER OFF THE MASTER-BEDROOM
ENSUITE - DOUBLE WALK-IN SHOWER OFF MASTER-BEDROOM
PRIVATE SWIMMING POOL + GYM A 5 MINUTE.WALK AWAY FROM THE PENTHOUSE. THERE IS AN ENTRY FEE.
PRIVATE GYM + SWIMMING POOL A 5 MINUTE.WALK AWAY. THERE IS AN ENTRY FEE TO USE THE FACILITIES.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Judithmc5...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant apartment , in a central location”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We used this apartment as a base when our daughter got married in Edinburgh .It was ideal both in the run up to the wedding and afterwards to wind down. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The apartment had everything we needed and more. A real home from home. Eddie and Doreen (the owners) couldn't have been more helpful. The apartment was spotlessly clean and furnished to a very high standard. If we ever require an apartment in Edinburgh again, The Penthouse will be first on our list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagtew
Addlestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly amazing experience!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The penthouse in Edinburgh is the best place ever!!! Every bit of detail has been thought of. The children were safe because they've got a stairs gate there...there were toys, games, an amazing coffee machine in the kitchen, a great sofa that made us all want to sleep in the living room...enough space for everyone to eat together...
Eddie and Doreen have turned their flat into a home away from home. I don't have enough words to say how much we enjoyed our stay there. It's close to everything.
Since the very first contact Eddie was like a member of the family.
Also, exceptional value for money!
I will be staying there again for sure next time I go to Edinburgh!!! That's a flat I would choose to live if I could!!!
Thank you Eddie and Doreen! Those days will be always remembered!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
288ian
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent stay in Edinburgh at 5*The Penthouse”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The Penthouse is an ideal location to stay in Edinburgh during the New Year celebrations. We had excellent assistance from the owner in preparing our trip to Scotland from Australia. The unit is ideally located close to shops, restaurants and bus routes. The beds were comfortable and all the facilities met our expectations. The DVD'S and toys supplied and TV provided in each room were great to entertain the two children under 7 years in our party. The 3 flights of stairs posed a minor problem for one member of our party with a sore knee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful apartment, ideal location”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Penthouse is a lovely apartment, beautifully finished and kept to a high standard, exceptionally clean and had all the amenities we could possibly want for our one week stay, including accommodations for our 2 young kids (high chair, safety gate etc). Eddie and Doreen have thought of everything, there are detailed instructions, and information on everything we needed to know, an extensive book and dvd collection for days in, there was even a few toys/ box of blocks to entertain our kids.
The location was also good - about 10 mins walk from Princes street and in nice, quiet area.
Thanks for a great stay!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Fan4Gian...
Milpitas, California
1 review
“If you are looking for great accommodations, personalized services, wonderful location, attention to detail and responsi”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

If you are looking for great accommodations, personalized services, wonderful location, attention to detail and responsiveness all delivered with value then Eddie and Doreen’s Penthouse is the place. With years of travel, professional and personal, behind us it was hard to believe that the Penthouse would live up to its billing but, it did. So, dig around the other listings if you must, but don’t waste too much time. This is the real deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything Best place we've ever booked
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W
1 review
“Better than a five star hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our extended family had the privilege of staying at the Penthouse for a week in early July this year. Apart from its location,which was outstanding, the unit had excellent facilities. The welcome pack of goodies were well received. My grandson (aged 8) declared it was better than a five star hotel and the highlight of his trip (apart from Disneyland in Hong Kong. Agreat holiday location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan A
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Truly remarkable place to stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are a group of five adults who selected Edinburgh as a home base for our trip to Scotland. The Penthouse was the perfect place for us. The apartment is very spacious, clean, and light and it is located in a quiet area of the city. Many restaurants and food markets are located within a five minute walk. The apartment has a grand living area with many windows, three comfortable bedrooms, and a large kitchen which is fully equipped with everything one might need. It was stocked with breakfast provisions when we arrived, which we did not expect. The thoughtful owners also left a welcome basket filled with local wine, snacks, and other gifts. They responded quickly to our initial and all subsequent queries. They were always available to us for any type of help required. The location is ideal for exploring both the Old and New Town areas of Edinburgh, as they are easily within walking distance. The train station is also nearby. We would highly recommend the Penthouse to anyone desiring a truly remarkable place to stay in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing