We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but lacked the warm ambiance of other YHA's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Good clean hostel with great family room for me and my family of 4. The time we visited the staff were very helpful and polite but the lack of a decent sized kitchen for preparing meals was a bit of a drawback. At the time we visited there were large groups of school groups using the YHA and it was very busy in the members kitchen. Busy to the point that as one person finished with a bowl and it was washed it was being used by someone else?

The upstairs restaurant appears to have taken priority in terms of space compared to the members kitchen which is a real shame

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hostel definately deserves its 5 stars, i stayed in a 2 bed room with my mum and we were pleasantly surpised that it was a twin room, and lovely and spacious too. We had great nights sleep. The room and rest of the hostel were very clean and inviting. I was impressed with the facilities and the staff were all very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luceeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I spent two nights here over the weekend and found it clean, comfy and ideally situated within walking distance of everywhere I wanted to go.

The staff were really helpful and sorted me out with bus timetables and city maps.

I didn't have breakfast there as, when I went down at 9.30, the breakfast room was deserted and I didn't feel like sitting on my own. I headed left down Leith Walk instead and have a lovely breakfast at the Word of Mouth cafe.

The only thing that prevented me giving it five stars was that it seemed to lack the buzzing vibe I've found at other hostels but maybe I just wasn't around at the right times.

Room Tip: I was in 202 which had a window on the side street rather than Leith Walk and was told these were th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The SYHA hostel I stayed at was NOT the one near the castle, but the year round hostel on Haddington Place. The year prior I had stayed one night in a dodgy B&B that never bothered with the breakfast, so Edinburgh was not high on my list of "places to return to". But I flew into Edinburgh, arriving exhausted in early morning, and although they were closed officially, the SYHA hostel staff was incredibly accommodating and professional and nice. I only stayed one night, but the room and showers were clean and bright and the kitchen was large and quite well-equipped. Thanks SYHA for another great hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiddlerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I was absolutely amazed by the quality of this hostel. After staying at some questionable establishments on my trip, I couldn't believe how comfortable, clean and well organised this hostel was. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were fantastic. The bathrooms were very, very clean. The breakfast was also very good, and the staff in the bistro and bar were very attentive. I really can't say a bad thing about this place. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in Edinburgh - I was actually sad to leave knowing that my next hostel probably wouldn't shape up.

The location is a bit further out than some of the hostels around Waverley station, but the extra walking (10mins or so) was definitely worth it. The area around the hostel is quite good to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheldor_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This hostel was a good one in terms of location. A stone's throw from the Castle of Edinburgh and the Mile, the shopping area as well as the restaurants, this was invaluable. Also, we never tried the hostel's breakfast, instead we went across the stress for an english breakfast, which was ok.
Wifi was great for our laptops and ipad, the room was spacious (for 4 people), but the bathroom small (for 4 people!). The elevator was a pain and the armchairs and carpet inside the room were filthy. Also the price of the hostel turned out to be the equivalent of a cheap inn in the countryside, so not very happy with the value either.
Again, what was worth the stay was the location!

Room Tip: This hostel is in front of a quiet square, hence all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korinna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We are in our late 20s and have been travelling Europe on a number of hotel tours for a number of weeks. We stayed at Edinburgh Central for 3 nights, in what ended up being a premium room (we just thought it was a 2 bed room) and were amazed at the quality. The previous place we had stayed was a well known hotel chain, which we had been bitterly disappointed in. We had medium expectations for the hostel.

The staff are friendly and very helpful in booking day trips and giving ideas on how to spend our time. The self-catering kitchen is very well set up and there are plenty of computers available for use. The room was clean, which is always an important factor! I would certainly suggest this hostel to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#12 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,673 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#18 of 217 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#21 of 217 in Edinburgh
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
464 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Address: 9 Haddington Place | Off Leith Walk, Edinburgh EH7 4AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $35 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is located in the heart of Scotland's capital, offering 5 star budget accommodation with 271 beds. This busy youth hostel offers a range of multi-share and private rooms, all en-suite. Premium rooms are also available, taking hostelling to a new level with TV and coffee making facilities. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is also an ideal location for those looking for group accommodation in Edinburgh. The youth hostel has a self-catering kitchen and dining room. Our licensed cafe, Haddington Place, offers tea, coffee and cake as well as snacks and meals throughout the day. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is ideal for individuals, groups or families looking for quality, budget accommodation. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Youth Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing