We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #58 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster england
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

just returned from 3 night stay at the glenalmond, pleasant stay, had superior 4 poster room which was on the ground floor, full of original fittings and so clean.
modern bathroom though slightly cramped, breakfast well cooked and varied menu set you up for the day.
on a bus route with frequent buses into the city and plenty of eating places nearby.
last of all a friendly welcome when we arrived, all in all a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms if you are less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
57
125
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My partner and I stayed at Glenalmond House for two nights in September 2011. It was a great place to stay and was only a mile away from the Royal mile shopping areas and tourist areas of Edinburgh. The local bus was easy to use and picked you up and dropped you off almost in front of Glenalmond House at 25 Mayfield Gardens. Fiona and Jimmy were excellent hosts and made you feel comfortable and would provide you with great breakfasts and wounderful accomodations in their lovely 10 bedroom B and B. The bedroom was clean, beautifully decorated, had a comfortable bed and a relatively new renovated bathroom. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Edinburgh as the location and accomodation is fantastic. Thanks Fiona and Jimmy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Came to Edinburgh to meet an old friend and stayed overnight in a four star hotel I had chosen fairly randomly. The Glenalmond House deserved all of it's four stars and more. Lovely comfortable rooms with a charming and luxurious feeling. Friendly owners, and the icing on the cake was my choice from the extensive breakfast menu. Perfectly cooked scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, lemon and parsley decoration. - and this just my breakfast among quite a number of guests. Nothing was too much trouble for Jimmy and Fiona.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed two nights in the family room and found it very comfortable. Fiona and Jimmy were very welcoming and helpful. Free parking is a big bonus here as we just parked the car and rode the bus into town. The food was delicious!! Even though the room faced out onto the street, noise was not a problem at all for us. We loved it here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcharge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

My husband and I had a lovely time in Edinburgh at Glenalmond House. The location is perfect and free parking is a HUGE bonus!! The top prize goes to the breakfast...fantastic! First Guest House I've stayed in that gives you a menu to choose from for cooked breakfast and also serves cold cereals,etc. We highly recommend this property and booking online is quick and also saves you a little money if you pay up front. If you aren't driving, it is still a great location as the bus stop is right across the street or if you're avid walkers you can just hike to the Royal Mile. Everything was very clean and tidy and they even had a mini fridge and electric water pot in each room. Jimmy and Fiona thought of everything. THere are several restaurants nearby and our favorite was Reverie, only a few blocks from Glenalmond.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt-Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Making an emergency trip to Edinburgh we found the Glenalmond House B&B by pure chance, having been told there were numerous hotels &c in the area, and thank goodness we did. Jimmy and Fiona went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and at home, above and beyond what might be called their professional duty.
Though we arrived early in the morning, and no room would be available until one set of guests had checked out, we were offered the use of the lounge/breakfast room to relax in and offered refreshments at no charge.
The room was comfortable, well-appointed, and very clean - just like the en-suite shower/toilet. Despite facing the road, there was little traffic noise during the day and none at all from late evening onward.
As might be expected in a substantial stone house, there was no leakage of noise from other rooms. Unusually for this type of accommodation, we were never aware of other guests' toilets flushing or showers running, though all rooms were occupied.
The food was delicious - beautifully cooked and obviously from fresh ingredients.
A B&B that we recommend unreservedly, especially at the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have just read the last ten or so reviews, ranging from the (mostly) very positive to the dispariging comments about neighbourly noise, ensuite claustrophobia & personal notes about the staff. I can in hindsight understand everything that has been written, but need to put my own slant on it all.We stayed as a family of 3 for the Tattoo Aug 6th for 2 nights, after very decent, polite & obliging email correspondence. My mother-in-law's knees are no longer what they were, so after discussion with Jimmy & Fiona we agreed to book a ground floor family room. Unexplained on arrival, the welcoming Fiona took us to an upstairs family room. Perhaps she had forgotten the health reason for the original choice, but we decided not to quibble as we are very open to changes of plan, and my m-i-l is a feisy sort who likes a challenge! Also we were aware that the house was fully booked so a change would make alot of folks' stay very disrupted; funny how some people make do in this way. A previous critical review, from an American I believe, drew a huge response from Fiona expressing how she had wished the guest had spoken up at the time about their grievences. I wish hotel owners would learn that this is not in some people's character; it is not always comfortable to confront the owner of the house with any complaint, large or small, the oddities I suppose of old english manners. However later that evening, after a long walk, the knees became a bit of a problem and Fiona saw her climbing the stairs with pain & difficulty; we did the reserved british thing and, rather than squarely confronting F&J about the room problem, we simply commented in an obvious sort of way on how the original ground floor room would have been a better bet. This was not enough to elicit even an acknowledgment that they had made a mistake moving us in the first place, so we were left unheard. A similar moment the following morning left us a little cool, when our request for bus numbers up to the yacht Britannia was answered with a less-than-warm comment that this information was already printed on our leaflet, and my m-i-l was surprised with Fiona's rather testy response to another similarly basic question. Jimmy, however, forever cheffing in their kitchen, was a bundle of friendliness and smiles, which of course made up for these odd moments with Fiona. It would not be fair to castigate the entire stay in this way; we are all human, and humans have many off-days. 2 nights stay in a random b&b does not qualify me to draw huge generalisations. The whole house was scrupulously clean, nice details, well-appointed, the effort in these and in the excellent food department was obvious. Some prefer a more languid approach to breakfast ordering; we were absolutely fine with making our choices the evening before, all it did was focus us on the fact that F&J prefer a more structured, efficient approach. Horses for courses. I like people to show their character in this way, it hurts no-one, surely. But what does matter in this business is a reliable attention to the nuances of your guests where their comfort is in question, and I would simply say that my mother-in-law's obvious physical needs went unattended that weekend, which was not at all typical of the quality of stay we otherwise experienced. I hope that F&J feel that this is constructive in it's comments; I wrote on return to thank them for a lovely stay, which is still my general feeling about that weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Effleurage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 km away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 392 in Edinburgh
488 reviews
0.0 km away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#52 of 392 in Edinburgh
146 reviews
0.0 km away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Alba House
Alba House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
164 reviews
0.3 km away
Highfield Guest House
Highfield Guest House
#38 of 392 in Edinburgh
251 reviews
4.2 km away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#43 of 392 in Edinburgh
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Property: Glenalmond House
Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing