We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely little gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Newhaven Place

Views over Newhaven Harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Views over Newhaven Harbour
Main bedroom Open plan living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Views over Newhaven Harbour
Main bedroom
Open plan living
Spacious living room
Modern kitchen
2nd bedroom made up as 1 single
Newhaven Harbour
2nd bedroom made up as 2 singles
2nd bedroom made up as a double
Relaxed dining with views out to the Forth
Views to Royal Yacht Brittania from the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
1 review
“lovely little gem”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Apartment had everything we needed, stylish,clean and comfortable. Perfectly located and loved the views from all the windows. We parked the car and left it for the weekend as catching the bus was easy and the taxis were reasonably priced. We enjoyed going into the centre with all the hussel and bussel and then coming back to the tranquillity of the apartment bliss. We had wonderful weather which added to our short break. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelbel_et
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect base to explore Edinburgh”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Visited Edinburgh for three nights for the fringe festival. Eunice was accommodating and easy to make contact with before the stay. The flat was spacious,clean and well equipped. It was lovely being by the sea and there were plenty of buses that stopped at the bus stop right outside to take you into the city. Would definitely recommend eating at the C-shack for some great seafood as a treat and to have a drink or two at the Old Chain Pier overlooking the sea (although the food looked really good there too). Had a great time and hope to be back soon!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Rental was the Best Choice”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We drove over from Germany, hitting up London for a week, then heading up the coast to Edinburgh for our last week of our UK adventure. Getting the rental was the smartest thing I did prior to going on the trip. The apartment is set over looking the water and placed near a really awesome seafood restaurant, Loch Fyne. The parking situation was never a problem around the building and the comfy beds were just what we needed after our week in crazy London. The place was spotless, our clothes could be washed (perfect timing, and our kids went to play in the courtyard and made fast friends with the children from the apartment complex.

To get around the city, Eunice told us to step out to the front of the building and hop on the number 10 bus. It was that easy. About 15-20 minutes later we were in downtown Edinburgh setting out to explore and buy kilts and stuff. Left our car parked pretty much the whole time except for our excursions and visit to Craigmiller Castle.

Look no further than this cute flat for your stay in Edinburgh. We'll be back and it'll be at Newhaven Place if they'll have us again!

Cheers,
Ryan

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orbrit
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious convenience off the beaten path”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Newhaven Place for 4 nights during our recent vacation to Edinburgh. We wanted a place that could accommodate our family of 4 - kids aged 9 and 10, that had a kitchen, separate rooms, parking, but not in the middle of the tourist area.
This place was the perfect base for our daily expeditions. The bus stop is just 30 yards from the front door, and using the Lothian buses app, we could easily plan travel into the city center.
Newhaven Quay is peaceful, beautiful and it felt like we were out of the tourist crowds. There is an Asda just a 5 minute walk away, that's open 24 hours. Re-usable shopping bags were available in the kitchen. Here we were able to purchase a phone SIM card so we could have internet access and texting for the 2 weeks of our UK trip - perfect for navigation using the maps feature of the iphone.
The apartment was spacious, yet cosy. The kitchen was well equipped, and we added some items to the basic supplies that had been provided - tea, coffee, etc.
Rooms were plenty roomy enough - one was set up for us with a queen bed, and the other was two singles for the kids.
The owners met us and explained where things were, pointed us in the direction of the Asda and bus stop, and left us to settle in.
They provided an instruction binder as well as local attractions tourism binder.
WiFi was also provided.
The bathroom was modern and stylish, like the rest of the apartment.

The only negative, which is very trivial is the heavy self closing doors in every room. Would be nice to have door stops or the option to prop doors open.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Views, location, convenience
Liked least: Self closing doors.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thanks for the feedback, were very happy you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the doors, these are heavy because for fire regulations they have to be "spring-loaded", so these are a condition of our insurance - and of course to keep everyone safe!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P
New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An exceptional place in an exceptional location”
Reviewed May 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a find - we couldn't be happier. The apartment was exceptionally clean, modern, well equipped, and had a very nice view of the Firth of Forth. The sunsets were special. Parking was free and convenient. An ASDA supermarket was a five minute walk away, and it was easy to get to the sights of Edinburgh.
We had a car, so didn't use public transport, but we noticed a bus stop in front of the apartment.
The owner, Eunice, was responsive and flexible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Would have prfeferred two baths
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristiRa...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing flat, perfect for seniors”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I rented the flat for my visiting parents and Aunt & Uncle. Parents are American, both 70 with health problems. The flat was perfect. Quiet with parking and a lift. And enough space in lounge to spend day with my two toddlers there too. Eunice was a great host - allowing my family access straight from their early flight. I would highly recommend staying here.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renate481
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It´s really a very nice place if you like to come to Edinburgh, very calm with a large livingroom including an open, very fine equipped kitchen and a wonderfull view to the Northern Sea. On the other side you van see the harbour with lships, which are lightened during the night. The Busstopp is infront of the door, with Nr.10 you get directly to Princess Street.If you like fish, there is an excellent shop at the pier called Fishmongers: it was the best smoked salmon I´ve ever eaten. So I would recommend this flat to all my friends.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing