We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuart was a great story-teller!”
Review of Mercat Tours

Mercat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.93*
and up
Edinburgh Historical Walking Tour Including Skip the Line Entry to Edinburgh...
Ranked #19 of 202 Tours in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'History is a damn good story, what it needs is a damn good telling!' We're a family business and simply love sharing Edinburgh's stories. We're the original, largest, and first 5 star walking tour company in Scotland giving guaranteed quality. With a warm welcome and our award-winning storytelling and tour routes, we'll help you explore and discover Edinburgh. Our expert guides offer a unique, memorable glimpse of our remarkable history. With guaranteed daily departures, year round we offer exclusive access to Blair Street Underground Vaults, Edinburgh Castle, Palace of Holyroodhouse & National Museum of Scotland. Our tours begin at 10am and finish at 10pm, so we're sure we'll find something for you!
Lyndonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stuart was a great story-teller!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stuart did a great job under the very adverse conditions of a tough crowd of 10 heckling 13 year old girls intent on showing how unafraid they were. He got his revenge though with the last story, deep underground the Blair street bridge with only a candle to illuminate his face with ghostly shadows, he scared the bejeezus out of them, leaving them screaming and sobbing. We had a great time! My 10 year old was just scared enough and enjoyed the first-hand accounts of other tourists who had encountered ghosts 'earlier in the day'. Nice job Stuart!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks for getting in touch and reviewing your tour with Stuart - making children cry is a strange talent!

We hope you visit us again - keep in touch on facebook and twitter until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,736
    908
    249
    138
    108
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BAHRAIN
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Time pass tour, go if you are comfortable with the accent”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We tried the Hidden and Haunted tour, late night from Mercat Cross. Our guide was bearded scotish gent who delivered his stories in his heavy accent like a parrot. We started with some stories relaed a few feet from the cross at an adjacent city council building. The mood was completely spoilt by some mainland folk laughing and drinking at the benches. We tried our best to pay attention but the heavy accent and over dramatic delivery of bland stories just did it for us, and within 10 minutes we completely lost interest.

The only saving grace was the blair street vault, which might interest first timers.
I guess the tour price covers the rent to control these vaults. We were having a closer at one of the chambers, that we found someone dressing up in a black costume behind a cloak. Perhaps he was getting ready to spook the next tour.

Do it if have 10 pounds and an hour spare, else just take a nice walk by yourself. High Street is just gorgeous place to walk in the night.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank indieglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thanks for leaving your feedbakc on your tour - we're sorry you feel it wasn't a 5star experience.

Our guides are from a large variety of background and each carry their own accent, which we don't discriminate against. During training they learn to adapt their voice and performance for a mixed audience and we will certainly focus on this closely.

I'm afraid that we cannot control the 'acitivy' of members of the public on the Mile - again, our guides are trained to anticipate and adapt to any form of disruption and we will make a point of reminding them to be vigilant and flexible.

Our tours on the Mile and in the Underground Vaults rely on the storytelling skills and dramatic flair of the guides. We do not have any 'jumper ooters' or costumed characters to 'scare' groups so perhaps it wasn't a person hiding in the Vaults you saw...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Good family tour”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband had wanted to do the tour and I was a little wary for the children. We have a 6 & 8 year olds. They enjoyed the stories and the dark! We did have a good time and would recommend it. Our guide Lauren was a nice girl who was enthusiastic with her screams.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Many thakns for gettign in touch - we're dleighted you enjoyed your tour with Lauren and will pass on your compliments!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamson, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great GhostTour”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Ghost Tour of Old Edinburgh and the vaults under the South Street Bridge. Great stories and spooky locations. No hype just the facts.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DFM_Williamson_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ghosts and Ghouls tour - Better than Expected”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My better half had always wanted to go on one of these tours and I must admit I was sceptical as to whether the tour would be worth it. However I went with an open mind and am so glad I did. We went on the Ghosts and Ghouls tour and our guide was Hannah. I was dismayed that she had an English accent and was at first disappointed as I thought it would have been better presented by someone with a Scots accent. However, I was wrong in this regard as she did a very good job and gave us a great tour. It was very interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. At first you are taken around the general area of the Mercat Cross and told various stories after which you are taken down to the vaults. They are very atmospheric and at one point my wife insisted she felt a presence and refused to go into one of the rooms down there. After that part of the tour, those who pay a little extra are taken to a room within the vaults were you can have a seat and a drink and hear more stories. Personally I don’t believe in ghosts and wasn’t really scared but this was a good bit of fun with some good stories which were very well presented. I was pleasantly surprised and enjoyed this tour very much.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KennDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercatToursLtd, Manager at Mercat Tours, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your tour with and we're so pleased you enjoyed it. We'll make sure Hannah receives your feedback - and we'll pass on your regards to Mr Boots too...

Make sure and keep in touch on facebook and twitter and we'll hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mercat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing