We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst places to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thrums Edinburgh
Ranked #284 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel/guest house is a disgrace, dirty rooms, paint peeling off the Walls...if u have booked to go here cancel & find somewhere else...the only up side was the Polish guy on reception & the lady with long black hair serving breakfast, very nice polite people...I notice that the owners never showed there faces in The 4 days we where there...we would go to Edinburgh again loved it, but I'd rather sleep rough than stay there again...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timsyhotelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for The Thrums Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is not a luxury hotel but it had all the necessities, and with a little more attention to details could be. For example, a towel rack in the bathroom and some hooks for clothes would have been nice. But the room was clean and quiet despite being on a busy street. The staff were very nice and packed our breakfast for an early start of a tour. The location was good: a walkable distance from the Royal Mile and on the main bus route to the city centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SybilV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I would like to know who gave this place 3 stars. I can run hotel from my shed and do better job than they do at The Thrums. I could bare the dad flowers, deco which saw better days but the bedding which propably saw people before us, it is simply too much to bare. I am affraid that the staff at the Thrums, even though quite nice, DO NOY HAVE ANY STANDARDS !!!! They even can not manage scramble eggs, they mocrovawe them !!! It is scarry place with dark bathroom, so you can not see the dirt . I would not recomend it even for Holoween, especially that they charge you for using your cart. There is something doggy about it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengy2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

i sentement the hotel from hell no freindly staff at breakfast also took money from my card after paying cash spoke with manager on return said he had to get plumber for sink rooms were checked i worked cab trading standards do not go there manager very ignorant contacting tourist board and lawyer wont refund got wrong person here this will not end ppl do not go there

Room Tip: just dont go plenty other places with better serve
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelina_med
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed at Thrums for 3 nights, and loved it! The only drawback was the 1 mile walk into town, but it was an interesting walk through Old Town, and the buses were just outside the door, and for 3.20 for a day pass, it was worth it! The room we had (17) was HUGE, and the staff were extremely helpful, even preparing us an early breakfast that they left at our door as we had to catch an early flight. The breakfasts we had on other days were superb, and very filling! Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Upon arrival me & my friends were greeted by a very polite (and handsome!) young man whom welcomed us and efficiently took our luggage/showed us our rooms and suggested some great tours around Edinburgh which was really helpful!

The hotel is traditional and lovely - the rooms are spacious and comfy, the bathrooms is modern with a cracking power shower too! Breakfast was served in a quiant conservatory which looks over the small garden (beautiful to sit in on a sunny day)

The best thing about the Thrums is its prime location. A bustling mile walk into city center or you're feeling lazy, a bus stop is right outside which is 5 stops into the center!

All in all, comfy spacious rooms, great bathroom, pleasant breakfast and the friendly young man who took time to chat with us was a really great start to our trip!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Everything was as good as it could be!
Excellent location, great for buses and taxis.
Warm and well informed staff.
Clean, quiet, spacious room .
Nice bathroom and power shower!
A really great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank man18187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
838 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 150 in Edinburgh
527 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Salisbury Green Hotel
#117 of 150 in Edinburgh
357 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thrums Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thrums Edinburgh

Address: 14-15 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $105 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thrums Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Thrums Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thrums Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
The Thrums Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing