We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,414)
Filter reviews
1,414 results
Traveller rating
726
507
135
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
507
135
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club room portobello beach leisure facilities city centre lauders restaurant leisure club swimming pool steam room and sauna good size single room bus stop huge bed reception staff excellent hotel buffet style number bus visiting edinburgh
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,414 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

I spent a weekend here with my husband for his 40th birthday. From the moment we walked in the service was excellent.

On check in we were given a doggy welcome pack consisting of poo bags, treats and a booklet detailing local walks. They had left a birthday card in the room which was signed by at least 30 members of staff which was a very thoughtful touch. The breakfast was good. My only minor comment would be I want that keen on the vegetarian sausages, but that's personal preference as I prefer fake meat/quorn style. The room was lovely - huge bed, small seating area, nice bathroom - and close to the door you can use to walk dogs at the back of the hotel.

Every member of staff we interacted with was friendly and efficient, from reception to bar and especially housekeeping. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ScrambledSylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Thank you for choosing to share your birthday with us. Looking forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed very comfortably in a family room with our 6 month old daughter. The hotel and pool were quiet and family-friendly. The staff was very pleasant and helpful as well. We will definitely stay here on future trips to Edinburgh as it is great value for the £.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Howard_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

We are all delighted that the hotel matched your expectations. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

Nice staff. Okay bar. Gym looked good. However, no sleep due to something outside knocking against the building all night. Area is a bit isolated but convenient for Portobello. Plenty of parking. However, sleep is a pretty important factor when staying at a hotel so can't do anything but give it a low score.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you for your comments. As I replied in another review location yesterday we were not aware of anything that could be affected by the very strong winds on Saturday night. Subsequently to reading your earlier review we have inspected the area outside the bedroom. We found one cable that was a bit loose and have attached extra cable clips to that. Hopefully it will prevent other guests being similarly disturbed. If you had reported the problenm to our night staff at the time we could have moved you rooms so that you could get a good nights rest and fully investigated the problem in the morning. Please let us know on future stay immediately if you have a problem, then we can try and fix it. No amount of posted reviews will replace your lost sleep. Its always easier to sort a problem at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here. Hotel has free on site parking. Arrived early so popped in just to confirm booking and our room was ready so we got checked in early, reception staff very helpful with all our questions. Room was clean and spacious. TV had no batteries but a phone call to reception and someone was up within 5 mins with new ones. Used to pool facilities which is good 2 lanes closed off for anyone wanting a proper swim. Breakfast had a great selection either buffet full Scottish breakfast or choice of kippers, poached eggs etc that can be specially made on request. Ate in the bistro one night and also food the food good and reasonable priced, staff in both were freindly. Bus stops directly outsude hotel with run every 15 minutes, we used these to go to Musselburgh races with is around 10-15 min journey away and also Edinburgh City Centre which took around 20 mins. Overall had a great stay and would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we can have the pleasure of hosting a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

Great Location, Lovely clean fresh room, great breakfast, most of the staff could be hired out, to show other hotels how its done. Spa is great, again the staff are top notch.
The short stroll down to portobello is worth taking.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank buzsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifescribe, Manager at Best Western Kings Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you managed to get a bracing stroll along the beach during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews