We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still sheer luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Edinburgh Residence
Ranked #40 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still sheer luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Back again at Edinburgh residence for, I think, our 8th stay! It has recently changed hands and is now Swiss owned. However, this has not impacted at all on the sheer qualtiy and luxury of this truly beautiful property. I cannot recommend it highly enough!!
We booked a classic suite for 2 weekend nights and were kindly upgraded on arrival to a top range townhouse suite. Everything about it was first class
Just go--you wont be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was simply stunning. However, this was our 8th stay and every time we have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, General Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Leo93,

Delighted to read your review of The Edinburgh Residence Leo93. It is wonderful that even after your 8th visit we continue to meet your expectations and provide a luxurious and relaxing weekend break in Edinburgh.

The Edinburgh Residence is spread over three Victorian Townhouses. The property has retained a number of original period features, such as sweeping staircases and wood panelled walls, which adds to the grand, elegant surroundings enjoyed at The Edinburgh Residence.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Edinburgh Residence for your 9th visit.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    63
    7
    7
    6
See reviews for
39
222
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Had a lovely stay at the Edinburgh Residence over May Bank Holiday, the suite was huge and really comfortable. Breakfast served in the room was a great touch - very relaxing! Car Parking was a fanstatic bonus so close to the city centre. Definately recommend staying here and will hopefully visit again soon!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rach_Chadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Rach_Chadd,

We are delighted to read you enjoyed a lovely, relaxing Bank Holiday weekend stay in the grand, elegant surroundings of The Edinburgh Residence. We are focused on ensuring all our guests enjoy a truly memorable stay with us and your recommendation on TripAdvisor is much appreciated.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have stayed here before and love it. The Edinburgh Residence is elegant and luxurious and the beds are beautifully comfortable. We have stayed in Classic Suites and Grand Suites, all of which are gorgeus. However, this time we were put in suite 16 which is just spectacular: a large and lovely lounge, separate stylish and comfortable bedroom and the piece de resistance is a bathroom over 2 levels. I actually like having breakfast in the room, relaxing and good quality. As others have noted, the Residence is really well located for shops/restaurants etc. Try the wine bar Le De Vin, it's great. Overall, I cannot recommend the Edinburgh Residence highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear JulieAnneD,

Reading your review has been the highlight of our week JulieAnneD! Ensuring all our guests enjoy their stay makes us happy here at The Edinburgh Residence; and having one of our guests say they “love” The Edinburgh Residence makes us even happier!

Our Town House Suites, like Suite 16 where you stayed, offer an unrivalled level of space and luxury and with a separate large living room and large bedroom and two bathrooms they are the ultimate home from home.

We cook all our breakfasts to order, which means it is fresh, hot and delicious when it is served. Serving breakfast in the privacy of your Suite means you can relax in the dressing gown and slippers provided, read the papers and take your time over breakfast – a wonderful start to any day.

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Edinburgh Residence on your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent four nights in this hotel. What a great experience! Lovely building. We had the suite 30. Absolutely perfect, warm and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant, so small that you think you are in a private dining room. Very good food. Breakfast in the room, which I don't particularly like, but we had a big dining table so it was not a problem. Very nice and helpful staff. The car park was very useful.
We had to go back to Edinburgh after some nights in the countryside. As we did not know the place when we had booked, we took another hotel for our second stay. It was good but nothing to compare and it was more expensive! So, yes, the Edinburgh Residence is THE hotel we will go back to.
The location is also very good, not far from the centre. The only problem was the road works. We had some trouble to reach the hotel in the first place. Luckily, our GPS found the way around it.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful. No idea about the smaller rooms but I think they should be quite nice too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear jackyHongKong,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Edinburgh Residence on TripAdvisor after your recent, and from your review, very pleasant stay with us.

The Edinburgh Residence is housed in three beautiful Victorian Townhouses, originally built in the early 1890’s. The property has been tastefully restored and maintains many beautiful original period features, such as fire places, wood panelling and ornate period ceilings.

Our freshly prepared breakfast is served in the comfort and privacy of your suite. Next time you stay with us however, should you prefer to have breakfast in our restaurant please tell a member of our team and we will be happy to arrange this for you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would choose to stay with us again should you return to discover more of Edinburgh. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Residence is a stylish , quiet haven in Edinburgh's West End.
The size of rooms, quality of fittings and understated elegance are complemented by very high standards of service and cleanliness.
There is free car parking , a bonus in the city, but there is little need for a car as so much is within easy strolling distance, including Galleries, shops bars, restaurants, the Waters of Leith footpath, or a bus if you want to go to the Old Town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Juliana1,

To have one of our guests describe The Edinburgh Residence as a “stylish, quiet haven” with “very high standards of service and cleanliness” is truly wonderful. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mentioned, unlike many city centre hotels in Edinburgh, we have a car park free for guests. We also offer a complimentary valet parking service, so you can start to relax from the moment you step out of your car and we will bring your luggage to your Suite.

Thank you Juliana1 for taking the time to review The Edinburgh Residence on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very much appreciated.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Edinburgh residence with my boyfriend for a little break. We stayed in suite 9, which is a classic suite. It was very spacious with a big bed, couch and table and chairs by the window which offered a very nice view. The bathroom had a spa bath with separate shower, and lots of lovely toiletries. We were very impressed with the room and the service offered by the staff. When we requested more bubble bath it was delivered to our room in minutes. We filled in the breakfast cards for the next morning. There was lots of choice and no extra charge for room service. Breakfast was slightly late, and the toast was cold, but it was mostly delicious, and the porter was apologetic. We got to keep the room until 12 instead of 11 with no extra charge. I think there was refurbishment going on in the hotel when we were staying but we weren't disturbed at all and found our stay very peaceful. I would definitely go back to the Edinburgh Residence and would recommend it. When booking I'd suggest you ask for a room with a spa bath, it was a very luxurious touch.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia H, Manager at The Edinburgh Residence, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to recommend The Edinburgh Residence on TripAdvisor, it sounds like you enjoyed a very relaxing stay with us, which is great to hear.

A number of our Suites feature spa baths or free standing roll top baths, this combined with complimentary The White Company toiletries adds a bit of luxury to a weekend stay in Edinburgh.

As part of our commitment to maintaining and improving the high standards of The Edinburgh Residence, we have recently undertaken to refurbish our Public Areas, including our Drawing Room, which is where we serve our Afternoon Tea. I am pleased to hear your stay was not impacted by the works and I hope you will have the opportunity to return to see the newly refurbished areas.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Celia Hague
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

It is not cheap to book a room here but certainly worth the money. The basic rooms are large and like a studio apartment with a comfortable sofa and armchair and a small table for in-room dining. The bathroom has a large spa bath as well as a separate shower.
Although not in the centre of Edinburgh it is only a 10 minute walk to get there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edinburgh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edinburgh Residence

Property: The Edinburgh Residence
Address: 7 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Edinburgh Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edinburgh Residence is a collection of 29 elegant, 5-star hotel suites through three adjoining Victorian houses in the West End of Edinburgh. Categorized as 'Classic,' 'Grand' and 'Town House,' the 5-star suites are more like apartments, with magnificent proportions that really allow you to spread out and make yourself at home. In some, the sitting rooms are adjoining, and in others they are self-contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Edinburgh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edinburgh Residence Hotel Edinburgh
The Hotel Edinburgh
The Edinburgh Residence Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing