We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scottish National Gallery
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Scottish National Gallery
from US$30.30
More Info
from US$16.00
More Info
from US$322.30
More Info
Reviews (4,970)
Filter reviews
3,849 results
Traveller rating
2,330
1,182
279
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,330
1,182
279
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews van gogh art lovers old masters famous artists great art beautiful paintings nice collection da vinci permanent collection works of art free admission on display worth a visit princes street gardens rainy day couple of hours few hours
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,849 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We walked into the Gallery to visit the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition which was excellent. Not sure how long it will be there but very well done. Extra charge to see it.
We had lunch at the cafe and it was very good--Cullen Skink, Chicken salad, Fish & Chips. Service was excellent.

Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

The Scottish National Gallery is a lovely place in which to spend some of your time. We went there on a rainy day, just to have a look and were surprised to see how great it was! This was on our second day of our three day visit of Edinburgh. The Gallery is full of beautiful art works. There masterpieces by Botticelli, Raphael, Titian, Rembrandt, Vermeer, Constable, Turner, Monet, Van Gogh, Gauguin and other masters. It is certainly worth a visit and, on the day we visited, it cost nothing and I believe entry is free every day! There is disabled access and other amenities.

Thank Dimitris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Really easy to access, and thoroughly interesting, take some time out and experience this great facility

Thank mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Excellent galley with some amazing art. Only partially open at present a being renovated. I can't wait to see the finished article.

Thank IanJ207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family of varying age members, this was a great day out. The exhibitions were very well thought out and displayed. The building itself is a sight to behold and very grand. Each member of our family found their favourite exhibit/artwork and this caused great debate amongst us as to who had the best ‘eye’ for art! Just a wonderful place to visit for everyone.

Thank Picturesofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

easily walked around in an hour or two - or you can stay for a whole day and properly absorb some of the finest art Scotland has to offer. Just enjoy.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife is an artist. She wanted to see the Impressionists which I admit was a lot smaller part of the collection than we had expected. Still, there was some absolutely fabulous art. And the scale of some of the pieces was mind boggling.

Thank 1115RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Scottish National Gallery is a lovely place to visit, especially if the weather is rainy. We enjoyed the museum and will visit again.

Thank sdakota2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The gallery is huge but some notables include the seven stations of Catholism, an early and large Veremeer he painted for his pious mother in law, a self portrait of Rembrant and several amazing Constables and Van Dykes.

Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this gallery ahead of our train journey back home last Sunday and were so pleased we did. The space inside the gallery is brilliant and the art work on display was fab. I don't know a lot about art but I do enjoy visiting galleries and you can really appreciate the work on display in this lovely gallery - they have some very striking pieces and I really enjoyed our browse around the gallery, there were plenty of places to sit and ponder over the work on display. Will definitely visit again.

Thank Hollybear_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews