We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #107 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Near London
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OK Hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Holiday Inn is an ok hotel, certainly not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in but not the worst either. It's main selling point for us is that it is next door (literally) to the Zoo. It is quite an old hotel but looks like it has been refurbished. The public areas are ok and the Sampan oriental restaurant was pretty good. The bedroom was adequate without being spectacular but was certainly fit for purpose (You only need somewhere to sleep). On the whole, if you are visiting the pandas at the Zoo, you could go a lot worse than booking into the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nairobivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Edinburgh. All comments are appreciated.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    925
    502
    147
    78
See reviews for
560
756
83
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was ideal for us & the Panda Package saved any queueing at the zoo the following day.
We depended on buses and they stop right at the hotel with a choice of over 6 services ,averaging one every 10 minutes even on Sundays.
Warm welcome on arrival,separate envelope with details of Panda viewing & bar-codes for zoo tickets.Room was ideal for a Family 4,one double and 2 separate beds for the 2 kids.
Who then proceeded to head off to the pool & jacuzzi ,providing an adult accompanies them.
We did look at 2 other restaurants,but decided to stay in and get a special Family 4 Meal for us ,then upgraded for only £20 extra ,for a 3 course dinner for all 3 of us,excellent value & good choices of food.Check out was easy.and even easier crossing to the zoo & getting in with bar-coded zoo package pass.Will definitely return if a panda cub is born !

Room Tip: Away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WileyCoyote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Delighted you enjoyed the Panda package and enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. We hope to see you again soon.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent 2 days & nights here & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Visited the zoo & saw the pandas ~ wonderful !! Also took the kids to Edinburgh International Climbing Arena ~ fantastic !

Staff at hotel were exceptional, especially Hamish & his waiting staff ~ Thanks guys !!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for such a positive review. I will ensure Hamish and team are recognised and will pass on your kind words.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was a great hotel overall.
we got a good deal on lastminute
Some tips:

- 100 Airlink bus stops right outside teh hotel from and to the airport - £3.5 per person per trip
- it is a bit outside of the city - other buses run every 10 minutes to centre- but take note of the prices- its £1.40 per trip or £3.5 for day trip
- there are no bar fridges in the hotel
- good service- organised taxis for us - £11 to Royal Mile
- lovely gym, sauna etc
- pay in advance for breakfast £10 - very good selection of hot and continental

was a bit annoyed that all beauty treatments were sold out - like 4 days in advance. very disappointing. they need to expand!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Excellent tips, thank you for taking the time.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHUMBERLAND
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in this Holiday Inn for the weekend and it was just wonderful. Very helpful staff, conveniently located next to the zoo. The room was large which meant we wern't tripping over beds etc.We ate in the Samprians restraunt on the first night and it was delicious, the second night we had room service which was delivered quicker than the time given so full marks there. There was not one member of staff who we came across that was unhelpful, they helped out with a enquiry i had about the busses and even changed the scottish notes to english ones when we were leaving.
from our room you could see parts of the zoo and we were woken up by the animals making noises which is different.
we didn't try out the swimming pool etc because we didn't have enough time.
The breakfast choice was amazing i wish we had stayed longer so that i could try everything, maybe next time.
This is by far the best holiday inn that we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Lovely review, thank you for taking the time.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have been staying at The Hilday Inn next to the zoo in Edinburgh for around the last year, you could say I am the resident "Alan Partridge"! I find all of the staff very down to earth and happy to accomodate the customers from the gym/front desk/room service/restaurant etc. But there is 1 individual that personafies this "down to earth service" of the establishment, that is Andy the breakfat head chef, his poached eggs are great and his haggis aint to bad either but it's his early morning unique scottish dry sence of humour that sets up for the long day ahead.

Room Tip: Facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for such a positive review. Andy is a great credit to our team and I will ensure he is recognised for his efforts.

We hope to continue to welcome you to Holiday Inn Edinburgh.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Watch out for the Wifi folks its £ 28 a day or £ 5 per hour . Spa and pool are good although a wee bit small and you have to get out of teh jacuzzi for 10 minutes every 10 minutes. Restauraunt is rather expensive for pub grunb with burger and topping at £ 15

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorningstarTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Edinburgh. Just to clarify the internet pricing - £5 for 1 hour, £10 for 4 hours, £16 for 24hrs. The £28 package includes internet and unlimited movies.

We really appreciate you giving feedback for your stay. Whether good or bad, your feedback helps us to continually improve the servies we offer.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#85 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,157 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Property: Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing