We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April with the intention of going to the zoo on the first day and realised as soon as we arrived that we couldn't have stayed any closer to the zoo. We caught a taxi from Haymarket station for about £6 and after dropping off our luggage (we were too early to check in) we walked across the car park to the zoo.

When we later checked in, we found our room was a decent size, particularly the bathroom which was much larger than bathrooms we have normally stayed in. The room was clean and thankfully we were out of range of any noisy animals, which the taxi driver warned us of. We has to ask for an extra towel as they had only provided two small towels and one medium towel but they were quick to provide four extra towels as soon as we returned to our room.

The breakfast in the morning was a standard continental buffet breakfast, but it was quite busy at around 9-9.30am, although we didn't have any problems with food/drink running out. The staff were friendly although, with it being half-term, there were a lot of children running around so we didn't have the best sleep.

If you aren't intending to go to the zoo, you are probably best to stay somewhere closer to wherever you intend to visit, although travelling into the city wasn't too difficult as there was a bus stop outside the hotel/zoo and the bus cost £1.40 for a single trip which is obviously cheaper than the taxi (around £12 from the centre of Edinburgh).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvoKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Edinburgh. We are indeed just a stone throw from the zoo and are happy to store luggage for guests arriving or departing from the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,735 - 1,741 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Ive stayed here time and time again........and its my 14yr old sons favourite hotel. Great staff - friendly and welcoming but not in your face - allow you to relax and rest without fuss.........we love staying here. Breakfast now served until 11am - no queueing, great selection food very good..... towels and toiletries tea and coffee items refreshed daily......... and of course the Pandas next door... despite being right next door to the zoo its not noisy though occassionally heard the Male lion roar and the birds nattering first thing at sun up... but I like that........ The bus route is great...regular to city centre - 10mins saves taking car....... RECOMMENDED......

Room Tip: All rooms have Air con and heating, Twin rooms average size but not much more needed. Have stayed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and comprehensive review of Holiday Inn Edinburgh. I'm delighted to hear we are your sons favourite hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Holiday Inn is an ok hotel, certainly not the best Holiday Inn I've stayed in but not the worst either. It's main selling point for us is that it is next door (literally) to the Zoo. It is quite an old hotel but looks like it has been refurbished. The public areas are ok and the Sampan oriental restaurant was pretty good. The bedroom was adequate without being spectacular but was certainly fit for purpose (You only need somewhere to sleep). On the whole, if you are visiting the pandas at the Zoo, you could go a lot worse than booking into the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nairobivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Edinburgh. All comments are appreciated.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was ideal for us & the Panda Package saved any queueing at the zoo the following day.
We depended on buses and they stop right at the hotel with a choice of over 6 services ,averaging one every 10 minutes even on Sundays.
Warm welcome on arrival,separate envelope with details of Panda viewing & bar-codes for zoo tickets.Room was ideal for a Family 4,one double and 2 separate beds for the 2 kids.
Who then proceeded to head off to the pool & jacuzzi ,providing an adult accompanies them.
We did look at 2 other restaurants,but decided to stay in and get a special Family 4 Meal for us ,then upgraded for only £20 extra ,for a 3 course dinner for all 3 of us,excellent value & good choices of food.Check out was easy.and even easier crossing to the zoo & getting in with bar-coded zoo package pass.Will definitely return if a panda cub is born !

Room Tip: Away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WileyCoyote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Delighted you enjoyed the Panda package and enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Edinburgh. We hope to see you again soon.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Spent 2 days & nights here & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Visited the zoo & saw the pandas ~ wonderful !! Also took the kids to Edinburgh International Climbing Arena ~ fantastic !

Staff at hotel were exceptional, especially Hamish & his waiting staff ~ Thanks guys !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for such a positive review. I will ensure Hamish and team are recognised and will pass on your kind words.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

It was a great hotel overall.
we got a good deal on lastminute
Some tips:

- 100 Airlink bus stops right outside teh hotel from and to the airport - £3.5 per person per trip
- it is a bit outside of the city - other buses run every 10 minutes to centre- but take note of the prices- its £1.40 per trip or £3.5 for day trip
- there are no bar fridges in the hotel
- good service- organised taxis for us - £11 to Royal Mile
- lovely gym, sauna etc
- pay in advance for breakfast £10 - very good selection of hot and continental

was a bit annoyed that all beauty treatments were sold out - like 4 days in advance. very disappointing. they need to expand!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Too_Much_TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Excellent tips, thank you for taking the time.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed in this Holiday Inn for the weekend and it was just wonderful. Very helpful staff, conveniently located next to the zoo. The room was large which meant we wern't tripping over beds etc.We ate in the Samprians restraunt on the first night and it was delicious, the second night we had room service which was delivered quicker than the time given so full marks there. There was not one member of staff who we came across that was unhelpful, they helped out with a enquiry i had about the busses and even changed the scottish notes to english ones when we were leaving.
from our room you could see parts of the zoo and we were woken up by the animals making noises which is different.
we didn't try out the swimming pool etc because we didn't have enough time.
The breakfast choice was amazing i wish we had stayed longer so that i could try everything, maybe next time.
This is by far the best holiday inn that we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthumberlandTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEdinburgh, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Lovely review, thank you for taking the time.

regards,

Sarah Williamson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#86 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#75 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Edinburgh

Address: 132 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh EH12 6UA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Murrayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#55 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $100 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Edinburgh is a 4 Star modern hotel situated on the west of Edinburgh, three miles from the city centre, four miles from Edinburgh Airport, and adjacent to Edinburgh Zoo.The Hotel is ideally situated for both Leisure and Business, near to Edinburgh Business Park. The Holiday Inn Edinburgh enjoys great panoramic views of the Pentland Hills. The Hotel is perfect for leisure customers, with many nearby attractions including Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace and the Museum of Scotland. The hotel has 303 rooms including Executive and Family rooms, ideal for Bank Holiday breaks. The hotel has a choice of two restaurants - Traders Restaurant or Sampans Oriental Restaurant, as well as a café and relaxing bar. Kids Stay & Eat Free*. The Hotel boasts a Spirit Health and Fitness Club which is the ideal way to relax, with a fully equipped Gymnasium, Swimming Pool, Sauna, Spa and Beauty Treatments. Beauty Treatments can be booked prior to arrival on 0131 316 4739.On-site there are 200 complimentary Parking Spaces. Our Conference Centre 'The Academy' offers state-of-the-art suites, with 14 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 120 guests. Also accessible to Edinburgh University and ideally situated for Royal Highland Show Festival, Tattoo and Rugby Six Nations. *Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing