We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 51/11 James Square

Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming Pool
Kitchen/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Swimming Pool
Kitchen/Diner
Kitchen
Lounge
Hallway
Master Bedroom
Master en-suite
Master en-suite
Bedroom 2 (as king size option)
Bedroom 2 (as singles option)
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Bathroom
BBQ Area
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely Apartment!”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is a lovely,clean, well equipped apartment. It is on the 2nd floor, but the lift is good. We spent one evening on the 4th floor outside terrace with excellent views over Edinburgh & beyond!
The apartment is in a perfect position very near Haymarket station. There are plenty of very good restaurants within easy walking distance.
We arrived at the apartment early & it wasn't ready, but Audrey welcomed us & let us leave our bags inside which was very helpful.
The only issues we had was the intermittant TV signal, but that wasn't a big problem as we were out most of the time

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your lovely review,

Regards
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky A
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice-ish apartment but some serious problems”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Booked this apartment for a family get-away for the Fringe. A nice apartment on the whole but some significant issues that need to be fixed before we would even consider recommending this apartment to anyone else, particularly given the high price-tag.

1) Front door key code lock is broken - it turns out one of the buttons is broken requiring some serious force and many, many attempts before we could get the door open. This needs to be fixed ASAP.

2) The plumbing is in dire need of work. Not only is it noisy (including the bathroom fans) but from the second day of our trip we had no hot water running from the taps. A plumber came to check and declared it fixed but to no avail - we experienced ongoing issues with it.

3) The door in the small 4th bedroom (which has no windows and is essentially a converted utility room) jams. This meant that if you close the door there is no capability to open unless someone comes to get you out! After much banging of the door in the early morning to get out I was eventually freed - thank goodness the kids weren't staying in this room.

4) The circuit breaker tripped which meant no lights in the ill-fated 4th bedroom (so yes I was trapped AND in the dark) or in the kitchen. Suggest checking.

5) No instructions for any of the appliances and the TV aerial is broken.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Hi Vicky,

I sincerely apologise for the problems you experienced during your stay, in our property over the last few days.
We were not aware there is a problem with the bedroom door and will get this looked at. Unfortunately, the trouble you had with the combination lock was the first time we had any problem with this lock. The trouble with the pump, is surprising as the pump was only supplied and fitted in February this year and is still under warranty. We have had the plumber replace it earlier today, under the warranty. The hot water would only affect the sinks as our two showers are both electric, but these things do happen from time to time and it's unfortunate it happened during your time with us. The circuit breaker does trip out because it is a safety device and that is what it's designed for. Something as simple as a light bulb blowing could cause it to trip. It may trip out prematurely, as a precaution, however this can be reset.
The instruction manuals for all the appliances are in the guest book. My apologies, you were not aware of their location. However, Audrey is always on hand and always willing to help with any queries you might have.
All the appliances have all been checked since you have checked out and they are all working perfectly.
I can assure you we keep the property well maintained at all times and pride ourselves on making sure all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay in the apartment. Once again, I do apologise, on this occasion that this was not your experience. Thank you for choosing our apartment.
Best wishes,
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your kind review, I am really glad
You enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Le5ley200...
Kendal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

9 of us stayed here over the Easter hols. Lovely apartment with plenty of space, equipment & towels. The kids loved the use of the pool which they had to themselves most of the time. Dominoes and Co-op at the end of the road was handy and only 5mins walk from Haymarket Station. Would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Hi Lesley,

Thank you very much for your kind review
I am so glad the kids enjoy their stay.

Thank you very much for choosing our property

Sincerely
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was the perfect stay for our group!

Travelling for a long weekend with 9 adults and 3 children (aged 4, aged 2, aged 7months).

The location was ideal whether we were walking or taking a cab after a long day. Walking to the main shopping street took about 35minutes and taking a cab about 5/8 minutes.

The apartment was EXTREMELY clean and we even got the basics ready for our arrival such as bread, juice, tea. Attention to detail was brilliant. Even down to providing washing up liquid and washing machine fabric softner and powder! I normally pack all these essentials but it was nice that it was already there!

The rooms were extremely spacious - we had myself, my husband and two travel cots in one room and still had plenty of space to move around.

The apartment was very secure - even getting in the pool required keys! Perfect when you have kids. The pool itself was lovely and warm and both times we went in, we had it to ourselves which was brilliant. There was showering and changing facilities by the pool which was handy too.

Beverley was so good with contacting and answering any questions before hand which made me feel more at ease.

The ONLY thing we found as a negative was the washing machine and dryer were both loud and the dryer didnt work properly. However there was a long clothes rack so we put them on there instead. On the grand scale of things it was minor but for future travellers, I would recommend either putting them on when you are out for the day or avoid washing a full load of clothes!

We had a brilliant time and would recommend this place to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Hi Sarah,

Thank you so much for your kind review, glad to,hear you all enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartment, extremely comfortable”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at this apartment this weekend. The apartment was fantastic, large and very clean and comfortable. It was well equipped and only a short walk to the city. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you very much for your kind review Jayne!

I'm glad you and your friends had a lovely stay.

Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A5760
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing, couldn't ask for better.”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Arrived here to stay for 3 nights Aug 2015. Basically could not believe how amazing the place was. It was like Fort Knox with keys and coded doors which is brilliant it was so safe and secure.. the lobby, stairs, corridors and rooftop terrace were all in excellent condition, so clean!
the apartment itself was so good.. CLEAN, FRESH, WARM. EVERYTHING YOU NEED!
Milk, bread, butter, teabags, orange juice... So welcoming!

Very close to city centre! Great quiet area. Dominos was on the corner! We ate pizza for dinner every evening even though we had everything in the kitchen we would have needed for a banquet. ALL CUTLERY ETC WAS PRISTINE!

FRIDGE/FREEZER/WASHING MACHINE/DISHWASHER/DRYER .... all really good quality and in perfect working order!
UNLIKE MOST self catering accommodation there WAS cleaning equipment/washing powder/dish washer tablets etc...

WIFI ACTUALLY WORKED!!!! We had 8 phones running off the wifi which was brilliant !!
All beds were super comfy, so fresh and clean..

ALL in all the place was absolutely fab I would LOVE to go back again....

BEVERLEY: Was amazing during the whole booking process ...
AUDREY: Is so so nice....!! So welcoming and kind... SHE KEEPS EVERWHERE SPOTLESS .. fair play to her she does her job exceptionally well...

Oh and there was IPOD DOCKING STATIONS in all the bedrooms! Like seriously THAT is what you call luxury.. I didn't want to go home!

The pool etc was fabulous!!!

I could write about it all day long!

Bottom line: TOP QUALITY!

April and the truckfest crew from Ireland, August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent condition of apartment. Luxury!
Liked least: We weren't staying for long enough :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for your lovely review.

Sincerely
Beverley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing