We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is secluded in a smaller, business-y area of Edinburgh. Not too far from Waverley station (10 minutes by car). it's got quite a typical chain-hotel attitude. The service was okay but could've been alot better: We had a room for 3, so it was a king bed and sofa bed. When i came in i realised there were no extra pillows, duvet, and even bedsheets for the sofa bed even though i clearly noted that there were three of us staying! The most irritating part was, i had to order those items almost ONE BY ONE (bed stuff, and then towels! There were only two sets in the room for three).

The room was abit noisy, it seemed like htere were engines on top of the celing or something. We could hear a low hum at night when it was quiet. The shower's water kept on going from hot to cold randomly, i guess it's because several rooms share one boiler, and it was extremely irritating with the whole "showering rush hours".

Breakfast was alright, bit crowded and the items were your usual : scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt and cereal..coffee...tea. etc. The hallway of the lobby to the elevator had a weird smell, almost like an unpleasant farm smell, and that also effected the dining area slightly. The quality of the food weren't very good. The breads were extremely stale and one of the mornings' coffee was nasty! For value, this is a decent hotel, but flawed when it comes to detail. i just expected much more from a big hotel chain like Marriott!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

A very funky hotel a short walk to the grassmarket area. Ultra modern rooms that are large and bright. But a little to warm for our liking. Breakfast was OK, but dining area small. (be early).

Very helpful staff. All of Edinburgh major attractions are within walking distance. By the end of our weekend we were a lot fitter than the start.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My partner and I stayed 3 nights here in Edinburgh and everything was lovely. The staff went out of their way to assist and always greeted you every day. The rooms were comfortable and roomy and very good value for the price. Great location in the new Q1 area right near The Meadows and 5 minute walk to the Royal Mile. We will not think twice about coming back here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozandJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The location is pretty good - the hotel is on a no through road - so you don't have lots of traffic noise.

However, this is an up and coming area in relatively close proximity to the university, so there can be a bit of pedestrian traffic on occasion (which can be noisy).

It takes about 10 mins to walk into the centre of town - but for those with dogs, one of the ideal things is that it is only about a minutes walk to a really big park (easiest route, turn left out of front door, when you get to the end of the hotel, turn left and head for the footpath with the railings on the right hand side, go past Peters Yard shop - then Peters Yard coffee shop and then turn left - voila!)

Room: we had 102 - large room with kitchen area (microwave, dishwasher, sink, fridge), sitting area (settee and seperate chair) and bed plus around the corner, a shower room (no bath). Two issues with the room only - if you lean up in bed, the mattress parts company with the headboard (yes, we did report this and yes, they do know about the problem!) and secondly, there's no extraction out of the bathroom, so you can already see where water has dripped down the paint work..................no a problem now but in a years time, I can see they will need to repaint!

Breakfast: small breakfast area which rapidly fills - to be honest, you don't really choose this hotel for the breakfast, it's quick and easy but not fine cuisine by any stretch of the imagination!

Parking is underground £12.80 per day and relatively convenient - Sainsbury's local is very near (turn right out of the hotel, turn right on the footpath at the top and go past the next building and its on your right) so you can stock up with milk, wine, beer etc.

Room Tip: Room 102 is on a corner, so you get a (frosted) window to the outside on the bathroom - remember to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Loved this property. I stayed here with 2 cousins for a 2-day vacation. The cab from where the airport bus dropped us in the hear of the city to the hotel took about 4 minutes ($6US). Upon arrival, the staff immediately greeted us and checked us in early. Our room was nice and clean and bigger than I expected. They had a huge TV and the bathroom had two sinks. There was a nice kitchen space though we did not do any cooking. We all slept like logs in the 12+ pillows on each bed. They had an iPod docking station and a very large desk, and a super comfy sofa.

We "utilized" the market pantry after our 10pm ghost tour. They have Oreos and beer (and other things).

This property has the BEST Residence Inn breakfast I have ever had in my life (I have probably stayed at 30 Residence Inns). Eggs, bacon, sausage, beans, toast, fruit, several juices, coffee, tea, etc. all while sitting in a super modern breakfast area. I liked that the breakfast stayed out until the very last minute. One partygoer in our room barely made it and enjoyed the same breakfast we had a hour and a half before her.

The staff is young, polite, and was able to tell us where to eat/drink/listen to music. This hotel is super close to campus. If you stay here, you MUST eat at Mum's Comfort Food (ask for Sandy) and have the cider (apple; if they are out, strawberry). We walked every where from here and there are great pubs down the street.

I cannot wait to get back here on our next trip to europe. I can see both my 24-year-old brother and my 80-year-old grandmother staying here and equally enjoying it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHermesMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is the first Residence Inn in the UK and, as such, is a welcome addition. The Residence Inn concept is very flexible and is great when travelling on holiday or for an extended business stay. The hotel is only about 6 months old so the fixtures and fittings are in good condition (although I did reattach a loose cupboard door). The position of the hotel is good for visiting most of the sites of the city with just a short walk to the centre. If you are visiting the University it is ideal as there were students everywhere around us! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. One major downside - we were lucky in that we had perfect weather with warm sunny days that made it seem like the middle of June rather than late March. However, this highlighted a major weakness. The hotel has no air conditioning on the bedroom levels. The corridor was extremely hot and we had to keep the window open all night to keep our room comfortable. Once the temperatures get any higher - if they ever do - then this would be unbearable.

Room Tip: Make sure you have opening windows - top floor has sliding doors and a small verandah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjs1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is not really a traditional Hotel. More like a serviced apparent with a receptionist and a functional bar.

The real draw of this hotel are the rooms. All very spacious, big sofa, very comfortable beds with crisp linen. The desks are positioned well to allow those wanting to work from their hotel rooms to do so with comfort. All rooms come with iHome dock, only a draw for those with a iPhone.

The rooms are all well equipped with a small kitchenette which has a fridge and microwave oven.

The rooms are all equipped with massive showers with great water preassure.

The real wow factor about this place is that every room comes with floor to ceiling windows as this is a brand new building.

The only downside is that there is no pool or a proper in house restaurant. Althoug I hardley eat in hotel restuarants this was no big loss to me personally as there are number of reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

All in all a great two week stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHarper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your considered comments.

We are delighted our spacious suites were to your liking & our team helped you enjoy you visit to Edinburgh.

Kindest regards,
Colin Richards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,719 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $139 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing