We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,260)
Filter reviews
1,260 results
Traveller rating
662
427
124
30
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
427
124
30
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quartermile area washers and dryers royal mile a small kitchen area the breakfast area simpson loan one bedroom suite sliding door corner room complimentary breakfast national museum of scotland modern hotel building work minute walk air conditioning rooms are large quiet area
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 1,260 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked ahead from the states and could not be happier with our choice. The location is perfect - just a 10 minute walk to the city center but quiet and charming by the hotel. The staff was excellent, helping us with a variety of things and always with a smile. The rooms are well equipped, clean and modern. Even though there are plenty of restaurants all around, there is also a nice small market quite near the hotel with food that could be prepared with the in-room microwave. A full breakfast is served every morning (quite delicious) so no need to buy breakfast food. The only small disappointment was the bed which was too soft for our liking but the staff happily provided an additional bed topper which helped. All in all a great choice to stay if you visit Edinburgh!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EM690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2016

Hello EM690

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience.

I am always particularly pleased when our excellent team are recognized for their hard work and high level of customer service.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh in the future.

Kind Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016

We had two couples staying twice in two weeks. The staff was terrific. They could not have been more accommodating at the front desk (I wish I could remember the gentlemans name who was so charming!). They even remembered us the second visit.
A good location although there is quite a bit of construction going on- although it did not bother us at all. Easy and inexpensive to cab to places if need be. We had older people with us so we had to.
Very nice rooms and lobby with a hearty breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go2bch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Hello go2bch

We really appreciate you sharing your experience after your stay with us a few weeks ago and I am delighted to hear you had very pleasant and enjoyable visit to Edinburgh.

Thank you for recognizing our team and the fantastic service they provide.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future.

Many Thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Although our overall experience was amazing and all the staff were very helpful, professional and made our stay very enjoyable. I simply have to single out one staff member that was absolutely incredible, her name is Sam and she worked on the front desk. She is an asset to the Residence Inn and I hope they realize it.

The Residence Inn is perfectly located and in walking distance from Edinburgh Castle, St Giles Cathedral, National Museum of Scotland, National Gallery and many more sites.

The breakfast was good, our room was good size and well laid out. The hotel and our room was always very clean and neat. There was never any noise problems. All in all, we had a great stay and would definitely recommend the Residence Inn and would love to go back.

The highlight though was without a doubt the staff and the star of the show was Sam on the front desk.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brendon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Hello Brendon

I am hugely grateful to you for sharing your experience from your stay with us in January and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay.

I know that our team are extremely grateful for such positive feedback and thank you for recognizing Sam in particular.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

A very modern hotel about 5-10 minutes from the centre of Edinburgh.
We received a very warm welcome from Paul on the front desk who looked after us well and nothing was too much trouble.

The room was spacious and clean with a small kitchen and good sized shower. The bed was really comfortable too.
We were on the 7th floor with the added bonus of a balcony and castle views.

The breakfast was well presented with plenty of choice to cater for everyone.
I would stay here again in my next visit to Edinburgh and would recommend you consider it.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaveP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Hi Dave

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel and for recognizing Paul on our front desk team for looking after you.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the balcony room with the view to Edinburgh Castle.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh again in the future.

Many Thanks

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

Outstanding customer service from the very minute you step through the doors

Paul on the front desk makes you feel very welcome from the outset. Very helpful and very knowledgeable.

We stayed in a room for 2 adults and two children. Plenty of room - practical and very modern

Breakfast is very good and the bar / menus are very reasonably priced

Great location in a very up and coming area.

Short walk to the National Museum, a lovely park and a walkable distance (even for a 7 year old) from the railway station so no need for taxis!

I have stayed in a lot of Marriott hotels in many countries - this is one of the best for a family break - but would also stay there for a business trip.

Good facilities in the area - Sainsbury is in the same area as well as a Starbucks cafe and a couple of modern restaurants

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Simon01Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Director of Sales at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2016

Hello Simon01Says

Thank you for taking time to share your experience after your recent stay with us.

It does mean a lot to us for you to recognize the team and in particular Paul, for their fantastic customer service and i will be sure to share your comments.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and were able to get out and see the city.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh in the near future.

Kind Regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews