We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #15 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rossendale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Originally booked to stay Sunday 12th and 13th May but then I rang and asked to change to the Monday and Tuesday and very helpfully they changed the booking. When we arrived early (1pm) we were allowed straight up to our room were we had been upgraded to Room 13 on the 3rd floor. What a view over to the Firth of Forth and the hills beyond. The room was enormous containing an extremely comfortable King sized bed, 2 chairs, a sofa and a writing desk, as well as the wardrobe and a cupboard. Bathroom was a good size with a lovely range of toiletries and we also had a flat screen TV, kettle and various teas, coffees and hot chocolate. All very modern and very clean. On the first floor in the old fashioned library, complete with books to borrow, was a coffee machine and a selection of biscuits. We had a drink in the bar both night and found the prices very reasonable, nice snacks and service excellent. At Breakfast ordered food was hot and plentiful as well as a good selection of continental breakfast items cheese, pastries, fresh bread, yogurts etc. The only slight criticism is the tiny lift which I could not use, but the stairs certainly kept us fit! Would certainly recommend this B+B for style, service and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    160
    29
    11
    5
See reviews for
109
281
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just back from a family visit staying at the B+B Edinburgh. What a gem. Beautiful period property tastefully restored with modern facilities. Excellent breakfast, free tea/coffee all day. Would highly recommend for business or pleasure. Absolutely divine beds. We dont usually stay in B& B accommodation on city breaks, preferring to use hotel chains. So glad we made this stay an exception as the accommodation is exceptional.

S. Currie

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellyelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Just returned from a one night stay to celebrate my birthday. Like many others we had purchased a Groupon voucher for £59 which is very cheap for this location. Due to the popularity of the offer no standard rooms were available for our required date so we upgraded to a larger family room for an additional £30.
First impressions were very good, the reception and staircase are beautiful as are the other public rooms. The hotel maintains lots of original fixtures including fireplaces and wood panelling coupled with modern decor and contempory colours.
Our room on the fourth floor was a nice size and had a lovely view of the castle. As previously mentioned by other guests the bed was huge and very comfortable, essential after all the sight seeing and shopping. The bathroom was exceptionally clean and had obviously been recently refitted. The shower was very powerful with plenty of hot water, the shower head was fixed overhead so not much good if you don't want to wash your hair but the bath was a good size so a good substitute. The room had a nice stock of teas and coffee etc and is backed up by a free drinks machine in the library which is a nice touch.
Unfortunatley the room did lack slightly in a couple of areas, firstly the bathroom door didn't stay closed and there was no hook in the bathroom to keep clothes off the floor, the towel rail isn't higher enough from the floor to dry wet towels. In the bedroom a hairdryer was provided but wasn't very powerful so I used my own, however there wasn't a mirror over the dressing table which is a shame and the only mirror wasn't near an electric socket which was slighlty irritating. Minor problems but could very easily be solved. The remote control for the tv didn't work but as we were there to enjoy Edinburgh not to watch tv it was no big deal.
Breakfast was pleasant and served with a smile. The buffet table was limited just yogurt and juice and cereal, we didn't see any fresh bread or pastries or cold meats and cheese but the hot food was nice.
Overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely building well situated for the delights of Edinburgh. We were very happy and would stay again if available at a good rate but feel the full price is too much for b and b even in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Booked in for one night stay,for Saturday 21st April,arrived in Edinburgh just before noon,
A quick phone call,and was allowed to check in early,(saved lumping luggage through town)
Lovely Hotel,spotless,spacious,comfortable room,
Coffee machine,and nibbles readily available adjacent to very impressive library,
Called down to reception to ask for use of iron & ironing board,delivered within minutes,

All very well,until breakfast on Sunday Morning,
We arrived in dining room just before 09.30,were not even asked about coffee or tea,or food order taken until10.00,drinks arrived a few minutes later,with food arriving 10 mins later,
Three couples who arrived in dining room after we did,were attended to,and one of those couples had actually eaten and departed prior to being served,
The service on Sunday put a dampner on an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Stunning view from room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank generalg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I regret that this guest was missed on Sunday morning. We take feedback such as this very seriously and I've already spoken to the staff members involved. Over the last week we've been reorganizing the staff available in the dining room to ensure that this issue doesn't arise again in the future.

I'm glad that these guests enjoyed the rest of their stay and we hope to see them again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel surpassed all expectations! It was just gorgeous. Read all about its history on its web site - I did after I had stayed there as I love knowing the history of these big houses before they became hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel is absolutely stuning and so spacious. There is a library and a bar room you can sit in in the evening, both room are big and full of character (as is the whole hotel), games to play & free coffee machine. Staff are perfect, very helpful, always there but just in the background, so not intrusive at all. Bedrooms and bathrooms were really nice, clean and have everything you could need. Beds were really comfy, shower was nice and powerful. The breakfast was probably the best I have ever had at a hotel, they have everything you could want. The hotel is within walking distance of Haymarket station and is a great location for spending time in Edinburgh. I will be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: room at the front get the sun in the morning so are nice and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Beautiful building with lovely interior of mixed character and modern touches. We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay. Our room and en-suite was clean and well presented with comfy beds, all the requirements for a one night stay. The library and bar areas were comfortable and relaxing to chill out in. Breakfast was well enjoyed, certainly no complaints from us and was again in a beautiful room with the sunshine beaming through the large windows. Would definitely stay here again - a short walk from Haymarket Station (stayed here with my sister, sister in law and mum sharing two rooms) - we all said that we would stay here again x roll on another theatre trip I think!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,393 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing