We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BANG ON VALUE FOR MONEY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BANG ON VALUE FOR MONEY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Its a clean, smart, friendly hotel, excellent for a few days stay if u r visiting edinburgh.
I am employed with Marriott Int. n' being from a hotel management background myself, i was very happy to see they have their basics right. front office staff r well informed of the bus/taxi info and location details. waiter at the restaurant/bar is pretty ok..nice chap..food production team, good job. the makhani was served at the right temperature, naans were soft n everything, quick service, well done.. housekeeping did a good job changing towels n refilling amenities (i so need my tea everyday morning n was delighted to see they had refilled milk n tea sachets) room is nice, i liked the bed, the innovation of the hanger design, the mirrors, the bathroom.. i mean, honestly, its a bang on value for money hotel. (£36 per night)..

Im extremely happy with the hotel, but jus a few things that did strike me as a tinee winee bit negative..
umm, i wish it was a lil closer to the city centre, but hey, it's still ok.. n' i know travelodge is all no toiletries, but c'mon guys at least keep a toilet roll in the bathroom..

To all the travel lodge staff, smile a lil bit more, cuz that'd make a BIG difference to the guest experience.. but u guys r doing reeli good :)

Lovely stay, look forward to visit u soon :)

Room Tip: well mine was on the 4th floor facing the main road outside, t'was pretty cool n i guess u guys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    300
    369
    312
    577
See reviews for
217
786
92
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had originally booked into the brand new Travelodge in Edinburgh but was informed not long before that the hotel would not be finished in time. The only available rooms were in the Travelodge West End as I needed 2 family rooms so agreed to the change without firstly looking on Tripadvisor!!
Firstly not greeted with the warmest of welcome on reception and when we inspected the rooms we found that they were very tired and dated. The sofabed had several suspect stains on it and hairs and mould around bath.
I know that Travelodge is designed to provide cheap and affordable accomodation but this should not mean that cleanliness and hygiene should suffer.
I would not recomend this to families but if your on a stag/hen party and are planning to be drunk most of the time this should be a fine choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Guest Relations Manager at Britannia Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Donna F,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you have cause for complaint, and that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.

Your valuable comments will be used to support any improvements which may be required at this hotel.

In addition, we would like to fully investigate your concerns. To assist us with this, please can you visit our main Travelodge website and use the new ‘Contact Us’ form to securely provide us with your confirmation number and full details of your complaint.

We will then be able to fully investigate your concerns with the Hotel Management team, and provide a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very basic, bathroom was crampted and mould along the tiles, there was a random small hole in the wall and the shower was very loud, we was able to hear the neighbours shower at 5.30am!! Also the toilet system was shocking and flushing it was an experience.

The bedroom itself was again basic, with tea making facilities, however the heater smelt like it was burning so we couldn't use it, and there was no wardrobe to hang clothes.

I will not be returning to this particular travelodge, however in the past I have had a much better experience with travelodges.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becki1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here for two nights with Uni freinds as we were attending a conference. Stayed in a twin room. Room was fine, plenty of space, tea/coffee making facilities, nice bathroom. We spent very little time in the hotel so it served its purpose. Felt I got my money's worth for £38 for a twin room for two nights. Not much else to say, busses are regular into the centre however on the way back we seemed to get lost and had to jump in taxis!
To be honest a travel lodge is a travel lodge ... doesn't matter where you are!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmo230885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

well 1st night full of vistors on coach trip who were rude , check in bad , as staff couldnt understand room booking .......... breakfast ok but very packed . cheap and ok for price but no more

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin310Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed at the Travelodge for one night as we were going to a show at Playhouse. Very basic accommodation, spartan room, cleanliness okay, not dirty, but not perfect. However, for the money we paid, it was adequate, I prefer to stay in slightly better accommodations. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, the breakfast was good value for money. The car parking was £3 per day, also good value. Costs about £7 in taxi into centre of Edinburgh. However, I wouldn't stay for any longer than one night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Good hotel but certain things are letting it down. I booked this room for 4 nights in the £10 per night offer, very please with the room over looking the river to the rear on the top floor. Small niggly things let it down. Front desk staff absolutly fabulous, small problem when I went to check in, in such that they had already booked some one else in under my name, but hey they got it sorted. Room was clean and tidy. When we went to un-pack we found that the draws had been screwed close and the handles removed, when I asked the staff why I was told that the cleaning company had does this so it does not take so long to clean a room. My question is why have a facility then take it away? The only real problem with this hotel is the outside cleaning company. I placed the towels in the bath to be replaced and all they did was fold them back up and put them back on the shelf. On the final night, on returning from our day out we found that the room had not ben hoover as there was flakes of what looked like paint all over the floor. when talking to the front desk staff, they did offer to move us but I said it was our last night and it wasn't worth it.

Overall a good hotel, basic. excellent location just outside of the city centre

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freelander03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#133 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Britannia Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 69 Belford Road, Edinburgh EH4 3DW, Scotland (Formerly Belford Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Edinburgh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Waters of Leith in the West end of Edinburgh City Centre, the Britannia Hotel Edinburgh has 178 bedrooms and is conveniently located within easy reach of many of the city's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh West End Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Britannia Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing