We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ticks all the right boxes.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Castle from the kitchen window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle from the kitchen window
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Castle from the kitchen window
Living room
Living room
Living room detail.
Entertainment corner of living room.
View from one of the living room windows.
Fully equipped kitchen with all appliances. Amazing castle views.
The building.
Amazing view of the castle from the kitchen.
Kitchen detail.
Dining area with extending butterfly table & 4 chairs.
Bathroom with shower.
The cosy 'Hideaway' bed with superior mattress.
Snuggle down and watch TV from the luxury of the 'Hideaway' bed.
The apartment building.
The Castle from the Grassmarket
The Grassmarket. Enjoy a bite to eat outside or inside after visiting the local shops.
The West Bow, Grassmarket.
Coffee in beautiful Princes Street Gardens, only a 10 minute stroll away.
Rooftop view from a living room window.
Entertainment in the Grassmarket.
Pub dining in the Grassmarket.
Edinburgh - 'Athens of the North.'
Night view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
psc1964
malta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ticks all the right boxes.”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my first time to Edinburgh and am always a little anxious when booking accommodation especially when travelling alone, but I needn't have worried as this is a fab little apartment that ticks all the right boxes, starting from the location right up to the apartment itself. Entrance is through a coded gateway so this gives it added security.
The apartment is cosy yet spacious, even when the bed is out. I absolutely hate small spaces that give that closed in feeling so really loved the spacious feel to the apartment.
I cannot fault anything - it's spotlessly clean, has all the gadgets one might need for a comfortable stay, has a well equipped kitchen, lots of towels (should you need them) and the luxury of a lovely bath (a rarity to find nowadays).
The welcome pack certainly is a plus - especially when arriving late and all you want to do is put your feet up and relax after a day of travelling. Also having WiFi also is another plus - something I rely on for keeping in contact.
Oh and of course the owner's communication and directions were spot on.
The only 'fault' I can think of is I don't think I read any mention of the stairs before booking (I might have overlooked this tho). This didn't present a problem for myself but might have if my husband was travelling with me.
I would look no further if I traveled to Edinburgh again as this apartment has it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness - basically everything
Liked least: the steps - not an issue to me but something to be aware of
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you for a lovely review and I'm glad the flat suited you so well. I did mention the stairs in the ad - I have written that the flat is on the second floor and not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties. Traditional tenement properties in Edinburgh generally do not have lifts, but foreign travellers are not usually aware of this and also not used to climbing stairs! Being only on the 2nd floor and not the very top, there are not too many stairs, luckily, and they do keep us fit.....
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan B
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, loved it”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great apartment in an amazing location.
Would highly recommend to anyone.
Every sight worth seeing is within walking distance, and anywhere further afield is no more than a bus trip away.
The apartment itself was kept clean and had everything that would be needed, as well as a nice welcome pack upon arrival which sorted us out for our first night's meal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and comfiness
Liked least: Bed was a little small, but that's being really picky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorraineh...
Pender Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you want to be in the thick of things this is a really cute, cozy flat within walking distance of everything. Nice large tub in the bathroom that my 6'7" husband was able to stretch out in. If you plan on eating in the kitchen is not very roomy but who needs to cook with all the pubs and eateries so close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Was a little noisy at night so we had to close the windows at night.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauljen1
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Cozy Apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely Old Town apartment. It is cozy and self-contained, with the most wonderful views to the castle. It is ideally located and was a perfect base for our stay. I would definitely recommend this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickdavey
Huangshan, China
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely little apartment, with a comfortable bed and an amazing view of the castle. We would definitely recommend starting here for a long weekend in Edinburgh.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabisini
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy and well-equipped apartment right under the castle”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Arriving at this flat after a long, tiring journey was just like coming home - everything we needed was there, even a welcome pack containing things like fresh bread and milk. The flat is pleasant, nicely-decorated, and well-equipped with everything from a potato masher to books on the history of Edinburgh. The bed is the kind that folds out from a cupboard in the wall and is not exactly king size but can be made quite comfortable by shoving a pair of sofa cushions into the gap behind it. Unlike most flats in central Edinburgh, the place is also cosy and well-heated, a definite plus point in January. (Though watch out for ice on the balcony outside!)

This place would particularly suit those looking to explore the Old Town on foot. It's just round the corner from the historic pubs and restaurants of the Grassmarket (though the flat's location itself is quiet), within 5 minutes walk of cinemas, a theatre, mini supermakets, Princes Street Gardens (through a back alley) and (up a windswept flight of steps) the castle and the Royal Mile. Not much public transport passes right by the flat, but in central Edinburgh you might not need it. Buses and trams to places further afield such as the airport and the zoo are 10 minutes' walk away on Princes Street.

From the kitchen window of the flat is possibly the city's most stunning view of the castle. If the flat had existed in medieval times they could have thrown stones through the flat window from the castle battlements! Edinburgh's Old Town is one of the most beautiful and fascinating city destinations I know and this flat is a perfect base from which to experience it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location
Liked least: Fold-out bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2015
Thank you for your detailed review! The quirks are to be addressed during the next upgrade but I do like your description of the castle and have even quoted it once or twice!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindmi
1 review
“Cozy, central location with amazing view!”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The flat was super cozy and really has all the amenities you need. The owners provided a welcome pack and the place felt very welcoming! Location is amazing. You don't have to go far to enjoy what Edinburgh has to offer but it is also just as easy to enjoy a night in, especially with a supermarket very close by. We had a third person staying and the owner was very accommodating and drove from an hour away to drop off an air mattress. Thank you for a lovely stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, nice welcome pack
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Glad you had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing