We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The warmest welcome and everything we needed for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kate S
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“The warmest welcome and everything we needed for a perfect stay in a beautiful city.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My partner and our 2 children stayed in this lovely apartment for 4 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Perfect location for exploring the heart of the city, great travel links mere walking distance away, and easy access to some lovely walks around Arthurs Seat.
The welcome we got from the owners was warm and friendly, and they went the extra mile to make sure our stay was perfect. The apartment is really well equipt with a kitchen full of everything you might need to prepare meals, a good dishwasher and washing machine, which we found invaluable. Warm and cosy and with book-shelves filled with fiction and city guides, we felt it was perfect for our needs. There is no lift, so be prepared for 2 (small) flights of steps to get to the front door, especially if you have a buggy, though we managed just fine.
Our overall feeling of the place was that it really felt like a home from home, and the thoughtful touches really made our stay so comfortable that we have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone planning a visit to a beautiful city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome
Liked least: No double glazing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh and your stay in Browns Close. It is good to know that the facilities are getting used and that the little extras are appreciated! Thank you for taking time to write this review for us, and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddoghou...
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Apartment and Location Great”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The apartment has everything you need and more its excellent and location excellent, weather not so good but it is Scotland and we love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the apartment and Location
Liked least: The Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thank you for writing this review of our apartment, and for confirming the convenient location. Sorry that the weather was not so good, but we are pleased that you enjoyed yourselves despite that!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1963_Shel...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment in great location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment well situated for all major sightseeing attractions. No.35 bus from airport drops you within a few feet of the front door and easy walk from/to Waverley main train station. Apartment very clean, well equipped with lots of little extras included (tea, coffee, sugar, cereal, croissants, jam, biscuits, toiletries, hairdryer) and very warm and cozy. Quiet location ensured a good nights sleep and both bed and sofa very comfortable. Really enjoyed our long weekend in Edinburgh, which is lovely city, and Browns Close apartment was the ideal choice – were were not disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
We are glad both that you found the location so convenient and that you liked the extras! Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a nice review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel162
UK
1 review
“Superb apartment for city centre”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our second stay at Brown's Close and as before everything had been immaculately prepared with everything that is needed for a home from home stay. Very comfortable and secure. There is a really useful amount of information about Edinburgh, Scottish culture and history and the location speaks for itself - directly on the Royal Mile. Centrally located with Waverley a 10 minute walk. Checking in late we were personally welcomed which was much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is good to know that the information in the flat is useful, and we are especially pleased that you liked the apartment and location enough to return to stay with us. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprhyll_A...
Eastham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

first off Margaret and David were really nice and welcoming. the flat was lovely made me feel like i was at home and i didnt want to leave plus it was in an ideal location if your thinking about finding some where to stay then stay here. i cant wait to come back again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thank you for a lovely review and recommendation. We are so glad that you liked the apartment and that the location was good for you. We'll see you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee54b
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing apartment”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This apartment was Fabulous, My Husband and i had our Stag and Hen Nights in Edinburgh so we wanted to come back for our 1st Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have picked a nicer apartment, it was very homely and modern, full of information if you had never been to Edinburgh before , its in an ideal location, 10 mins walk from Waverley Station, only a short walk to the city center and restaurants, being on the Royal Mile you are in a ideal location what ever your stay, David met us to give us the keys and a tour of the apartment very pleasant guy, The little attention to details are lovely too ie: Milk, Chocolates, we will be booking up again for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little details ie: Milk, Chocolates
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for your kind words in the guest book.

We are glad to hear that you liked the apartment so much and found the location convenient - and that you plan to come and stay with us again: we look forward to seeing you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bex H
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfy, modern apartment in excellent location”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We visited Edinburgh for four nights and stayed at Brown's Close apartment. Thanks to their brilliant instructions, the flat was easy to find and was a leisurely 5-10 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverley station. We were greeted by their daughter, who was incredibly welcoming and left us with fresh towels, a bottle of red wine and some chocolate. What more could we need?! The apartment itself was fantastic and stocked with everything needed. The only thing we missed was a slightly larger frying fan! (Call us greedy- the other half loves a fried breakfast on holiday)
The bed was very comfy, shower was brilliant and living room was perfect for chilling out after a long day. As it was in the midst of the royal mile, there was some noise which was to be expected. This did not deter us from having a wonderful night's sleep, however.

My favourite bit was David's large collection of maps, guide books etc.

Thank you David and Margaret for a lovely stay.

Bex & Liam- from Sussex

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large folder with instructions etc
Liked least: The appliances were slightly too high-tech for us!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us a nice review. Sorry about the frying pan - there definitely WAS a larger one in the apartment, I just don't know when it disappeared, but we will get a new one in right away!

We are glad that you enjoyed staying at Browns Close and found the Edinburgh information useful (and glad to hear that the instructions are accurate!).

We hope that you will come again to stay with us.

Thanks again,

David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing