We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building Our fuly-equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
102 reviews
Seating area in the lounge, with door to balcony
Browns Close, designed by Sir Basil Spence, is a listed building
Our fuly-equipped kitchen
The dining area
Entrance hallway
The bright seating area in the lounge
The dining table can comfortably seat four people
The kitchen has a useful breakfast bar
Some of our guests have told us this is the most comfortable bed they have ever slept in!
The bedroom has plenty storage space
There is ample space in the bedroom for the travel cot, which can be provided free of charge.
There are little extras tucked away around the apartment
Enter a caption for your photo
Holyrood Palace - only 200 metres from the property
View from the balcony of the apartment
Musicians marching up the Royal Mile (taken from the balcony)
Salisbury Crags loom over the Edinburgh skyline
Scottish National Monument (aka Edinburgh's Disgrace!)
Panorama of view from balcony of Browns Close Apartment
The Star Flyer in St Andrew Square for Christmas
The Scott Monument and the Big Wheel in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 102 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Moira C
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This apartment is in a great location and contains everything you could possibly need. The owner has added in lots of extras e.g. milk, tea, coffee, cereal, brunch bars, books, cds, DVDs, shower gel, umbrellas and is exactly as described on the website. It is extremely clean and beautifully decorated throughout. Would be delighted to stay there again if the occasion arose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and found the "extras" to be useful. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Dymond
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great break”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Whilst doing my internship in Scottish youth Parliament I had the pleasure of staying in such an amazing, clean, well furbished and ideally tourist located being a stones throw away from Scottish parliament and Arthurs seat whilst being located off the Royal Mile. Julie one of the daughters of the owners was extremely accommodating and welcoming throughout our stay. She was helpful on every level expectially day of leaving and being locked out of the apartment and needing to get a train back to Wales. I felt at home whilst I was there. Such an amazing place. Thank you so much for having us :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the location so convenient. Good luck with your career - if you go on to a life in politics, maybe you will be back to stay with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The brown's close apartment was the perfect launching point for our trip to UK with our 1.5 year old daughter. Travel cot, high chair, toys, music was all at our disposal. The apartment was very clean, and is well looked after. We didn't mind the stairs to get to the apartment with our stroller, for some people they seemed to mind. One night we did wake up due to people returning home from the bar, and they were quite loud going up the stairs. Also just make sure the apartment door and door to the floor closes completely!

If we were to travel back to Edinburgh would look to Browns close apartments for our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Made travelling with a toddler easy
Liked least: Loud washer and dryer... We made the mistake to turning in on as we went to bed.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the toys were made use of. Sorry to hear about the noise one evening: this is unusual but we'll monitor the situation and I'll speak to the neighbours if it happens again. Thanks for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen h
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely owner who meet us on arrival, supplied lots of info on local area, apartment.Location was very central being on the Royal Mile, could walk to lots of different attractions. Would recommend good walking shoes, very hilly!
Apartment was beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean. Every home comfort you could think, including tea, coffee and milk, basket of breakfast goodies. Even DVDs, CD's, games and books. Bed was large, comfty and warm. Absolutely a fantastic place and we cannot recommend it highly enough! Will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and well equipped.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
We are pleased that you had a good time during your visit to Edinburgh, and found the apartment comfortable. Thank you for writing a review for us, and we look forward to meeting you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrCarrie
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An absolutely perfect holiday apartment”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It all started with communication with David -- he was almost immediately responsive and able to answer all of my questions. He met us at the apartment and showed us the ropes. The entire apartment looks as if it was just remodeled though I'm sure it wasn't. Everything is spotless, neat and tidy; apartment is furnished comfortably and is very functional. Mr. and Mrs. Brown really do have everything you could possibly need for your stay -- board games and DVDs for family time, a large selection of local guide books, a small library full of popular titles; coffee, tea, biscuits and milk in the kitchen. TV has a good selection of channels -- who knew that the American's old reality shows would dominate British television. Don't do it, UK!
One story clarified how entirely perfect the apartment was for us: we purchased a sim card for our old iPhone. We had some trouble getting it to work and I needed to pop the sim card out of the phone. What on earth can I use to do that when I'm on vacation??? I opened a drawer in the dining room and found a little box with sewing implements and some office supplies, including a paperclip. Awww! That was the absolute last thing I would expect to be able to find in a rental apartment and David had thought of it.
The apartment was an amazingly comfortable home-away-from-home for our time in Edinburgh. Bedroom included an American Queen-sized bed. It's located on the Canongate portion of the Royal Mile, across the road from the Scottish Parliament and within shouting distance of Holyrood. It's right on the street with all of the action but quiet at night.
We fell in love with Edinburgh and Scotland and will be back. I hope that we'll be able to stay with the Browns again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean and well-equipped
Liked least: That it wasn't mine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thank you for taking time to write us such a nice review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed staying with us, and also that you were able to make use of some of the knick-knacks that we leave for our guests. I find paperclips useful for sooo many things! We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkrauf
1 review
“Excellent apartment”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Great location excellent service. What we like most about the owner is attention to detail. The flat would have everything you need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2015
Thank you for your review - we are glad that you found everything you needed in our apartment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inepiia
2 reviews
“What an apartment!”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were four friends staying at this apartment for four nights. It was such a nice apartment, we didn't want to leave! It had a great location, everything in walking-distance (we never took a taxi). The city was unbelievably beautiful and we could not have had a better vacation. The apartment was very cozy and clean and had everything you would need. In addition, David was the sweetest and most welcoming person. Overall, the best apartment we could have got!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thank you for these kind words! We are very pleased that you liked both Edinburgh and our apartment so much, and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing