We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect home fom home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vondaz
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A perfect home fom home”
Reviewed February 25, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a lovely cottage. You walk in off the busy Dalkeith Road into a bright and warm home from home. 2 big double bedrooms (with wonderfully firm matteresses). The lounge leads to the kitchen diner. A small paved garden out the rear with a small BBQ which I am sure will be a delight to use in the summer. Located literally 2 minutes walk from Arthur's seat. Parking available around the corner and free at weekends. A good 30 minute walk to Princes Street, but only 8 quid taxi back. We loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this positive review.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay at Gatekeepers Cottage at Arthur's Seat and we hope to see you all again soon.
If you decide to stay with us again remember to your Repeat Guest Discount on your next booking.

Warm Regards,
The Edinburgh Address
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAChivers
Belleair Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very cozy”
Reviewed July 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for 3 days while in Edinburgh and loved the location. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We were able to walk to most of the sites we wanted to see. The only downside we had was parking, which we were aware of before booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very cozy
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review for your stay at Family Retreat @ Arthur's Seat. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at the cottage.

We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh again soon!

Best regards,
The Edinburgh Address
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doug U
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed 5 nights in July 2016 with two adult children (ages 21 and 24). A very clean and comfortable apartment. Situated about a mile from the Royal Mile (on one of the main streets, so taxi and Uber drivers knew where it was), which is a little bit of a walk, but not too bad. There are several pubs/restaurants and a small grocery within just a couple of blocks. Having a kitchen was very nice, and we used the washing machine too. There is no dryer, but they provide a drying rack for use. We loved the place and definitely were glad we chose it, rather than a traditional hotel room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and convenience
Liked least: wifi was spotty and TV stations limited - but we weren't there to watch TV!
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. As a small business it means a lot. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with The Edinburgh Address at The Family Retreat @ Arthur's Seat. We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh soon.

Kind regards,
Guest relations team @ The Edinburgh Address
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenH H
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Family Retreat Arthur's seat”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Spend a great weekend with friends at this apartment. The apartment was warm and cosy and had everything we needed for our stay. Great location with lots nearby and a lovely walk into Edinburgh centre if you don't mind walking. Great place for a catch up with friends and family and for eating out at the many excellent restaurants in this wonderful city. Even if you didn't want to go into the centre there was still lots on offer around the apartment area. Everyone at Edinburgh Address was very helpful during the booking and welcome process. Would certainly recommend and return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annabanan...
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for a girly weekend in Edinburgh. Lovely cottage about 20 minutes walk from centre of Edinburgh or 5 minutes bus/taxi (£6 in taxi) 2 double bedrooms, clean and spacious. Beds very comfortable. Living room with French doors to private patio area. Dinning room with modern kitchen just off it, very social. Bathroom - bath and power shower. Decoration through out very good. Recommend for a lovely weekend away in Edinburgh. Booked through Edinburgh addresses, no problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback on your stay.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the cottage for your girly weekend and look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Kind regards,

The Edinburgh Address
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing