We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay in a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Ranked #73 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    1,116
    422
    117
    41
See reviews for
758
933
118
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Faultless location and check-in. The castle view from the room was spectacular - there was nothing about the facilities in the room to be negative about. The swimming pool is bijou. As part of our package, an evening meal was provided. Oh dear - considering that I would say at least 70% of the residents in the hotel were tourists, the fare on offer did not raise the status of Scottish Cuisine. The selection of starters were good and fresh, the mains ( salmon - beautifully cook, credit where credit's due), Chicken, (rather paley waley and not appetising) and a mound of pasta slathered with tomato sauce and a months supply of olives, was indigestible. Vegetables were ...er....not good.
Dessert choice - well words fail me as for their quality, or rather lack of. It could have been so much more, for very little more. ( happy to supply suggestions on request if the hotel want to contact me), but a good evening meal would have been a very good selling point.

And so to bed....the mattress had all the comfort of a marble slab...

Breakfast was ok - the croissants were world class. Where did they come from? - no joke they were magnificent.

Check out was smooth, and staff fantastic. Would I stay again? - I would love to, but only if I could be promised a comfortable bed. Here's hoping....

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukdianeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
We at the Novotel Edinburgh Centre very much appreciate all your thoughts. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for a break last week on a package (flights etc) to visit family.
Firstly the service and welcome was spot on.
Our assigned room was too small for us so I asked for an upgrade to a executive room which was given at a little extra cost but well worth it for the castle views alone.
We tried the food there once and it was room service (due a hang over) very quickly came and was good value and tasty.
The pool,sauna,steam room area was very very good, clean and pretty much empty every morning.
But a welcoming detox solution if u had too many wee drams the night before at the all night bar (only open to residents).
Once we had found our bearings the location could not have been better, about a fifteen minute stroll to princes street and rose street etc. Also a number of very decent bars and restaurants in the grass market area which was approximately a 5 minute walk.
If you go here and enjoy a beer or two, I would highly recommend the brauhaus i think which boast about 580 different world beers!!!
overall 9/10 for the whole stay.
It would be 10 or not had we tried the breakfast

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Many thanks for the review.
We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Myself and my friend recently stayed here and although the hotel is located close to all ammenities we will not be back. Upon arrival we were asked for a credit card as a guarantee,we handed over the credit card and we were informed after the card had been swiped that £30 would be taken from the account each night. This meant that £120 was frozen from the credit card in total. We asked if this amount could be reduced as this was valuable spending money but to of no avail. We were told that this was the hotels policy and that we should have been aware of this when booking but we were never informed of this charge. Our room was quite spacious but the tv would not work. We made reception aware of this and we were told that a member of staff would be up to fix the problem. We left the hotel and came back later that night only to find that nobody had been to fix the tv. We again informed reception and eventually somebody came to deal with the problem.On our last night in edinburgh we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant as the menu had a good variety of dishes available. We ordered our food and were left waiting 45mins before it arrived. I do not think this hotel deserves its four star status.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pooch321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
We are looking into the matter, but feel free to contact me on 0131 656 3500 or email me on h3271@accor.com to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the end of February this year. After reading the reviews on here we were aware that there were not many carparking spaces and decided to fly from the midlands and get a taxi from the airport. The transfer was great and even at rush hour the taxi was very reasonable.

Now to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel with very friendly staff at reception ready and waiting to assist. The receptionist explained everything to us, told us how to get to our room and assisted with our questions.
The hotel itself was clean, inviting and very well organised.

Our room was on the 6th floor and although the seals around the window were broken and a little wind noise came in, you could tell that they had done everything they could to reduce the noise by fitting heavy set curtains which did help. The bathroom and toilet were seperate with no basin in the WC. Whilst we thought this a little odd, it was not a major issue. The minibar was stocked with a variety of soft drinks, beer and snacks however the price list was missing. I was most impressed with the coffee machine as was my partner. Nice touch to have that as well as the kettle and range of drinks available.

The breakfast in the dining area was standard for hotels, continental and full english/scottish with a range of fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts etc. I thought the £13.95 price tag was a bit steep considering we could have had it for £6.99 if we booked it at the same time as the room. When we mentioned this to the receptionist on check out they were happy to discount the price down to £8.50 so it wasn't all bad. The hotel bar was very nice and open late, prices were typical of hotels. Recommend you have 'one for the road' though as it comes as a little shock when you check out and the bar tab needs paying :-(

Unfortunately, on check out, we forgot the Champagne we had brought for our wedding in May. We called the hotel and they were more than happy to keep it for us as we were going to the highlands for a week. At the end of this week, we didnt fancy going back through Edinburgh on the way home as its 2 hours out of th way so we called the hotel and they were happy to post it to us. They called to arrange the best place to return it to and to arrange payment for the postage. When it arrived they had made every effort to ensure the bottles were not damaged by bubblewrapping and packaging as much as possible.

All in all I can say I was presently surprised by this hotel and would definately return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the castle, we had one of the Premier Inn next door :-/
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishanben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Very nice hotel, very friendly and helpfull staff, very good selection for breakfast, bar prices a bit on the expensive side though

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmunro96, General Manager at Novotel Edinburgh Centre, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them. Kind regards, Marc Pichot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#82 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,133 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Edinburgh Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Edinburgh Centre

Property: Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Address: 80 Lauriston Place, Edinburgh EH3 9DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Edinburgh Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Edinburgh Centre is an AA rated 4 star hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. Perfect for a holiday in the Scottish capital, close to Edinburgh Castle and the lively Grassmarket Area, 10 min walk from Princes Street shopping and the Royal Mile. The famous Arthurs Seat is 15 min walk away and Edinburgh International Airport 15 min drive. Relax with friends or family and enjoy Elements Restaurant and Bar, 24 hour room service, indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and whirlpool. Limited pay parking. Complimentary WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Edinburgh Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Edinburgh Novotel
Novotel Edinburgh Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing