We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a long weekend in Edinburgh?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #133 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a long weekend in Edinburgh?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

stayed at the piries for a long weekend at the tattoo convention and i found this hotel suitable for all my needs.
it's a short stroll to the haymarket rail station which will whisk you up to waverly station in no time and off to glasgow in the other direction. it's on the airport bus route and (in time) the tram line as well.....

the room was small (it was a single booking) but adequate for sleeping in after a good night out, the staff are on all night so no getting locked out. the shower was of a good size, the t.v was large but reception was a little flakey....but who's in edinburgh to stay in and watch the box?

there were tea making facilities in the room and a buffet breakfast thrown in which would get you through to lunch if needed.

all in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank big_foooot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valued time commenting on your recent stay with us at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am very delighted that Piries team have met your expectation and the hotel serviceswere up to your satisfaction

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in very near future

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    216
    158
    59
    76
See reviews for
102
274
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oensingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were completely satisfied with this hotel. Room was big (including double-bed and convertible bed-sofa for our 30months old son).
City-centre points of interest can easily be reached by feet (approx. 15-20 min to Princes street or Grassmarket). Furthermore, it was always quiet at night so we could sleep well.
Only downside is WIFI if not for free, I remember prices to be around £2.00 for 15min, £10.00 for 24h. Overall it was a nice experience and we would book this hotel again.
(we had double executive room)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D3an_M0riarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your time and comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that Piries hotel and its team have met your expectations, most importantly that you had enjoyed Edinburgh city

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your customs and looking forward to welcome you once again in not to far in future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Cannot fault this hotel at all. Very comfortable stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

we all at Piries delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us..

Looking forward to welcome you once again to extend our hospitality

Kind Regards


Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights in what appeared to be the smallest room in the hotel but found it to be clean and comfortable. The only major problem was the fact that room 16 was near an internal door which was a main room acess point and banged loudly at all hours. The staff were very friendly and happy to help but the breakfast was poor - cheap thin bread, 3 cereal choices and tinned peaches! The hotel location was ok if you like walking as the hike to the main areas was getting a little mundane. It's very close to the Haymarket trainstation but if you've got bags to carry from
Waverley I'd hop in a taxi. I would stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy30031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay at Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

Myself and the team strive to provide efficient service to ensure all our guests have a great time while visiting Edinburgh

With regards to the noisy door that will be easily fixed..thank you for telling us

Finally may I take this opportunity and thank you again and hope we can welcome you in not too far in future

Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

In a very good place of Edimburgh (near Haymarket, at 15 min to walk of the City centre), Piries Hôtel is a very nice hotel with an excellent service, employed people are very sympathetic. we spend a very good week.

Room Tip: In a very good place of Edimburgh (near Haymarket, at 15 min to walk of the City centre), Piries Hôt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time and feedback on your recent stay at The Piries Hotel, Edinburgh

I am delighted that Piries and its team have met with your expectation

Once again thank you for choosing Piries hotel while visiting Edinburgh and looking forward to welcome you in not to far future

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

After reading plenty of poor reviews of this hotel, we then noticed it had been refurbed and had since got good reviews since, so we booked in for one night. The booking was non-refundable unfortunately!

The location was ok, just around the corner from Haymarket Train station. We checked in and went into our room. We stayed in 73, which was in a separate building on the top floor. The website neglected to tell us that the top floor (three double rooms) all shared a communal bathroom! This bathroom also happened to have blood stains on the lino and half finished repair work.

The room itself was spacious, but very unclean. The carpet has obviously not been hoovered, the sheets were stained, there were hairs and stains on the towels, the glasses were dirty and the hallway light was broken.

We never actually stayed the night, checked in somewhere else instead. The staff were very apologetic, to be fair, and offered to change our rooms, but by this time we had been put off. Would not recommend, stayed in a well known chain hotel for similar money. Sure it doesn't have the character of an independent hotel but at least you know what your getting!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank domwells27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest

Let me start by apologizing for your bad experience with regards to your room cleanness! with all means I decline that I have ever came a cross such bad comments on our room standard...

This issue was passed to myself personally soon after you checked out and a decision has been made on the spot with the room charges also a letter was posted to the address provided for acknowledgment

I have no excuse for the issue raised but to apologize again and hoping to welcome you once again to show real Piries Hotel

May I take this opportunity and thank you for your time and feedback

Kind Regards
Khaled Ibrahim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for a few nights over Hogmanay and it was a good little place. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the hotel was cute and comfortable.

The room we had was quite small but had everything that we needed and it was well configured for such a small space. The bed was comfy and the heating was just right.

The breakfasts were really lovely. The selection was quite simple but it had everything that we needed to start the day.

The location is quite central. Because of Hogmanay, we always walked into the main centre of the city and this only took about 15 mins.

Parking was a bit of a hassle, as there is limited street parking servicing a number of other hotels/BnBs on the same road but it would probably not be an issue outside of peak holiday periods.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Louvre_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khaledibrahim, General Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Piries..We strive as a team to ensure all our guests receive a very welcoming and memorable experience

Once again thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Khaled Ibrahim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#141 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#144 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#73 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#72 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Property: Piries Hotel
Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing