We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
106
256
198
75
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
256
198
75
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaymarket stationcity centrelarge roomtram stopcouple of nightstea and coffee making facilitiesprinces streetwould stay againstayed here for one nightedinburgh castlemurrayfieldbusesscotlandpubshairdryer
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 731 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017

I stayed at this hotel one night and would not return. The room could use a good cleaning and I was woken up early in the morning by phone calls to the room phone (wake-up calls I had not ordered). The staff claimed that the calls came from guests in other rooms (which seems pretty unlikely) and hardly even apologized for the inconvenience. The location is good though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttoWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge your comments and will action them accordingly with the relevant personnel and departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

We stayed for four nights but we are not coming back. The staff was friendly and the location was great but the room wasn't clean. One of us is allergic to dust and had a hard time breathing in the room. There were coffee stains on the wall and big dust bunnies stuck to the wallpaper. The pillows was flat and not so comfortable and the bed was horrible. We spilled on the sheets but they weren't changed.

The rooms could use a re-painting and good cleaning. We would have given the hotel 2/5 if it werent for the staff and the location. You get what you pay for. If you are not planning lot of time in the room, it's an okay hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not in the basement.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LinusN143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We acknowledge your comments regarding the room and will address this with our housekeeping department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here at start of June, hotel very clean and staff very friendly. Needs a little TLC with things like squeaky floorboards and a cracked tile in the bathroom but nothing that would cause concern. Great location in Haymarket and was really central for the city centre and my friends who live nearby. Would happily stay here again

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Piries very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

I spent 2 nights in this hotel at the beginning of may.All the staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, especially the joung man and the girls at the reception.The room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable.The place easy to reach from the airport and not too far from Princess Street and the Royal Mile (just a few steps from Haymarket station and tram and bus stops) .The only bad thing is the maintenance, that seems a bit neglected.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basment
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsntb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We have passed your comments about the maintenance to our owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017 via mobile

Hotel in desperate need of total renovation. Bedroom no wider than 7 1/2 ft across with double bed shoved against wall. Frayed carpets, no soundproofing through rooms hearing neighbours conversations and toilet activities none to pleasant. As for the bed mattress must have been there from original opening. Springs coming through would make sleeping on the cobbles of Edinburgh more comfortable. No hot water in the shower. Only good thing from hotel was the staff. Who are aware of the state of the hotel but can only offer to take the complaint and forward it to the owners

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vonny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

We appreciate your constructive feedback, and have indeed already relayed your comments/disappointment to our owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews