We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access & economical ”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

I was really worried after reading reviews here but couldn't do anything as I had already paid. However I'm surprisingly happy with this hotel. It's just 3 minutes walk from Haymarket tram stop. We got off coming straight from airport. Literally took us only 18 minutes in total. Reception is polite and very friendly. My room was small but it was clean with all major accessories hairdryer, tv etc. Similarly small but clean toilet & shower. I would also mention that 2nd day we left room very late to go out even then room service tidy up for us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank SitaraArman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to read we were able to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

I stayed at this hotel one night and would not return. The room could use a good cleaning and I was woken up early in the morning by phone calls to the room phone (wake-up calls I had not ordered). The staff claimed that the calls came from guests in other rooms (which seems pretty unlikely) and hardly even apologized for the inconvenience. The location is good though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttoWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge your comments and will action them accordingly with the relevant personnel and departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed for four nights but we are not coming back. The staff was friendly and the location was great but the room wasn't clean. One of us is allergic to dust and had a hard time breathing in the room. There were coffee stains on the wall and big dust bunnies stuck to the wallpaper. The pillows was flat and not so comfortable and the bed was horrible. We spilled on the sheets but they weren't changed.

The rooms could use a re-painting and good cleaning. We would have given the hotel 2/5 if it werent for the staff and the location. You get what you pay for. If you are not planning lot of time in the room, it's an okay hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We acknowledge your comments regarding the room and will address this with our housekeeping department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here at start of June, hotel very clean and staff very friendly. Needs a little TLC with things like squeaky floorboards and a cracked tile in the bathroom but nothing that would cause concern. Great location in Haymarket and was really central for the city centre and my friends who live nearby. Would happily stay here again

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Piries very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I spent 2 nights in this hotel at the beginning of may.All the staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, especially the joung man and the girls at the reception.The room and the bathroom were clean and comfortable.The place easy to reach from the airport and not too far from Princess Street and the Royal Mile (just a few steps from Haymarket station and tram and bus stops) .The only bad thing is the maintenance, that seems a bit neglected.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the basment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsntb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We have passed your comments about the maintenance to our owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel in desperate need of total renovation. Bedroom no wider than 7 1/2 ft across with double bed shoved against wall. Frayed carpets, no soundproofing through rooms hearing neighbours conversations and toilet activities none to pleasant. As for the bed mattress must have been there from original opening. Springs coming through would make sleeping on the cobbles of Edinburgh more comfortable. No hot water in the shower. Only good thing from hotel was the staff. Who are aware of the state of the hotel but can only offer to take the complaint and forward it to the owners

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vonny72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

We appreciate your constructive feedback, and have indeed already relayed your comments/disappointment to our owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Have to say it has its for's & against's
This is in my opinion not a hotel more of a guest house it's within walking distance from Haymarket train station and a bus ride into city , its room only and pricey for it's dated condition the bedding and towels are clean room was cold and work was being carried out Sunday morning before check out! Personally I wouldn't stay here I'm sure there are many nicer cheaper places that would make a pleasant stay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank justjanice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your candid feedback. We acknowledge your comment and have passed them onto our owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#148 of 151 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
238 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
419 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: C$60 - C$262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing