We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return 2 night stay for the edinburgh tattoo”
Review of Piries Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piries Hotel
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed here 3 years ago so decided to return for a couple of nights to take in the edinburgh fringe and the tattoo.We were greeted straight away at reception and booked in .We were given room 11 which was ground floor room.The room had everything we needed .Bed was comfortable.Nice size bathroom and shower.The only negative comment i would have is the noise the doors make when slamming shut .Because they are so big and heavy it resembled a jail with late night and early morning constant banging of everyones doors.Im sure depending on where your room is located this wouldnt be so bad but that apart we had an enjoyable stay and couldnt fault the staff who went out their way to help at any oppertunity.The hotel is straight round the corner from Haymarket train station,the tram and bus stop and many cafes and diners.We heard no traffic whatsoever in our room .

Room Tip: room 11 is to the rear so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad to read you chose to return to us following a stay a few years back. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

So when you enter the street with older, Victorian or Georgian housen and cobble street, you know it is not spic and span. It is really "middle of the road". Not especially good, not especially bad. You get used to the beds with pocket spring matrass, the traffic outside and of course, sometimes you hear a door slap of a neighbour. But when we had trouble with our reservation, Fabio was very helpfull and found where the reservation process had a hick up. He still had a room for us. He really did a great job on hospitality. Surprise, surprise, his college charged us 20 pence for two prints (2 A4 sheets) airport check in. Of course, no hard feelings and i respect company policy but the difference in attitude surprised me.
The big plus of Piries is the location at tram stop Haymarket. With the tram (take a day-ticket), Edinburgh Centre can be reached very easy. And with the same tram (or Airport shuttle) the airport is "around the corner". For breakfast, lunch and dinner are all facilities within a short walk.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mattieu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your review. I will pass your positive comments along to my colleague Fabio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

All though this is a budget hotel, and luxury is not expected it fell well below average.

The location is fab with easy access to transport and a short walk into town.

However the hotel is dirty, drab and dated. We had booked a double room, which was clearly a single room with a double bed squeezed in, the decor is run down and grubby, there were stains on the bedding, walls and carpet.

On our first night-much like many other guest we were woken at some ungodly hour by a wake up call we did not order, upon speaking to the gentleman on reception the following day he took no responsibility for this and blamed other guests.

We did not have the breakfast here as there are so many fab places near by.

Would not return .

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Songsaboutshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your candid feedback. We will address your points with the relevant departments and personnel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Really wasn't happy with anything about the hotel. Didn't feel safe one bit because a man had just let himself in me and my partners room saying that he had a leak upstairs so he needs to check the bathroom when we have a gap between the actually celling and the bathroom celling. He didn't even have a proper look to see if there was a leak so we were very suspicious. We were given a disable room which we did not need and I feel that could have been used for someone that needed it as I saw a man struggling to get up the stairs one day. The employees there aren't very helpful and seems to us that they did not care. The sheets were disgusting and don't think they were washed at all so I had to go buy a few blankets so it felt cleaner. The sofa bed had fag burns in the sheet which we found horrible and the over all room could just been doing with a good clean. Would definitely not recommend this hotel !!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jordan21P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. It will be addressed with the relevant personnel and departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

I was really worried after reading reviews here but couldn't do anything as I had already paid. However I'm surprisingly happy with this hotel. It's just 3 minutes walk from Haymarket tram stop. We got off coming straight from airport. Literally took us only 18 minutes in total. Reception is polite and very friendly. My room was small but it was clean with all major accessories hairdryer, tv etc. Similarly small but clean toilet & shower. I would also mention that 2nd day we left room very late to go out even then room service tidy up for us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank SitaraArman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We're glad to read we were able to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

I stayed at this hotel one night and would not return. The room could use a good cleaning and I was woken up early in the morning by phone calls to the room phone (wake-up calls I had not ordered). The staff claimed that the calls came from guests in other rooms (which seems pretty unlikely) and hardly even apologized for the inconvenience. The location is good though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttoWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge your comments and will action them accordingly with the relevant personnel and departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed for four nights but we are not coming back. The staff was friendly and the location was great but the room wasn't clean. One of us is allergic to dust and had a hard time breathing in the room. There were coffee stains on the wall and big dust bunnies stuck to the wallpaper. The pillows was flat and not so comfortable and the bed was horrible. We spilled on the sheets but they weren't changed.

The rooms could use a re-painting and good cleaning. We would have given the hotel 2/5 if it werent for the staff and the location. You get what you pay for. If you are not planning lot of time in the room, it's an okay hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PiriesManager, Manager at Piries Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We acknowledge your comments regarding the room and will address this with our housekeeping department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Original Raj Hotel
The Original Raj Hotel
#144 of 151 in Edinburgh
277 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#147 of 151 in Edinburgh
419 reviews
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#97 of 151 in Edinburgh
936 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#69 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piries Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piries Hotel

Address: 4-8 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: $45 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piries Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Piries Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piries Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing