We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Twelve Picardy Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
198
107
31
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
107
31
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftloch shieltop floormaster suiterainforest showermassage chairsky tvloch earnboutique hotelyork place tram stoprose petals on the bedwet roommini barlarge bathon arrivalomni centrelovely receptionist
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location , friendly staff great restaurant and the rooms are massive , 10 of 10 cant wait for my next trip up to Edinburgh .The Room was very comfortable warm and spotless , only issue there weren’t enough tea & coffee and sugars had to phone reception and they were quick to replenish .Decided to eat in the Steak Restaurant and what a choice we made , the Chuckeye Steak , Wild boar and Kangaroo and the Fillet tail went down a treat all cooked to Perfection

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Loch Shiel room. We were pleasantly surprised at how large the bedroom and bathroom were! Lovely high ceilings and great facilities. A selection of dvds were available free of charge from reception. The TV had sky and was 3d compatible with 3d glasses provided. There was a massage system attached to the desk chair. A stocked mini bar (chargeable). Rose petals had been scattered on our bed on arrival. The bathroom had a sound system which is located next to the bed to play radio stations etc. Staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. Our room was cleaned well during our stay. A couple of bottles of water provided complimentary. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board in room.

The negatives
The only issue which stopped us giving 5 stars was the noise outside. Had we known there were major roadworks being completed (October 2017 for ten months) we might have reconsidered staying here. As well as this due to the location of the hotel (opposite a cinema with several restaurants and bars) there were many loud drunk people outside our hotel which could be heard throughout the early hours of the morning and did prevent a good nights sleep. This combined with the road works starting at half 6 in the morning did mean our sleep was affected.

Overall with all things considered we probably would return here if we were assured that there were no planned roadworks as the room itself was lovely.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellingcouple91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Just stayed at this hotel. Great location its about a five minute walk from the station. Plenty of places to eat and drink nearby. Staff were very helpful when we arrived. They let us leave our bags as our room wasnt ready
When it was they showed us to our room and offered to carry our bags. We stayed on the top floor which is a long way up when youve walked around the city all day. But when we got up there the room was lovely. Had a lovely view. The room is in need of some work though. In the toilet there was only one light the other one had been pushed up to leave a hole in the ceiling but continued to flash. In the bathroom the tiles on the floor moved as you walked on them which when they got wet from the shower made it worse to walk on. The bath tap leaked from where the water came out meaning the pressure of the water was low so took ages to fill up. There was a tv in the bathroom but hardly any of the freeview channels worked and neither did many of the radio channels. We also didnt know that behind the hotel there are building works going on. Had we known this we wouldnt have booked this hotel. They start early in a morning which is frustrating when you're having a break away from your little one.
It is a lovely hotel but I personally don't think its worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amyblobbyrobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twelve_Picardy_Place, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hi Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate any feedback guests have to offer as a way to improve.

I want to let you know that the floor of the room you stayed in has recently been re grouted and sealed and I have alerted our handyman to secure the light fitting.

I apologise for the street noise, unfortunately as we are a city centre hotel - on occasion there will be street works out with our control.

I do hope you are able to return to Edinburgh and Twelve Picardy Place.

Kind regards,

Samuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Spent valentines night here and was really pleased with the hotel, everything was lovely and the room (standard) was amazing, rose petals on the bed were a lovely touch, bed itself was really comfy with a built on tv. The bathroom (wet room) was perhaps the best part with a waterfall shower that i never wanted to get out of! Read some reviews beforehand that were concerned with the noise around the hotel in the evenings and although we did hear some music and noise that we presumed was from the next door restaurant, it in no way lessened the quality of our stay, if anything the faint music was quite pleasant! Also fab that we were able to leave our bags at the hotel for the day before our train home - thankyou for a lovely stay!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank imogenkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twelve_Picardy_Place, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Good afternoon.

Thank You for leaving us a great review.
I am delighted you chose to spend Valentines night with us and had a great.
As you mention we have our storage facility at Reception so guests can securely leave luggage after they check out for as long as they like.

Hopefully we can welcome you again here at Twelve Picardy Place.

Kind regards,

Samuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Booked a two night stay in Edinburgh at 12 Picardy place.

Beautiful hotel that brings the best out of an old townhouse with modern features. The room might have the squeakiest floors but the rest is fantastic.

Really close to shopping and some nice more local pubs as you navigate a few side streets.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twelve_Picardy_Place, Manager at Twelve Picardy Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Good afternoon Adrian,

Thank You for taking the time to leave us a review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and make the most of the central location.

Please contact us directly if you plan on staying again so we can arrange the best possible rate.

Kind regards,

Samuel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews