We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible Flat and incredible town....”
other travellers have booked this property
Edinburgh Castle - as seen from the sitting room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Edinburgh Castle - as seen from the sitting room
Sitting Room Sitting Room with Dining Table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Edinburgh Castle - as seen from the sitting room
Sitting Room
Sitting Room with Dining Table
View of Edinburgh Castle and hill as seen from inside the apartment, through sitting room windows.
King size bed in the master bedroom
The bedroom with king size bed.
Built in wardrobe in the bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
We have a comprehensive set of guide books.
Green Star shows proximity to Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Grassmarket, Princes Street Gardens
Edinburgh Farmers' Market is on your doorstep
External view of the Building with statue of Queen Victoria
Statue of Queen Victoria on the Roof
Castle Terrace Michelin restaurant is next door.
View of the fireworks from the apartment.
Edinburgh Castle Hill as seen from the Sitting Room windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pedalmeta...
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Flat and incredible town....”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived in Edinburgh and Kitty's directions that she sent prior to our arrival were "spot on". Kitty was traveling at the time & was unable to meet us, but she had an assistant greet us and show us to our flat. It was beautiful with an incredible view of the castle as advertised ! It was clean,well decorated, all necessary kitchen needs, including a dual washing and dryer machine. Everything was "as advertised" by this site. Not knowing the area, we came to realize what a great location we had at Terrace Castle! You are a very short, yet hilly climb to the castle, a 4-5 block walk to bus stops. It will cost you 1.5 Brit pounds to ride a bus to Waverely station or you can walk the 3/4 mile to the station. You are next door to one of Edinburgh's top rated restaurants, "Castle Terrace" and an excellent Italian restaurant as well. If you wish to cook, you have a grocery store 1 block away. You do have to walk 2-3 short flight of steps so be forewarned. I personally do not see that as a negative as you are there to walk and see the sites- if you can't handle those steps you won't be able to handle this beautiful city and all of it's treasures. I do have to mention how comfortable that bed is-wow! Thanks so much, Kitty, you came thru!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's cuteness and location
Liked least: It was all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely review! I am so glad you had an enjoyable stay. Please come again! Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higgos
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for a visit to Edinburgh”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed her for 5 nights ant the end of June. It is a very nice little apartment extremely well located. Minutes walk to Grassmarket, Edinburgh Castle, Royal Mile, Prince Street and others. About 10 minutes to Haymarket Station and 15 to Waverley station. We had a great time here - very comfortable apartment. In the immediate vicinity (less than 5 minutes walk) there are several nice pubs and restaurants, a supermarket, barbers, and specialist shops. Would happily recommend this to anyone staying in Edinburgh for a few days. It is near a bus route as well. One thing to be aware of - it is on the 3rd floor of a heritage building and there are no lifts. The stairs are not onerous, and the owner met us and helped carry our bags up on arrival.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is brilliant for an Edinburgh holiday
Liked least: The stairs, but we quickly got used to them
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyD195...
Boblingen, Germany
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The view of the castle was breath taking. Kitty was very informative of getting around Edinburgh and places to visit. The flat was very comfortable. It had everything that one would need. Each night I would relax and have the view of the castle. Location fantastic. Edinburgh is a walkable city. Kitty had everything one would need to spend a fun filled and relaxing weekend. Restaurants are within walking distance to the flat also. Tram from airport to flat is a five minute walk. Thanks for everything Kitty. I plan to return for more exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness of the flat. Quiet in the evening.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh, and thank you for your kind comments Mary. Look forward to seeing you again soon I hope. Best wishes, Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment and excellent location to explore Edinburgh.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Well appointed apartment and excellent base to explore Edinburgh. View of Castle spectacular from lounge window. Lovely welcome on arrival to ensure all our needs are met. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill S
1 review
“Perfect base”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Arrived early and was met at the apartment. Had everything required in a nice and clean apartment. Lovely views of the castle and in a perfect peaceful location within easy walking distance of the centre of edinburgh.
One minor niggle was the radiators turned up to max didn't produce much heat and it was particularly cold one of the nights.
Would highly recommend this apartment as a base to explore Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A stylish Scottish treat.”
Reviewed 27 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This little gem is just wonderful and our host, Kitty, was charming. I had booked this as a much needed and romantic break for my husband and I and we were not disappointed!!
The apartment is in a period building and is just lovely. Yes, you do have to climb some stairs, but that didn't phase us. Kitty has put her stamp on this place and has succeeded in creating an elegant, stylish and yet homely retreat. Everything you need is here and the location is fantastic!! I loved the special touches like warm robes and slippers and gorgeous tartan blankets to wrap up in while enjoying the impressive views of the wonderful Edinburgh castle from the lounge windows ... bliss.
We walked to and from the theatre to see 'Wicked', enjoyed the Christmas markets, had a lovely meal at Jamie's Italian (Jamie Oliver) on George Street. We also went to Roslin chapel on the bus and had the pleasure of an unexpected carol service in this beautiful building ... what a treat!! We spent 3 nights here and to be honest we almost didn't want to come home. Thank you Kitty, we will definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Dear Jacqui,
I was so happy to read this review, and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, as customer satisfaction is very important to me. I really hope that you will both be able to make a return trip to Edinburgh within the not too distant future.

All the best for 2015. Kitty
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin B
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view! Perfect location”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We just stayed at this lovely flat October 21-24. The views are amazing just beneath the castle, breakfast and tea every morning with the castle in the window. Very well stocked, Kitty met us on arrival, showed us around and gave great recommendations to local restaurants and pubs. The Bow Bar is great!!! Thanks Kitty!
Great location, very close to Royal Mile and Princess St Gardens. Highly recommend this flat, can't wait to come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing