We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castle Snug

The Castle Snug
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Castle Snug
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
The Castle Snug
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew B
Largs, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My partner,our 6 year boy and I absolutely loved our stay here. First class service from the owners who gave us extensive information before our arrival and even let us drop our bags into the apartment whilst it was cleaned so we didn't have to lug them around all day.

The apartment itself is gorgeous. It is small but ideal for a city break. Our 6 year old loved the charm of the bookcase bed. It is just off the royal mile so perfect for exploring the city.

Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enchanting property, perfect location”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were looking for somewhere unusual to stay in Edinburgh and we really found it with this place. The location is perfect, close to everything you need to see and do in Edinburgh but still feels tucked away from the crowds.

When we arrived (with Brian's brilliant directions) we were greeted with the fire already on and the property feeling cosy. Even with the thick stone walls, it still felt warm and homely.
The upstairs 'bedroom' is just perfect and overall the use of space in the property had been carefully thought out and used well; theer's even a bath, which we weren't expecting for something so compact. The kitchen has everything you could need if you wanted to eat in.

We stayed there for 3 nights and could happily have stayed longer.
We would highly recommend the Snug to couples wanting to escape and relax, or those that want to enjoy the bars/nightlife that Edinburgh has to offer. We made sure we did a bit of both!

Brian and Christine were really helpful from the moment we first enquired about renting the Snug, all the way through our stay - promptly answering any questions we had.

Cannot recommend this place enough!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahbt09...
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“magical”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed here for one night with family! What a treat! The kids were fascinated with the old world decor and the pull out bed was fab! Attention to detail was great, really cosy, great decor, spotlessly clean! The pint of milk and lovely Scottish biscuits a nice surprise! Have been raving about this wee place, great base for the city will most defo return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really!
Liked least: would have liked an extra pillow!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeen197...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite excellence.”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

So arrived here for a wee Edinburgh overnight anticipating something different. .yes we found it!..fell in love the minute we walked through the door. .so quaint in its loveliness,joy was felt!where do we start! (Bearing in mind im wrinting this with the help of 2 ten yr olds) easy to find with easy entry (if not brian n family at the end if the phone)on entry you are met with the most enchanting room,when I say room I mean room but my word what a room you get..from walking down the alley you think 'oh how could this be quiet it is just off the main street' we were met by some tourists on tour! But let me tell you,when you enter through ths door you are catapulted into your own wee world,totally amazing!..we left to go out for a meal but to tell you the truth we couldn't wait to get back to get into out onsies and chill out in our wee castle. .I could go on and on but id ruin it for you xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardJa...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely little apartment, great location”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The Castle Snug is only a few minutes walk from the castle itself and even though it's hidden away down a side street, is fairly easy to find with the directions provided by Brian, the apartment's owner. The locations makes it ideal to explore Edinburgh and nowhere is too far to walk.

The apartment itself is well appointed and perfectly suited to a short stay. It's very cosy and has a full kitchen complete with tea and coffee making facilities, it has a TV and the bed looks down over the rest of the apartment.

Brian is especially helpful and very friendly too, he is very responsive and genuinely wants his guests to enjoy their stay which gives the apartment a lovely, welcoming appeal setting it aside from other accommodation options in Edinburgh. Well recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brilliant location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenjen198...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, unique, cosy and a home from home!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Found this online, didn't know what to expect. Brian (owner) was incredibly helpful and friendly. We arrived quite early and were able to drop our luggage off ready for a wander around. The location was amazing just a two minute walk to the castle. It was clean, cosy and very welcoming. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an alternative to the same old hotels available in cities. It worked out cheaper to stay at Castle Snug rather than a hotel and it was a much better kind of accomadtion. Will be staying there again and again!!! Thank you Brian, fabulous place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerilynn...
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must stay place in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We just returned from our 3rd trip to Scotland and part of it included a stay in this wonderful flat in the heart of the Royal Mile. This little place has loads of character and was well appointed with everything you need and more. Very comfortable place to stay, and with a gret pub below and a small cafe outside everything you need is right there. This was a much better choice for our stay than a hotel or B&B - unless you really need someone to make your bed for you and cook your breakfast every morning. But seriously, who needs that when you can walk out the door and you are right in the middle of the Royal Mile?? I would seriously recommend this place to anyone! I hope to be able to stay there again someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the character
Liked least: It really needed a french press for proper coffee in the morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing