We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Beautiful gardens to relax in.
15 bedrooms are available for upto 40 guests
The huge dining table for large guest numbers.
A short walk away and you will find a water fall and 100's of acres of woods to explore!
The Bridal suite
The piano is for guests to play - if you can!
Beautiful winter holiday home, at the Edinburgh self catering house
relax at the Edinburgh self catering house
Almost all the rooms have ensuite facilities.
The meadow for the games
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
12 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Mansion House of Kirkhill is a brilliant place to stay. We visited as a large group of 22 people for a stag party and the place itself was way beyond anyone's expectations. The facilities are second to none, the building is stunning and for a large group looking to stay in top quaity accommodation close to Edinburgh, you can't go wrong.

I would highly recommend booking through Adventure Connections too - our advisor Justin went above and beyond the call of duty to cater for our every need and ensure that our stay was exactly what we wanted and that all prior arrangements were in place.

All in all a fantastic place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality and sheer size of the building
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Super Star! Thank you for your very kind words, we're all super pleased you and your guests had such a great time at the house - and you're right it's not far from Edinburgh at all. Thank you once again for using Adventure Connections for your stag weekend, and The Mansion House of Kirkhill for all the festivities!! Till next time....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grace R
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jen Hens party and Kirkhill”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and a group of 22 stayed at the manor house for my sisters hen do.

Gorgeous house with amazing facilities is order to facilitate all that we need for the weekend.

Big open spaces for us all to be together in and dinner areas in order to cater for us all.

hot tube was a great addition to finish the weekend off. All the bedrooms were perfect and up to a great standard.

Close to the centre but far enough away to make as much noise as we wanted.

Justin from adventure connections was a great help when coming to organise my trip.

And i would recommend ABC mini coach hire... for any taxis you may need knew were the house was, reliable and extremely helpful.

Great weekend and would definitely go again.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Fabulous review, thank you so much for your kind words, we're so pleased the hen weekend was such a great success - and thanks for noting that we're really close to Edinburgh city for a great night out! People might believe us now! Till next time....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DannyBuxt...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super location for our Stag party!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned home from a wonderful weekend staying at Kirkhill Mansion...

We used the house for 3 nights as the destination for a stag do - it was just what we wanted! House is great with plenty of room to relax in, plus the grounds are ideal for a big old bbq! Perfect location for stag do, make as much noise as you want and only 9 miles from centre of Edinburgh.

Dave the owner was super accommodating and very helpful with whatever request we had - and we all know what stag do's can be like!

Can't recommend enough - thanks again, we had a blast.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your high praise, and we're so pleased you had such a great time at the house! Cocktails were a great idea to get the party going!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyAll...
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb house which accommodated 10 families with ease.”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kirkhill Mansion house for 3 nights over New Year. The house is spacious and grand and suited our requirements as a group of friends with our young children. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are great for exploring. The kitchen is well equipped and allowed us to cater for our large group. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. We had a fantastic 3 days here and I would highly recommend it to other large groups.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we're delighted that you and the family had such a great New Year at the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsH2014
Preston, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for large group of young families”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

What a beautiful setting! We had a fantastic long weekend at this venue. Good sized rooms with a really homely atmosphere. we chose self catering and were happy to find a great big kitchen that served all 34 of us well. The bedrooms were clean and tidy with big comfy beds. It was easy to find and set within its own extensive grounds. Thank you for having us Kirkhill Mansion, we ll be back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you. It means so much to all the team at the house that you had a fabulous time! And we would love you to come back and stay next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma R
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous House in a great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great short break in Scotland for New Year staying at The Mansion House.

From the moment we were told to treat the house as our own...with a group of 37 including 18 kids that's exactly what we did!! Accommodation was perfect for our group, location great just 9 miles from City and 2 miles from nearest Spa (!!)

Rooms were great and communal areas perfect for what we needed..

Cannot wait to return for 2014!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“***Stag Weekend Extravaganza***”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Bank Holiday Weekend - August 2013.
- I organised my brothers stag for 26 of our pals and we stayed at Kirkhill just last weekend. I can only say it was absolutely fantastic!

It was Festival weekend and the house was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. A self catering manor house with games room, large lounge / chill out area and grounds overlooking the beautiful Scottish countryside. I found the house through Adventure connections (Justin) and whilst it does need a makeover it's still a fantastic base/property. We had a huge food and drink order and the guys at Kirkhill filled the fridges before we arrived, coaches were organised to take us into town (35 mins) and on the Saturday we did clay pigeon and highland games followed up by an amazing BBQ in the grounds of Kirkhill (beer can chicken and angus beef burgers).

We visited the local pub on the Sunday (SunInn) and then back into Edinburgh on the Sunday before flying back to London. Dave and the guys at Kirkhill were great and accommodated our every wish. I have been on close to 20 stags in recent years and I may be biased but it was well up there! An epic weekend and for a large stag I cant recommend it highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing