We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment in a great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Apartment block with the castle in the background
View of the castle from the apartment block
Festival fireworks on your doorstep!
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Lydia D
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week during the Edinburgh Festival and found everything within walking distance: Fringe venues, restaurants, pubs, supermarket, etc.
The flat itself is cosy, quiet and secure and made for an excellent stay!
Definitely highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gd32
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The apartment has everything mentioned in the ad and the owner Alexis made me feel welcome on arrival. She was also easy to correspond with prior to my check in - gave easy instructions and answered any questions I had. The apartment is clean and modern, within walking distance to many attractions and just down the street from the Grassmarket area where there are lots of places to eat/drink are. As a solo traveller, I felt safe. Was a quiet area and had a great view of the castle. Would definitely stay here again when in Edinburgh

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic Apartment, perfect location!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This beautifully furnished apartment not only offered style but with some lovely homely touches. It's location, was perfect, just steps from The Grassmarket, next to some lovely bars and restaurants.
Alexis, the owner, met us, and made us feel welcome straight away. She had left us a lovely welcome pack of food and drink plus an extra bottle of bubbly to celebrate our wedding!
Would definately recommend to anybody wanting to explore the wonderful city of Edinburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
899Meg37
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just the best location, great close up view of castle. Close to the centre and royal mile, handy for shops and cafés a good place across the road with friendly owners excellent coffee and breakfast. It was a wet day when we arrived but Alexis was very welcoming and provided us with some groceries to get us started. The flat is very comfortable with all mod cons for an enjoyable stay,we were there for eight nights and slept well each night the flat helped us to discover the beauty of Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine...
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this cute place”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a few days at Alexis' apt. The place was perfect and was a cozy place to stay. It is central to many of the tourist sites ( just 1 block from Grassmarket) including a lot of the restaurants The kitchen is fully stocked, bed was soft and comfortable, and apt was quiet and well decorated. Just of note, the windows face the outside walkway, but there really wasn't many people that walked past since it is at the end of the hall.

Good wifi internet connection and while we didn't use the TV, it seemed to have a lot of channels. Alexis was awesome, met us when we checked in, and had left us with crackers, cookies, milk, coffee and tea as a welcome gift which we really appreciated. Public transport and grocery story near by.

Definitely recommend for people to stay here!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BACNAC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband found this apartment & booked it for our short 3 night stop over & he found an absolute gem. Small & perfectly formed it was a true treat. The location is brilliant being a short stroll into the city centre but far enough away to find peace & quiet. We were in Edinburgh for the marathon & wanted to relax pre & post event which we were able to do. The apartment is comfy, warm and has everything needed if you want to be self sufficient or indeed if you want to eat out there are a raft of restaurants on the doorstep. One final but very important mention, the apartment was spotlessly clean which indeed made staying here so much more enjoyable. I can't think of anything to make this apartment better than it already is.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2014
What a wonderful review, thank you so much.
You're welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCGardner...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful apartment, in a perfect location.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Easter weekend and it was fantastic. The apartment is decorated so beautifully, I wanted to know where everything was from! Such attention to detail and the shower was particularly nice. The apartment isn't huge so it helps if you're tidy but it has definitely everything you need. We stayed in one night to cook and everything worked well, nice modern kitchen with induction hob and plenty of pans and utensils.

The location is so perfect, directly in between the castle and the Royal Mile (literally a 5 min walk up the hill) and in the other direction, Princes Street and Grassmarket.

Although we didn't meet Alexis, she was extremely helpful over text and email and left us a welcome pack with essentials for the weekend :)

We are so happy we found this hidden gem and will definitely be returning. Honestly can't think of any improvements or anything negative about this place. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: interior design and location
Liked least: only thing I can think of is the bed moved away from the wall
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing