We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Apartment block with the castle in the background
View of the castle from the apartment block
Festival fireworks on your doorstep!
Floorplan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Samuel I
1 review
“Amazing Apartment”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My girlfriend and myself stayed in this apartment for four nights in November. The location is perfect, quiet and seconds away from some great restaurants and bars around Grassmarkets and Bow St.

The apartment is tucked away on a quiet street, and is in a gated building so you feel completely safe. It is professionally decorated (I believe Alexis is an interior designer) and has wifi access and a lovely kitchen, which came in handy one evening after our bank balances took a beating from all the good food and beer available nearby.

There is a short walk in to town, which passes the tourist attractions like the castle, the royal mile and the art galleries, as well as a lot of nice independent cafes, bars, vintage shops and bakeries. The walk is lovely and you get to take in all the fantastic Edinburgh architecture.

Alexis was extremely accommodating and helpful. The apartment was much better than any of the hotels we looked at, especially considering how reasonably it was priced. I would recommend the apartment to anyone looking to stay in Edinburgh, and we will definitely stay there, or in one of Alexis' other properties, when we visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you so much ladies! I'm delighted you had fun even if your bank account took a bit of a hit! It would be lovely to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Superb!”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Loved the apartment has everything you need and very nicely decorated! It was easy to get to from train station and nicely placed near the grassmarket. Alexis met us at the apartment was very helpful and answered questions we had. All in all had a very good weekend in edinburgh couldn't advise you more to book here if you thinking of visiting edinburgh you won't be disappointed!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thanks so much guys. So pleased you had fun!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterunne...
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great flat, great location”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Described as BIJOU and it is, very Bijou. That said it has absolutely everything you need for a great visit to Edinburgh.A genuinely friendly welcome from the owner who provided bread, tea, coffee, milk etc. when meeting us on arrival. This apartment is all about location, you can walk to absolutely everywhere of interest with no problems and you are just yards from many pubs and restaurants. Places like this are why I choose not to stay in hotels unless I have to. Must also mention the fab cocktail bar right opposite , what more could you want?

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thanks so much for the great review and a wee plug for the Dragonfly Cocktail Bar, one of my favorite spots! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you back again next time your visiting Edinburgh. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75Dee
Jasper National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stylish, fun, safe and beautifully located.”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this apartment from Alexis for my last 3 days in Scotland. As a woman travelling solo, I wanted to make sure that I was in a safe location, but I also wanted to make sure that I was in the heart of Edinburgh. Check on both counts! But even better - the place is right in the Grassmarket, with a nice cocktail bar across the street (the Dragonfly, which I highly recommend) a great little coffee shop and a grocery store up the street. I was able to shop in the Grassmarket and drop my bags off so that I didn't have to pack them around all day. I was also able to go back and change when the weather turned, so it was nice not to have to pack and umbrella and raincoat around. In the evening, when I wanted to go for a drink, the pubs and bars are nearby and you don't have to worry about navigating your way home in the dark, or through scary neighbourhoods. Finally - I was looking for a place that had some soul, and Alexis delivered. I highly recommend this place and will book it again my next time in Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
What a lovely review! It was so fab to meet you and hear of your highland adventures! I'm glad our little flat was just what you wanted, come back anytime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia D
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week during the Edinburgh Festival and found everything within walking distance: Fringe venues, restaurants, pubs, supermarket, etc.
The flat itself is cosy, quiet and secure and made for an excellent stay!
Definitely highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gd32
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The apartment has everything mentioned in the ad and the owner Alexis made me feel welcome on arrival. She was also easy to correspond with prior to my check in - gave easy instructions and answered any questions I had. The apartment is clean and modern, within walking distance to many attractions and just down the street from the Grassmarket area where there are lots of places to eat/drink are. As a solo traveller, I felt safe. Was a quiet area and had a great view of the castle. Would definitely stay here again when in Edinburgh

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic Apartment, perfect location!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This beautifully furnished apartment not only offered style but with some lovely homely touches. It's location, was perfect, just steps from The Grassmarket, next to some lovely bars and restaurants.
Alexis, the owner, met us, and made us feel welcome straight away. She had left us a lovely welcome pack of food and drink plus an extra bottle of bubbly to celebrate our wedding!
Would definately recommend to anybody wanting to explore the wonderful city of Edinburgh!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing