We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An honest hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Ranked #99 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An honest hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed from February 12 through the 15th. I was apprehensive in the begging reading the reviews ,especially the negative ones. I will focus on them heating,the days we stayed were very mild, the heating devise was not not the one to be expected epsecially for a place like Edinburgh, and that has to be addressed by any available means. The room was warm enough but as i said the days were very mild no rain no snow no strong winds temeperature around 9 degrees. Breakfast was all right we had no complaints , just because there were certain thing missing does not constitute a major default ,rather busy all days but the people working there did their best with a BIG SMILE in their face ready to help. Personnel ,here let me disagrre with everyone who thinks that the people were unpolite,. to the contrary very friendly,very helpfull,very proffecional, and their smile was a genuine one. Cleaning that leaves sometnig to be desired , we did find peaces of hair on the towels the very first day we checked in and even though our towels were changed everyday I am still wondering how their cleaning company managed for the towels to appear used, that will be a great mystery. Location very good, As i SAID AN HONEST HOTEL what you pay you get PLUS A BIG SMILE and good people. the pictures you see on the hotel sight it is what you will find no photoshop no tamperring or something else. Wifi available at your request immediatelly.I would stay again , and i do recomend the hotel for someone who ,is not on a limited budget, but for all who do use a hotel for a good nights rest, after a long day in the city. A good hotel all and all no major faults, shortcomings are overcomed by your good will and by the good people who work there. once again i do recomend the hotel
Across the street there is a pub ,dont recall the name, it is a-beam the hotel next to the church, do take time to visit it good drinks friendly people nice atmosphere. If ,and sometime all of us should visit the city,a beautifull place to visit a lot of historic places. A place that should visit and dine is the WITCERY, if i spell the name correct. An excellent choise of dinning do take the set menu of 3 dishes rather economic choise, since it is rather expensive, but i dont think they would comprise on their quality, regardless of your choise. Do shopping around before you byu something. AN overcoat my wife fancied ,was priced at 100 english pounds on a shop in the PRINCE MALL ,by the bridge were the hip on-off busses start their journey, was found for 70 pounds in the shops that are located on the pedestrians only road that leads to the castle. Same goes for your all other shopping. If you byu the hip on-off buss if you stay more that 3 days it is a good idea to byu the 48 hour trip that will allow you the use of all three different route busses.do get off at all stops you will be amazed about the city. all and all a great city to visit and a very good choise of hotel if you visit the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spyridon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Loner_GR

Thank you for your Kind comments during your stay at the Holiday inn express Edinburgh City Centre.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and that you had a fantastic stay. I will pass on your comments to the team on reception as you said honest and happy staff.

Our hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s New Town within a historic Georgian Style listed building. Surrounded by both nightlife and top tourist attraction sites makes this area of town lively both day and night.

Once again thank you for your kind review and positive comments and I hope to see you return to Edinburgh in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Catherine

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Picardy Place
Opposite Playhouse Theatre / Omni Centre
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT
Scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    883
    374
    91
    53
See reviews for
377
772
105
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Visited Edinburgh for my birthday with my wife & daughter & stayed in
this hotel. Very clean, modern, great location,2 mins to omni centre
& playhouse,5 mins to princess street! Staff very friendly & organised.
Next morning we had breakfast & that too was excellent. Managed to get
parked at the hotel, limited parking of about 12 spaces. Overall enjoyable
experience & will certainly stay again when visiting the city. Noise from
traffic after 6.30am, though this did not spoil our stay!!

Room Tip: room 323 with views of playhouse & main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevdunn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear KevDunn2011

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh City Centre.

Our hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s New Town within a historic Georgian Style listed building. Surrounded by both nightlife and top tourist attraction sites makes this area of town lively. I am was sorry to read that you were disturbed by the traffic on Leith street our windows are double glazed to keep out the street noises.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team here to be friendly and helpful. We are constantly looking at new ways to improve our service; your constructive feedback regarding our breakfast room is appreciated.

We offer a free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express allowing our guests to come for breakfast at a time of their choosing it can become a busy area for a short period of time.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope to see you return to Edinburgh in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Catherine

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Picardy Place
Opposite Playhouse Theatre / Omni Centre
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT
Scotland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Six of us stayed here during a weekend shopping trip. all our rooms were warm and clean, the staff were very helpful the location was fab for shopping being just a couple of minutes from princes street. We went to a show at the Playhouse and this hotel was so convenient being literally just across the road. One of the evenings we spent in the bar, and although one group of other guests were rude, complaining when we had to squeeze past their chairs to go to and from the bar, we enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms I've seen were equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loislaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Loislaith,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the location, you are correct that we are just opposite the Playhouse Theatre making us ideal for any guests intending to see a show.

I am sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by other guests, however I am pleased to hear that you did not let this affect your stay and still had an enjoyable time.

Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was quite impressed with this hotel, me and my partner stayed for 1 night to see a show. I found this hotel clean, comfortable and good value for money for a 3 star hotel. For what we needed it was great somewhere clean and handy to the venue. Walking distance to everything but very quite.
Breakfast was the usual but very nice.
Beds are soft so those who like a firmer bed may not like this (my partner)

Room Tip: We choose a smoking room which was on the 6th floor and could see the city over the roof tops and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Michelle,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We very much appreciate your kind comments, we take pride in our hotel and I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope we can welcome you back on a future travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Alexander Cameron.
Deputy General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holycross Tipperary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed in the Holiday inn Express on leith walk, for 2 nights. The room was very quiet even though it was in the basement near the car park. We checked in a 8.40am and were delighted that we could have our room straight away, considering we had travelled through the night on the first flight out from Dublin that morning, we could drop our bags and go for breakfast and we were not charged for an extra day. Breakfast was basic, but nice, eggs, sausage and beans, along with the usual cereal, yoghurts etc, would be nice to have a bit of bacon, but generally fine.Very central for shopping John Lewis and St James shopping centre accross the road, Playhouse theatre also accross the road along with 2 lovely pubs, the Conan Doyle, and the Theatre Bar (great haggis in filo pastry there). The castle is a 20 minute walk and 10 minutes to the royal mile. Royal yacht brittania is a must to visit, great tour and reasonable at £11 per adult which included the headset to do your own tour, unlike the castle which was £ 14.50 per adult and extra for headsets! Definitly book a table at the Witchery by the Castle, although very expensive, its a real treat for a special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Holiday Gang,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it’s great to hear such kind and positive comments regarding your stay and your time in Edinburgh, you have provided great feedback not only for us, but also our guests visiting the city for the first time.

I agree with your comments regarding the Witchery, it really is a lovely restaurant and defiantly worth a visit.

Once again, thank you and I do hope we can welcome you to our hotel on a future travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

although this is a great location I would not choose to return, other hotels with just as good location. Breakfast was poor and self service load and chaotic (more like student food hall), the emphasis on it being complimentary is no excuse.would rather pay for decent breakfast!?
Room was clean but the heavy doors to each room meant that EVERY time a guest entered/left a room there was an almighty bang which actually made the bed shake.Sound proofing between rooms and windows also poor and although we were at the back of the hotel I could here traffic all night (car park and access road).Could hear other guests snoring/talking. Just spent 2 nights in Glasgow at the premier inn NEXT TO AIRPORT and slept great! Complained to reception but was a waste of time - rude and indifferent staff who really couldn't care less.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruichladdichmalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, we appreciate all feedback given as this enables us to constantly review and make improvements where needed.

Unfortunately breakfast can get busy at peak times, we do take pride in our breakfast area and feel we offer a great selection, albeit complimentary, you will find this does not affect the quality, I am however saddened to hear you were unhappy with it and would rather dine elsewhere.

I was surprised to hear you found our staff to be rude and indifferent as this is something we receive great feedback on, I apologize if you felt on this occasion this was not the case.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed here with wife and two kids. Can not fault hotel. Brilliant value for 3 nights with breakfast.253 euro for three nights b&b for 4 people is unbelievable value. Free wifi. Great location. Will stay again if in town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing