We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$264
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$511
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$192
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$172
US$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,182)
Filter reviews
2,183 results
Traveller rating
586
976
437
119
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
976
437
119
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomni centreplayhouse theatregreat locationpicardy placehi expressjohn lewisfree breakfastthe breakfast areahot itemsthe sofa bedcity centreroyal miletram linetesco expressyork placeprinces streetquiet room
Filter
Updating list...
1,459 - 1,464 of 2,183 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Visited Edinburgh for my birthday with my wife & daughter & stayed in
this hotel. Very clean, modern, great location,2 mins to omni centre
& playhouse,5 mins to princess street! Staff very friendly & organised.
Next morning we had breakfast & that too was excellent. Managed to get
parked at the hotel, limited parking of about 12 spaces. Overall enjoyable
experience & will certainly stay again when visiting the city. Noise from
traffic after 6.30am, though this did not spoil our stay!!

Room Tip: room 323 with views of playhouse & main road.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevdunn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear KevDunn2011

Thank you for taking the time to write up a review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express – Edinburgh City Centre.

Our hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s New Town within a historic Georgian Style listed building. Surrounded by both nightlife and top tourist attraction sites makes this area of town lively. I am was sorry to read that you were disturbed by the traffic on Leith street our windows are double glazed to keep out the street noises.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team here to be friendly and helpful. We are constantly looking at new ways to improve our service; your constructive feedback regarding our breakfast room is appreciated.

We offer a free breakfast at Holiday Inn Express allowing our guests to come for breakfast at a time of their choosing it can become a busy area for a short period of time.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope to see you return to Edinburgh in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Catherine

Catherine Fraser
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Picardy Place
Opposite Playhouse Theatre / Omni Centre
Edinburgh
EH1 3JT
Scotland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Six of us stayed here during a weekend shopping trip. all our rooms were warm and clean, the staff were very helpful the location was fab for shopping being just a couple of minutes from princes street. We went to a show at the Playhouse and this hotel was so convenient being literally just across the road. One of the evenings we spent in the bar, and although one group of other guests were rude, complaining when we had to squeeze past their chairs to go to and from the bar, we enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms I've seen were equally as good.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loislaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Loislaith,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding the staff and the location, you are correct that we are just opposite the Playhouse Theatre making us ideal for any guests intending to see a show.

I am sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by other guests, however I am pleased to hear that you did not let this affect your stay and still had an enjoyable time.

Many thanks for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was quite impressed with this hotel, me and my partner stayed for 1 night to see a show. I found this hotel clean, comfortable and good value for money for a 3 star hotel. For what we needed it was great somewhere clean and handy to the venue. Walking distance to everything but very quite.
Breakfast was the usual but very nice.
Beds are soft so those who like a firmer bed may not like this (my partner)

Room Tip: We choose a smoking room which was on the 6th floor and could see the city over the roof tops and could see Calton Hill.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Michelle,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We very much appreciate your kind comments, we take pride in our hotel and I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope we can welcome you back on a future travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Alexander Cameron.
Deputy General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed in the Holiday inn Express on leith walk, for 2 nights. The room was very quiet even though it was in the basement near the car park. We checked in a 8.40am and were delighted that we could have our room straight away, considering we had travelled through the night on the first flight out from Dublin that morning, we could drop our bags and go for breakfast and we were not charged for an extra day. Breakfast was basic, but nice, eggs, sausage and beans, along with the usual cereal, yoghurts etc, would be nice to have a bit of bacon, but generally fine.Very central for shopping John Lewis and St James shopping centre accross the road, Playhouse theatre also accross the road along with 2 lovely pubs, the Conan Doyle, and the Theatre Bar (great haggis in filo pastry there). The castle is a 20 minute walk and 10 minutes to the royal mile. Royal yacht brittania is a must to visit, great tour and reasonable at £11 per adult which included the headset to do your own tour, unlike the castle which was £ 14.50 per adult and extra for headsets! Definitly book a table at the Witchery by the Castle, although very expensive, its a real treat for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaygang8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Holiday Gang,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it’s great to hear such kind and positive comments regarding your stay and your time in Edinburgh, you have provided great feedback not only for us, but also our guests visiting the city for the first time.

I agree with your comments regarding the Witchery, it really is a lovely restaurant and defiantly worth a visit.

Once again, thank you and I do hope we can welcome you to our hotel on a future travel occasion.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

although this is a great location I would not choose to return, other hotels with just as good location. Breakfast was poor and self service load and chaotic (more like student food hall), the emphasis on it being complimentary is no excuse.would rather pay for decent breakfast!?
Room was clean but the heavy doors to each room meant that EVERY time a guest entered/left a room there was an almighty bang which actually made the bed shake.Sound proofing between rooms and windows also poor and although we were at the back of the hotel I could here traffic all night (car park and access road).Could hear other guests snoring/talking. Just spent 2 nights in Glasgow at the premier inn NEXT TO AIRPORT and slept great! Complained to reception but was a waste of time - rude and indifferent staff who really couldn't care less.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruichladdichmalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay, we appreciate all feedback given as this enables us to constantly review and make improvements where needed.

Unfortunately breakfast can get busy at peak times, we do take pride in our breakfast area and feel we offer a great selection, albeit complimentary, you will find this does not affect the quality, I am however saddened to hear you were unhappy with it and would rather dine elsewhere.

I was surprised to hear you found our staff to be rude and indifferent as this is something we receive great feedback on, I apologize if you felt on this occasion this was not the case.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Gemma Vincent.
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews