We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Fraoch House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraoch House
Ranked #9 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in Fraoch House for one night - and it was a very good stay. The host was very welcoming with tea and cakes when we arrived, the place was clean and well presented. The decor was nicely finished, and the bedroom was very comfy.

We walked into central Edinburgh (via a restaurant recommended by our host) in about 15 minutes, so it's a decent distance - parking on the street outside was fine.

The place was nice and quiet (even though it was full), and breakfast was very good the next morning - entirely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room on the first floor at the back - it was quiet and very nicely set out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't have been more impressed.

It really is more of a boutique b&b.

* Rooms were big, modern and clean with nice little touches like tunnocks treats and drumstick lollies

* The owner was really friendly and helpful

* Breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice from fresh fruit to a full breakfast

* Location wise, its a 20 minute fast walk into the centre but a taxi was only £5

* We even got back late one night after a wedding to find chocolate treats on the side for us

I would definitely recommend staying here as long as you don't mind being a bit further out.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarinaBambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at Fraoch as part of our honeymoon week. Great choice! Lovely welcome from Gareth who was so friendly and helpful (not to mention the cuppa and Tunnocks Caramel Wafer!). We were shown to room 9 which was in an extension at the back of the house. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished. Fab bed which was really comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was amazing. Great choice of cereal, toast, fresh fruit etc, and excellent cooked breakfast. Also on the menu was smoked salmon, bagels and cream cheese. Serving was immense! We cannot fault this b and b. Everything was perfect. We would definately return and recommend to anyone visiting Edinburgh. Thankyou to Gareth and also to Graham who is respomsible for the yummy breakfast!

Room Tip: Room 9 is lovely. Very quiet and patio doors onto garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pink41fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was recommended this by a colleague and everything exceeded expectations. Booking was easy, the room was a nice size, well furnished with an excellent en suite. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and Gareth was happy to accommodate the fact that I am vegan (getting in soya milk for my breakfast)

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becsbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was my first trip to Edinburgh , and I had come with a friend from New York. It was a lovely welcome, and gave us tea, coffee and biscuits and held our bags as we had arrived early. Loads of information from the lovely staff. Rooms are wonderfully decorated and spotlessly clean.Breakfast was superb, and again a lovely welcome from Graham and the staff. Kept our bags till we returned from a lovely day out and our trip back. Just a ten minute walk from the city centre. A wonderful warm stay. I would thoroughly recommend Froach House for anyone thinking of of a stay in the lovely Edinburgh !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefdave20032003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Stayed here for one night last weekend.All I can say was i wish it had been for longer.

We arrived and were met by Garet,made us tea and chatted to us,took our bags to our room and explained about keys and times for breakfast etc.

Our room was lovely,spotless with patio doors on to the garden.The bathroom wouldnt be out of place in a 5 * hotel.Plenty toiletries and towels. Tea and coffee making facilities.

Slept well and breakfast was well cooked,hot and plentiful.

I will never stay at a hotel in Edinburgh when i could stay here.
Thanks Gareth-hope it won't be too long until I return.

Lynn Wilson

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newh0riz0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Visiting Edinbrugh for the first time I've decided to book this lovely B&B right outside of the city centre. Gareth and his team are a great bunch and I had a great time chatting with them, receiving some awesome reccomendations you usually don't find in a city guide and generally enjoying my time with them. I had a medium sized room on the first floor and an accompanying bath room, both of which were perfectly clean and were furnished nicely as well. The breakfast options are better than most hotels I've previously stayed, the team caters to your needs and you've got an awesome range of possible options to start your day, no matter if you just like to begin your day with some berries and yoghurt or if you want to go all out with a Scottish breakfast.
There's even a sizable collection of DVDs to choose from, which can be watched and returned at any time and with bus stops right outside the B&B you're in the city centre in no time as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pazcal83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,028 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 394 in Edinburgh
532 reviews
Barony House
#2 of 394 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
727 reviews
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch House

Address: 66 Pilrig St., Edinburgh EH6 5AS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $100 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fraoch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch House Hotel Edinburgh
Fraoch House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing