We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like going home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Ranked #14 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Like going home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed everyone. The room was huge, the bed was massive and very comfortable. Coffee, tea, water and a treat is left for you each night. The shower was great and clean. The breakfast is second to none, my husband is still talking about it! We had a hire car and found parking in the street every night bar one, but in the very next street we got a park. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor room #3 it was huge and quiet with a view to the back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
When Guests stay for Five nights they certainly will get a good feel for Edinburgh and our Wee Hotel and it is indeed a pleasure for us as we can get to know people a bit more, of course it does leave chance to sometimes make things go wrong, we are delighted that this reviewer found us a great place to stay, and great to know that they felt like it was just like Home.

Maxx
..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    245
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
132
448
100
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I couldnt have chosen a better hotel to stay at Edinbourgh. Great place, friendly hosts, nice room with mountain views, very clean, good amenities, tasty breakfast. Its about 25 min walk to the centre village, or a 8 min bus ride, its a quiet neighborhood, no noise at all from the streets.
I very recommend Ceilidh-Donia!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinicius V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Wow, this reviewer gets everything so succinctly put in such a few words, thank you for a great review, and I will make sure the Mountain is still here for you should you come back again..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is gorgeously furnished, and the single room I had made me jump with joy! It was a spacious loft room, with a equally comfy en suite toilet. It was more than large enough for one person! The room was well stocked with tea and cookies, plus the heated towel racks are a great bonus.

The operator is are all very friendly, always made me feel welcome.


I was surprised when I first took a cab to the hotel that it was some minutes away from the train station. But the operator soon shown me several easy public transport routes to the city center, so the hotel is still quite well connected. And the location is also a great bonus, as it offered me a very peaceful night's sleep, plus a great place for a early morning jog.

Definitely hope to return.

Room Tip: Get the loft room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryT228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
It is terrific when a Traveller thinks that we and our Hotel helped them to enjoy their Trip to Edinburgh and Scotland, Edinburgh and Indeed Scotland on a World Scale are not very big but they can take you a Lifetime to explore.

Yes indeed as this reviewer says we are not City Center proper but we are very well connected to the City Center by Buses which are just 2 mins walk away, this Bus service is continually voted the UK's best Bus system, the Hotel is just at the edge of the City Center and is easily walked in 15 – 20 minutes to the Heart of The Edinburgh Festivals and its main attractions during the month of August which are now based mainly around our University and its environs..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our home-away-from-home in Edinburgh. Ceilidh-Donia meets the high standards and comfort of a hotel and has the coziness and 'feeling home' of the best B&B's. Highly recommendable ! Thanks for the hospitality Max (writes fabulous poems, too), Annette and team, we will return here on our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKEDE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
A Home away from Home, what a lovely comment from this reviewer and also very glad he liked my Poems, The Hotel ceilidh-Donia actualy means the Place for Friends to Gather and I hope that we can achieve that feeling for all Guests who come to my Beatiful City Edinburgh and Scotland.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The hotel isn't that difficult to find if using the local bus system. My stay was very comfortable and homey. Breakfast was great. Room wasn't too small nor was it too big. Ceilings were high and felt nice. Bathroom was adequate, enough space to do the cleaning ritual. Towel warmer was nice. Maxx and Annette are splendid owners. My wife and I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: No elevator/lift for those having difficulty with stairs, but there is/are rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyeheartjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
There is no better compliment than when a new Guest says that they will come back and stay with us and this Guest has made my day a lot brighter than the weather is outside, the last three years has seen the Hotel Trade and I suppose all Business adapting to the Internet review sites, we in the Hotel Ceilidh-Donia appreciate Guests views after they have left although it was hard to get used to in the beginning.

I feel even more connected to Travellers who leave reviews when they have so many choices of destination in this wonderful World to choose from, we really do read all reviews and answer them and take on board all comments and very glad to know that they will return to us in the future..

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel because of a) the high rating and good reviews and b) the location (away from the buzz of the centre but easy walking distance and good bus links).
During booking I requested a quiet room on the top floor, away from stairs. On arrival, I was delighted to be given what I asked for, so great start. We stayed 3 nights.
The room (Room 12) was very comfortable and clean and had a great view to Arthur's Seat. The en-suite was small but perfectly adequate.
Breakfast was delicious each morning with friendly service and a great variety of freshly cooked options plus cereals, fruit, toast etc. I loved the banana bread and shortbread ;)
It was very helpful to have free access to the internet in the reception area as we don't travel with laptops, iphones etc. The hotel also supplies a great wee map with useful info on buses, sights, nearby restaurants etc.
The only reason I can't award 10/10 is sleep quality. I had no problems getting to sleep at night but I was awake early each morning due to noise from the showers and extractor fans in nearby rooms. Infact on one morning this began at 5.30am! There appeared to be noise from the attic pipes above us too, which could sound really loud at times (almost like a really loud hoover!)
However, I feel that overall, the many positives outweigh this small negative and I do appreciate that some noise must be expected when residents are getting up at different times.
I would definitely stay here again so I suppose that speaks for itself!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shells99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was a great place to stay for a quick weekend. The breakfast is fantastic and Annette is very helpful. She gave us directions to sight-see and restaurant recommendations - our favorite was the Salisbury Arms (wonderful lunches and dinners). The bathroom in the room that we had was a little too small for our liking, but we managed, and the rest of the room was great. We really enjoyed our stay and would go back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkskulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarriorPoet55, Owner at Hotel Ceilidh-Donia, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Aha Annette and Janet’s Breakfast is hitting the spot again, they really do take pride in all breakies that they serve and soon we will offer our Guests a petite all day Continental Breakfast for those Guests who want a long stay in bed while on a Holiday.

When have been continually renovating this Old Hotel for 13 years now and we know that what was an OK bathroom in 1999 size wise is no longer good enough so we have a rolling programme to enlarge where possible all our bathrooms

We have just carried out a full refurbishment of one of our Rooms and taken away an adjoining small bedroom enabling us to make this new bathroom light and airy, we intend to make another 4 bathrooms larger by October this year and in so doing make our Guests stay more enjoyable.

Maxx..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ceilidh-Donia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ceilidh-Donia

Property: Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Address: 14 - 16 Marchhall Crescent, Edinburgh EH16 5HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#8 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#21 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ceilidh-Donia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia, Edinburgh. Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh offers great value three star accommodation when visiting Edinburgh, the historic capital city of Scotland. Max and Annette Preston, together with their children Hayley and Struan, invite you to enjoy your holiday, City break or business trip in Edinburgh at the Hotel Ceilidh-donia with full facility accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ceilidh-Donia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceilidh Donia Hotel Edinburgh
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing