We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for after-work retail therapy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Ranked #25 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for after-work retail therapy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This Premier Inn is opposite the massive Fort Kinnaird retail park, with large branches of high street stores. The Inn itself is on a main road but well-double glazed so noise was not an issue.

There is a restaurant attached, with a good range of food, and I also ate at an Indian in nearby Portobello.

The Inn is close to the A1 and A720 Edinburgh bypass so is a great location for those travelling to Edinburgh or through.

My favourite thing about staying here is being able to go shopping after a day at work/long drive to Scotland!

Room Tip: There is a lift to rooms on the first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) for your great review of our hotel, your feedback is crucial in ensuring we at the Premier Inn can deliver the best experience for our guests.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found the time to do some shopping at Fort Kinnaird. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    159
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
193
191
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Usual good standard of accommodation provided by Premier Inn, always consistant and you know what you are getting for the price. The one let down particularly north of the border in Scotland is the quality of the associated restaurants particularly those run by Belhaven, this venue was no exeption. An efficient an friendly service provided by PI marred by very poor quality restaurant.

I have stayed in PI's throughout the UK and those in England and Wales offer a far superior restaurant service to that in Scotland. Tip, if staying in a Scottish PI do not allow the restaurant to spoil your stay. Do not take the chance, eat out where you can and avoid a nasty surprise.

Some may find this odd coming from a Scot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jimsdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that our team at the hotel ensured that you were well looked after. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant, this is not a Whitbread run establishment however, we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My parnter and i stayed at the premier inn for a short break to get away from work and life etc. we chose premier inn due to the price and expected the basic features of a budget hotel, however the bed was huge and extremely comfortable the room was a very good size with a good view, i didnt see any other rooms so i am unsure if we got lucky or if they are all the same. the location of this hotel is perfect if you are driving, its just off the a1 and close to many things. the staff were very friendly and helpfull and as we always need extra pillows it wasnt a problem which is has been in other hotels. the shower was powerful and hot the bathroom a good size and very clean. the restaurant was lovely and the food even better, definately recommend the cooked breakfast, Everything about this hotel was better than we expected and if we stay in edinburgh again it will be here

Room Tip: We stayed in room 37.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry18589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you from everyone at Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) for your great review of our hotel!

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mikey Dobosz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at The Premier Inn for one night while visiting relatives in Edinburgh. It is a short, and easy ride back into the city centre form here.
We had booked a Family Room for 2 adults and 2 children and we were pleasantly surprised to find our room had a queen-size bed and two single beds (rather than the standard two doubles you usually encounter in a family room).
The room had all the things we needed including lots of towels and a TV with plenty of free view channels. You can also get 30 mins of free wifi.
The service at reception was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chez_raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your great review of our hotel!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Excellent service and good value for money if you can take advantage of the regular promotions.
The 'Good Night Gurantee' is applied in practice although we had no reason to complain.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor. This avoids noise from floor above. Rooms facing front are away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you are looking for good value for money accomodation close to Edinburgh, with a nice bar/restaurant attached, then this it it! The Cuddy Brae is the pub attached and it serves a great variety of good quality food. Not your typiecal "pub grub" - it's much better than that!
The only drawback is that there is a railway running at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't have room that backs on to the railway line!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHoward_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you enjoyed the food in the Cuddie Brae, I will ensure your comments are passed on to them.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

If you are visiting Edinburgh and are on a budget, this is an excellent option. We stayed five nights. The hotel is like an Econolodge--plain but a good place to stay. It is about a half hour from the center of the city and there is excellent bus and train service adjacent to the hotel. You can get a bus about every 20 minutes throughout the day. There is a restaurant next to the facility that is okay but not special. The hotel does not offer free wi-fi in the rooms but it is available in the restaurant. The service personnel were very helpful to us while we were there. From our experience Premier Inns offer excellent value for the money. We also stayed at a Premier Inn at the Glasgow Airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargaretAuld, Duty Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us, for the future, we now have 30 minutes free wifi available in the hotel each day.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Lauren Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Address: 91 Newcraighall Road | Newcraighall, Edinburgh EH21 8RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#48 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#57 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REFURBISHED HOTEL The Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) is ideal for all occasions. Shopping, party nights, family getaways or romantic weekend breaks. Everything you need and more surround us! Our 42 en-suite bedroom hotel offers clean and comfortable rooms, Tea and coffee making facilities, bath with shower, TVs in every room and a 24-hour reception as standard. Free car parking is available on site. The hotel is situated just off the A1 near Musselburgh. The Fort Kinnaird Retail Park is within walking distance form the hotel and the Newcraighall Bannatyne’s Heath Centre is right next-door. We are 8 minutes by train into the city centre of Edinburgh; the station is opposite our hotel and runs frequently Monday to Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Newcraighall) Hotel Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing