We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elder York Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elder York Guest House
Ranked #81 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Elder York Guest House with our two teenage sons for one night. We stayed in a four bed room. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spacious. The double bed was too hard though. There was also a lot of noise from the very busy road outside, starting around 4 am. But absolutely ok for one nights stay. The location is good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    97
    41
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
104
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My boyfriend & I satyed at this hotel for one night ahead of a wedding outside the city. I was confident we'd found a nice place as there were so many good reviews. However our room was ok but the bathroom was pretty shabby and built a bit oddly into the room with just a unsteady sliding door. There were also areas of it which obviously hadn't been cleaned properly.

We'd been up very early on the day of arrival so took a nap before going out for dinner. But we were rudely awoken by a screaming mother & child who I soon realised was the mangeress. This was then followed by an angry male voice. We could hear almost every word of the argument as it was being had by the martied owners in their private room next door to us (with theIr door open). Not only was there arguing but also a lot of swearing. We felt uncomfortable about leaving our room and like unwelcome guests in someone's home, not paying guests at a hotel. When we did leave the room, their son was running around the lobby moving fire extinguishers, one of which was still outside our bedroom door when we came home at midnight.

In addition I wasnt't very impressed by breakast either or the very dusty sugar bowls on the table.

We paid £90 for this room, which seems the going rate for Edinburgh B&Bs but I have paid less and had much better rooms and food.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia29_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

Great location, especially if you come by the airlink bus which drops you off at Waverly Station-- you can easily walk to the Guest House, and then back to the center of town with all its attractions and transport options; Harry and Shirley are warm and welcoming and provide a wonderful breakfast in the spacious dining room; we were welcome to leave our luggage and begin sightseeing until our room was ready. There are stairs to climb, so if you are not very fit, you may want to choose another option. Personally, we were very happy that we chose Elder York Guest House.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Very friendly welcome both Harry + Shirley made us feel at home.
The location was great near to all attractions and right next to bus station and only 5 min walk from train station.
The room were clean and tidied daily.
The breakfast - couldnt ask for a better start to your day plenty to choose from .

Room Tip: noise from bus station and stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimruscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed in this B&B for three nights during royal wedding weekend.

Owners are very nice, would help with anything we needed.

Rooms are clean (apart from loads of dust on the bedside lamp and behind the bedside table) and there is a basic housekeeping every day. This B&B is located in the heart of Edinburgh, just next to the bus station and about 5 mins walk from Edinburgh rail station.

Breakfast - really delicious, few options. Only thing (apart from already mentioned dust) we didn't like were the towels - really bad quality, some of them with holes.

If we went to Edinburgh again, we would probably chose this hotel again...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlin_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Spent the weekend in Edinburgh. Welcomed by Harry who explained all we needed to know about the guest house, Edinburgh's attractions, transport links etc!! Our room was clean and well serviced. and really good value for money. Smashing breakfast available. Thanks for helping to wards a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hev1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Harry and Shirley are just amazing!What a wonderful couple and warm welcome we received!
They are pleased to help you and give very good advice.
The location is excellent (10 min from the station, right in the city centre), rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is delicious.
Without a doubt, the perfect place for a citytrip in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brussels144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#65 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Broughton & Calton
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#372 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#60 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#17 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#21 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder York Guest House

Property: Elder York Guest House
Address: 38 Elder St, Edinburgh EH1 3DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elder York Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No smoking, homely guest house on 3rd and 4th floor of a grade A listed building, very central location, clean and comfortable with a highly recommended breakfast to suite all appetites. Small pets welcome on agreement, very helpful staff. We aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Elder York Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder York Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Elder York Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing