We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elder York Guest House
Ranked #75 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2011

beds clean and firm, clean tables for breakfast, look hard yes plenty of dust in nooks etc..room 3 phone outside door..kept rining...also opp the dining room, which was not a problem..lots of noise from the traffic..bus station next door buses outside above the windows noise..Great breakfast..room 3 had the toilet seat fitted at an angle not easy to sit on..good shower..plenty of stairs to climb on arrival not a problem for us..dont drive into bus staion will get a big telling off..good job there was a car park opp the hotel made life easy £19.90 for 24 hrs stay..worth a one night stay..

Room Tip: ask if poos not near the buss station..but not sure there is any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dollydettolnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed at the Elder York for 3 nights during the festival. As mentioned in previous reviews there are quite a few steps to reach the reception but we did not find this a problem. On our arrival we were met by Harry the owner who was very helpful and friendly. Our room overlooked the main road and there was some road noise. The room along with the rest of the hotel was very clean. The breakfast we both found was excellent and served by Sheila with a smile and jolly manner. The Elder York is very well situated for Waverley rail station and all the surrounding visitor attractions. St Andrews square is nearby and it is well worth strolling down the streets opposite the square as there are some very nice shops bars and restaurants. We would not hesitate in recommending this guest house for people who want clean and good value accommodation in a very central location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KGandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed at the Elder York Guest House with our two teenage sons for one night. We stayed in a four bed room. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spacious. The double bed was too hard though. There was also a lot of noise from the very busy road outside, starting around 4 am. But absolutely ok for one nights stay. The location is good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My boyfriend & I satyed at this hotel for one night ahead of a wedding outside the city. I was confident we'd found a nice place as there were so many good reviews. However our room was ok but the bathroom was pretty shabby and built a bit oddly into the room with just a unsteady sliding door. There were also areas of it which obviously hadn't been cleaned properly.

We'd been up very early on the day of arrival so took a nap before going out for dinner. But we were rudely awoken by a screaming mother & child who I soon realised was the mangeress. This was then followed by an angry male voice. We could hear almost every word of the argument as it was being had by the martied owners in their private room next door to us (with theIr door open). Not only was there arguing but also a lot of swearing. We felt uncomfortable about leaving our room and like unwelcome guests in someone's home, not paying guests at a hotel. When we did leave the room, their son was running around the lobby moving fire extinguishers, one of which was still outside our bedroom door when we came home at midnight.

In addition I wasnt't very impressed by breakast either or the very dusty sugar bowls on the table.

We paid £90 for this room, which seems the going rate for Edinburgh B&Bs but I have paid less and had much better rooms and food.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julia29_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Great location, especially if you come by the airlink bus which drops you off at Waverly Station-- you can easily walk to the Guest House, and then back to the center of town with all its attractions and transport options; Harry and Shirley are warm and welcoming and provide a wonderful breakfast in the spacious dining room; we were welcome to leave our luggage and begin sightseeing until our room was ready. There are stairs to climb, so if you are not very fit, you may want to choose another option. Personally, we were very happy that we chose Elder York Guest House.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Very friendly welcome both Harry + Shirley made us feel at home.
The location was great near to all attractions and right next to bus station and only 5 min walk from train station.
The room were clean and tidied daily.
The breakfast - couldnt ask for a better start to your day plenty to choose from .

Room Tip: noise from bus station and stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimruscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed in this B&B for three nights during royal wedding weekend.

Owners are very nice, would help with anything we needed.

Rooms are clean (apart from loads of dust on the bedside lamp and behind the bedside table) and there is a basic housekeeping every day. This B&B is located in the heart of Edinburgh, just next to the bus station and about 5 mins walk from Edinburgh rail station.

Breakfast - really delicious, few options. Only thing (apart from already mentioned dust) we didn't like were the towels - really bad quality, some of them with holes.

If we went to Edinburgh again, we would probably chose this hotel again...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlin_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
28 York Place Hotel
28 York Place Hotel
#79 of 393 in Edinburgh
198 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#56 of 393 in Edinburgh
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
434 reviews
New Town
Queens Guest House
Queens Guest House
#66 of 393 in Edinburgh
338 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#9 of 393 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elder York Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elder York Guest House

Address: 38 Elder Street, Edinburgh EH1 3DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $107 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elder York Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No smoking, homely guest house on 3rd and 4th floor of a grade A listed building, very central location, clean and comfortable with a highly recommended breakfast to suite all appetites. Small pets welcome on agreement, very helpful staff. We aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elder York Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elder York Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Elder York Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing