We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gorgeous period hotel run by a wonderful couple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adria House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adria House
Ranked #6 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous period hotel run by a wonderful couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed there in May for the Edinburgh Marathon Festival. It is a gorgeous Georgian terrace hotel, well appointed with high quality period fixtures and fitting and fittings all maintained to an excellent condition. The rooms are spotless and well decorated, almost as if it was built yesterday - everything exudes class and quality.

It is ideally located only five minutes walk from the center of town yet it is on a quite street overlooking the royal terrace gardens.

Our hosts Edward and Maria were very helpful and always making sure we were ok, either when topping up the coffee at breakfast or helping us find the best way to one of Edinburgh's many attractions.

Talking of breakfast they were lovely, no scrimping and bought to your table (rather than standing around in a buffet).

Its hard to describe how a 200 year old building could be kept so immaculate - the rooms have huge ceilings and massive windows and are all very large (no small pokey box rooms here). The fittings are period by extremely well maintained, even the paintwork looks brand new.

The price was amazing as well, especially when compared with the likes of the larger national chains with little or no character.

I can easily recommend this place, it was an amazing find and when we next go back to Edinburgh we will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    39
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
238
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We had a lovely two night stay at Adria House in mid-April. We walked easily there from Waverly Train Station and to all of the Old Town sights. The hosts are gracious and friendly, and the rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We requested a room facing the street so that we could catch a glimpse of the Firth of Forth and a private bath rather than a en-suite room to save a few pounds. We regretted neither of those requests. Since we were on the first floor, it really was just a glimpse of water through the then leafless trees. Probably, a better view would have been had from the next floor up, but our stair climb was easy and the street traffic did not bother us at all. The private bath was large and close-by. It did not feel awkward at all using it, especially wearing the fluffy robes that were provided for us. I definitely would recommend this establishment!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarryLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Edward and Maria are friendly and helpful hosts and the hotel is well located for The Playhouse(our main choice for choosing) and all Edinburghs attractions. Room was absolutely gorgeous, tastefully decorated and spotless. View from our window was just breathtaking.
Enjoyed the choice of breakfast, will definately be back again. Cant praise the Adria enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

As soon as we walk in we received a very warm welcome from Edward who kindly talk us through the best bits of Edinburgh. We stayed in the family room of 4 (2 twins, 1 double) which were sumptuous, very high ceiling with tall windows that made the room very bright. It's in great condition, carpet and paint seemed brand new.
It is very well located, around 5-10 mins to the town centre and right by a hill that oversees the whole town (definitely worth going).
We were on road side, so the cobble road may be a bit noisy when cars drive by but it didn't stop us sleeping well.
Finally, the breakfast was excellent and we actually looked forward to it in each evening!
Top marks!

Room Tip: If you're going on a family stay for 3 or 4, go for room no 2, the most spacious one including a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillaume P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Well located, beautiful guest house; clean, elegant, quiet room; very nice and helpful hosts; delicious breakfast. Everything just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The staff could not have been more helpful or kind. Breakfasts were outstanding - esp the porridge. The veiws from the room to the amazing gardens were a highlight - I only wish we could have seen them close up! Thank you to the avid gardeners. It was within walking distance to everything. The beds were wee (ie short)- and we are both quite short people! This was the only down-side. The room was gracious and huge, and the bathroom was a decent size (not like many you find which are tiny) We would recommend this lovely place to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenoa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is an excellent choice for a stay in Edinburgh. Adria house is a comfortable family run bed and breakfast establishment which successfully mixes a humble warmth and Scottish welcome within the elegance of a Georgian town house. The rooms retain some of their original grandeur and style and we found everything to be impeccably clean and well organised. The owners go out of their way to be helpful and friendly, offering consistent good cheer regardless of the time of day.
Another plus is the great location as the Royal Crescent is within walking distance to all main points of interest whilst at the same time remaining off the main road and away from traffic. We got the shuttle bus from the airport and easily walked from the drop off at Waverly in about 10 – 15 mins.
Breakfast is generous and served between 7.30 and 9.30 each morning. However if you need anything earlier it can be arranged. It seems as if nothing is too much trouble for your lovely hosts.
We liked climbing up Carton Hill just behind the house which has good views of the city and surrounding area and there is also a fascinating old cemetery over near Waterloo Place.
We stayed in the room at the top with the bathroom across the hall, which was not a problem. I thought the mattress was quite firm but by night number two I was used to it!
All in all, great value. Recommended. I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adria House

Property: Adria House
Address: 11-12 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adria House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Adria House offers charming, comfortable accommodation and good value for it's central location. It is within easy walking distance of the main bus and train stations and also near many of Edinburgh's principal cultural, historical and retail landmarks. Situated on Calton Hill within a UNESCO World Heritage Site and once a fashionable society house, the Adria House embodies much of the Georgian architecture and decorative elegance associated with the period found within Edinburgh's New Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Adria House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adria House Hotel Edinburgh
Adria House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing