We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wow - you have to go here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aaron Glen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aaron Glen
Ranked #17 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wow - you have to go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

What a find. My first visit this weekend. A boutique hotel experience at a B&B cost. Beautiful stylish rooms full of thoughtful touches - WIFI, ipod dock, bottled water in the room, tea and coffee of course and my personal bugbear - a good hairdryer. Don't you hate the usual hotel offerings?!
Breakfast was the best I have ever had in an hotel or B&B. Seriously. Again so much thought had gone into the choice of cereal, fruit, cheese, jams, everything. When did you last find good quality lemon curd, peanut butter, syrup, LURPAK butter, innocent smoothie drink and quality yoghurts at your disposal, as well as the usual items. Les cooked me a smashing eggs benedict - so good I had to lie down afterwards!
Carolyn made us very welcome on arrival and showed us round. They run a fully stocked "honesty" bar and even left out fruit and chocolates in the lounge area for guests. So if you are going to Edinburgh or Roslin Chapel or you just want a fabby night away and brekkie, look no further.

Room Tip: The road could have been noisy but we heard nothing at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneE232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
112
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

quick stopover for two nights recently to escape renovation work in our home, and would really recommend highly, nicely decorated house and interiors and a room that was of a higher standard than most hotels(which charge twice as much) The room had a good firm bed, smart and stylish furniture and the house has a quiet and calm atmosphere, was just perfect for what we needed. Breakfast was also great with really good coffee too, really appreciated the hostess' welcome and friendly check in as we had booked last minute and then turned up, If all guest houses were like this I would stay in them more often rather than hotels.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank james09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have now been a regular guest at Aaron Glen since April 2011. Words can not describe how well orgainsed, designed, comfy and very inviting this B&B is. The rooms are of high class hotel quality, the furniture and sleeping area is excellent, all rooms have on-suite facilities and Carolyn is super. Anything you want or ask Carolyn will do her very best for you.

With onsite car park, bar and food faciltities, this B&B gets 5Stars from me.

I use the B&B while i stay and work in Edinburgh and have no bad reviews to make

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Aaron Glen is a remarkable B&B featuring luxury-furnished rooms of high quality and taste with modern and attractive design and fittings. Nothing is missing in these rooms. Carolyn is an exceptional and engaged host who is determined to make visitors feel at home. Parking is available (ideally you should have a car, although a regular bus service into town is nearby) and there are good places to eat within close driving distance - ask Carolyn for recommendations. Breakfast defies description with multiple main course breakfast choices (go for the full Scottish with optional haggis - delicious!), wide ranges of juices and cereals - simply put it is the best B&B breakfast we have ever experienced. Expect to be immobile for few minutes once you have finished breakfast - it is truly a full meal! The "honesty bar" is well stocked and fairly priced. The combination of excellent, clean, well-equipped and attractive rooms with the food and friendliness makes this by far and away the best B&B of the many we have visited to date.

Room Tip: All rooms seem of the same high standard of furnishing and equipment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Novindcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I came across this on trip advisor, I was really looking for somewhere in the centre, as we went by train, but there didnt seem to be anything available at a resonable price. When I phoned to enquire Carolyn was extremely helpful and emailed over the directions straight away. This is a lovely B & B as long as you are travelling by car. Admittedly there is a bus just down the road and they do run every 15 minutes into the centre of Edinburgh, but you spend about 45 minutes getting there, so you generally spend an hour each way, there is also nothing else around so again you are stuck without transport, if you wanted to go and freshen up and then go out, its pretty difficult, which we would have preferred to do. So we just stayed and ate in the centre, then came back to the place. There is a nice bar, with very reasonable prices, so we settled in there in the evening. The room was nice and clean, but the bed was on the small size, I think it must have been a small double. The breakfast was out of this world, and set you up for the day, and Carolyn was excellent company, going around chatting to everyone. We would stay here again for sure, if we were travelling by car, but by train I would stay in the centre

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for one night and we had a lovely room. It was very peaceful, the food was excellent. Carolyn was most helpful when I made the booking and gave me a recommendation for a dinner venue. I looked it up on the web and was pleased with it so I booked a table. Although it was a little distance from Aaron Glen it was a fantastic meal with great service and well worth the money.
Carolyn gave a route into Edinburgh as there are diversions in place and a run was also taking place today. We found our way very easily thanks to her advice.
She has an Honesty bar which is very well stocked and exceptionally well priced.

We would certainly recommend this as a great place to stay with excellent service and a really nice Host.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purple022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This place is fantastic,
It has the quality of a Luxuary hotel with the personal touch you get with a B&B.

There is nothing that could improve this place Carolyne makes everyone feel welcome.

The location is great close to Roslyn chaple and on the edge of town ( also close to the best IKEA in the UK).






Thanks again Caroline for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 01goatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barony House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#6 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aaron Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aaron Glen

Property: Aaron Glen
Address: 7 Nivensknowe Road | Loanhead, Edinburgh EH20 9AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly guest house serving beautiful Scottish breakfasts and providing incredibly comfortable beds. Great access for sightseeing and a large off road car park. Wifi access in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Aaron Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aaron Glen Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing