We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!”
Review of Ard-na-said

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-said
Ranked #18 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of October and had a wonderful time. The Wallace Room was amazing, with a view of Arthur's Seat, and the bed was huge! The room was spotlessly clean and very warm, which was most welcome given the blustery weather! Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was wonderful (don't miss the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs). We'll definately stay here on our next visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The Wallace Room was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    49
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
67
171
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Two nights here in February and the best we have had in Edinburgh.
We have visited the city so many times but this is a gem i am reluctant to mention incase we are not able to book in!!
We stayed in the Wallace room and it blowed us away. It was HUGE. The room was spotless and decorated to a high standard.
Breakfast was excellent served with a smile and chat by Jim.
Ard-Na-Said is conveniently located near to the bus stop, which made it an easy walk and great for going into town during the day or evening.
Definatly going back.

Room Tip: WALLACE room- large sunny and huge four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed four nights and were delighted with our room. It was bright and very clean with a spotless bathroom and milk etc. provided each day to have tea or coffee . The meals provided were first class with Jim's porridge a highlight each morning. It was easy to get into town by the local bus which ran regularly. We were given help by Olive to get medical help nearby and she cheerfully booked a bus tour and arranged for our taxi when leaving. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this facility.
A and E.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed one night in September and it was my best stay in the town bar none. The room was restfully decorated and the comfort level was very high. The shower room was sparkling and the products were well chosen for a luxurious touch.
Breakfast was superb and was served with a smile by Jim. I wish that we had discovered Ard na Said when we were visiting Edinburgh more regularly. As it is, we will certainly make it first choice next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport ri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed two nights here on Sept 26 and 27, 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We were greeted warmly by Jim the owner and shown to the ground floor room, the Rankin. The room was large and bright with high ceilings and pleasant furnishings. We found the king bed to be firm and supportive. The bathroom was spacious and had a large shower, which we enjoyed. Thoughtfully, the owners asked what our preferences would be for breakfast the next day, and gave us individual printed menu choice slips to complete during the evening. We experienced similiar requests at other B&Bs during our stay in England and Scotland. We enjoyed delicious full English breakfasts both mornings. We appreciated the local maps and restaurant suggestions found in our room, and the menus available for review in the lobby. It was conveniently located near the bus stop, which made it an easy walk for us, as we have some physical limitations with walking distances. We will recommend this B&B to our friends and would be happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: The Rankin was a great choice on the ground floor which is helpful for those who have difficulty wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newportchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

First class in every way. Room and bath are hotel 4-5 star equivalent. Breakfast is hot and cooked to order and everything you might want. Hosts are terrific. Scottish hospitality at its best. Short bus ride to city center running every few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Ard-na-Said guest house was the first stop for our honeymoon. We could not have been more happy.

We stayed in the Wallace room which was big, bright, and comfortable. If I could have fit that bed in my suitcase!!

The breakfast in the most beautiful dinning room was outstanding. I had scrambled eggs and toast. I know it is only scrambled eggs but they were fantastic, honestly if something that simple is that good you know the attention to detail in everything else is superb.

Ard-na-Said is a nice easy walk to the Royal Mile. Just the right distance, in a quiet neighborhood, away from the bustle. But close enough that you can join the fun fast.

Jim is very funny and Olive is such a dear. Jim took care of all those pesky needs of us Yanks, even with only two arms ; )

If your going to stay in "Auld Reekie" you would be mad not to stay at the Ard-na-Said.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallschirmjager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 148 in Edinburgh
961 reviews
Prestonfield
#3 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,107 reviews
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kew House
#6 of 392 in Edinburgh
810 reviews
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard-na-said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-said

Property: Ard-na-said
Address: 5 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE 14/10/2016 Ard-Na-Said is a Victorian house which was built in 1875. It is set in attractive gardens in a quiet residential area yet only 1.5 miles to the train station. Being only 100 metres from an excellent bus service that offers a speedy access to the heart of Edinburgh. We are close to Holyrood park and Arthur's seat, Prestonfield Hotel,(Rhubarb Restaurant & Taste of Scotland), Edinburgh University and Pollock Halls of Residence and within a 5 minute walk of Prestonfield Golf Club, The Royal Commonwealth Pool & Gym and local shops and Restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ard-na-said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Said Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing