We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious & comfortable with excellent location...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of City Apartment

Stunning 2 bedroom apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning 2 bedroom apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Stunning 2 bedroom apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sonworshi...
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Spacious & comfortable with excellent location & amenities!”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were VERY pleased with this choice of apartment for our 2 night Edinburgh stay! Guliano and Heather were very accommodating and gracious hosts. Upon arrival we were met at the door with keys, shown around the apartment and given information about the city, buses, parking, etc. A garage was available with this rental but the free parking on the street outside was always available so we never had need of it. Nice to know it was there if needed & would probably be a very welcome perk if the nearby sports stadium is in use. A lift opens to the second floor door of the apartment so getting luggage in and our was a breeze. The apt. was very clean, well furnished and comfortable containing everything we needed. We never felt cramped and could have easily had 6 people instead of our 4 and would have been just fine (as long as 2 people didn't mind sleeping on the couches). Beds were comfortable, washer/dryer combo was small and confusing to operate but nice to have for our mid-trip stop (even a drying rack was provided). Heather even provided coffee, tea, sugar, salt/pepper and a small container of milk along with some opened containers of juice, marmalade, condiments, etc. in the refrigerator that were probably left behind by the previous tenants but we did not choose to use. The kitchen was well stocked with anything needed, including an espresso machine! 2 full bathrooms was also a wonderful perk that was not common to most apartments we considered. Also, free wi-fi with an excellent signal strength. Location was perfect! Just enough out of the city center to be very quiet and make the price affordable while avoiding parking issues. An easy walk from the top of the street to a large grocery store and only half a block down the street to the nearest bus stop and an approx. 10 min. ride into the city center. We almost could not have picked a better place for our needs and budget! Gulliano even owns 2 restaurants in town. We had dinner our first night at one, had a wonderful Italian meal and even received a nice discount on our bill...an unexpected blessing. The food was great, place was packed and a bit noisy at first but a very pleasant experience once the crowd thinned out a bit. Absolutely the best tiramisu we've ever had! As for the apartment, the only suggestion for improvement (and this is not at all a complaint) would be to add some towel bars and/or hooks to the bathrooms and leave more explicit instructions for operating the washer/dryer. Checking out at the end of our stay was as simple as locking the door and dropping the keys through the slot in the door as we left. All in all, this is a great place and we almost could not have been happier with the choice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and price!
Liked least: No towel bars for hanging wet towels in the bathrooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I appreciate your comments re washing machine instructions along with towel hooks. This I shall take on board and address. Glad you enjoyed your meal especially the Tiramisu which I must say is one of my least favourite deserts, I shall pass your comments onto Giuliano.

Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inlovewit...
greenock, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxury stay for budget price.”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was a proper home away from home. Very nicely decorated with a lovely location,buses go past every few minutes so it is never a problem to get in/out of town. Bus ride takes literally 7 minutes and you're right up on Princes Street. All rooms in the apartment were lovely and large with plenty cupboard space. It more than coped with our large party of 5 adults, 1 child and an infant. Overall a very comfortable, stress-free trip which we would gladly repeat!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love the opportunity to welcome you again to Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtau73
Oberentfelden, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great Apartement”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you for your warm welcome.
We all loved our stay in your great and good located Apartement!!!
In just a 15 minute-walk to the Royal Mile!!!
Delicious Chinese-Restaurant round the corner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die grösse des Apatements und der Standort. In nur 15 Minuten zu Fuss zur Royal Mile
Liked least: Teppich im Master-Bedroom und in den Nasszellen
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, next time you must try the best Italian restaurant in town.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johndeard...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and spacious apartment”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is beautifully presented, with everything you would need for a short stay. Two bathrooms make it ideal for two couples and the lounge area was very comfortable. We walked to all the Edinburgh Festival activities but it was on a good bus route if you didn't feel energetic, or with bags. There is a shopping centre nearby.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Fenella, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. Look forward to seeing you again next tear.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SDavisLon...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good apartment for a city break”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is lovely and spacious, as well as being very functional. Based by the Meadowbank Stadium, it is a short walk (10 to 15 minutes) to the town centre and there is a bus that goes from the bottom of the road. There is also a Sainsburys a few minutes walk away to buy essentials at.
The private parking was excellent and a real advantage for us.
Guilano's restaurant (by the Playhouse) is definitely worth a visit for dinner - the food is delicious.
Would happily stay in this apartment again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I look forward to seeing you again in Edinburgh in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy C
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nay too shabby”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely apartment, really accessible for a wheelchair. All the right facilities, plenty of china etc. Takeaways, paper shop, pub and supermarket just round corner. Bit of a hike into town but right by Holyrood Park. All in all a good one,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy to find from A1
Liked least: Would have lilked ot be closer to town
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in the apartment and Edinburgh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennakay...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment, fab location!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is a short bus ride from Edinburgh city centre and is very close to two roads with bus stops. I particularly liked the modern decor and the open plan kitchen/living area which was great for relaxing in. I was there for a girls' weekend away and it was perfect for that and a good size for 5 people, with the 2 bathrooms with showers coming in handy! The sofa bed in the living room means that the apartment could sleep 6 people if required.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you to Edinburgh again in the future.

Kind Regards

Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing