We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
43
47
18
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
47
18
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshampoo conditionershort busfamily roomcontinental breakfaststayed for nightswould stay againtwin roomfringe festivalguesthousebuseswardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 127 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2016 via mobile

What a lovely find.. visited for the rugby weekend very warm welcome room was lovely and for a short break just what was needed. Short bus journey into town do get the day ticket £4 if going around the city. Good sleep lovely breakfast nice stay recommended direct bus from princess st to outside front door (nearly) :-)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank waspsrufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2016

We were greeted from our car by the friendly, helpful owner. The standard of this guest house was excellent. Scrupulously clean and a high standard of decor. The breakfast buffet was very tasty with ample food and quick efficient service.
The guest house is very close to the hospital which we were visiting, and only ten minutes from the Marchmont area of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMBLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2016

We stayed here one night (couple with a well behaved dog) and were impressed with the value and comfort the Arden Guest House delivers.
The main positives were the free parking, no additional charge for taking the dog, a fully enclosed garden we were welcome to use, park land opposite for walking the dog, shampoo/conditioner/soaps provided in the bathroom, and lovely décor in the rooms. We didn't have the additional cooked breakfast which was on offer, but enjoyed the continental option with fruit, cereals, yoghurt, pastries and toast.
The location was excellent, and although we decided to walk up to the old town in the evening (it took about 30 minutes to get to The Old Bell Inn), we were told that a bus stopped outside the premises and only cost £1.50, which is excellent.
The negatives were that the bathroom in room 6 is very small and only had a shower and no bath, which was fine for us, but something to be aware of if you wanted one. Also, although clean, the walls could do with a bit of a facelift in some areas - think homely, rather than trendy and immaculate.
We would definitely stay again though.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the house and slept really well as there was no road noise from that side.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

I felt warmly welcomed by Linda, she is lovely and her hospitality is great. The place was nice heated, specially coming back from street party of new years. Breakfast is well served and delicious. Bathroom is ok and shower needs improvements. Bed soooo comfy!
This guest house is 15min away from the city center by bus but very easy to come and go.

Thank you Linda!!! If I pass through Edinburgh again, i will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sunara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

This guest house is set in lovely surroundings. The accommodation is extremely well appointed and very clean. The breakfast was exceptional, made from local produce. Above all, the service was first class, and this made it a memorable stay. We will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarkVivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews