We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing place to stay”
Review of Safestay Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Safestay Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Having only read these reviews below after my stay i can only imagine that the few people below were expecting to stay in a 5 star HOTEL! Not a 5 star HOSTEL!

I can't fault anything with Smart City. There were zero problems checking in, sure i had to wait about 5 mins while the people in front of me checked in, but im not such an ego manic that i expect to swan to the front of the que. The shared room i stayed in was lovely and clean, and yes i stayed over new year when it was insanely busy but i had no issues with people or noise etc.

The bar was amazing! Yeah it was really busy, but it was New Years eve! I waited for quite a bit for food, but the staff were very apologetic and nice about it. The bar on site was actually one of the nicer ones i visited during my trip, when i was there the bar staff especially were in great spirits! Brody, Steve and Lizzy were great fun, making my friends and i feel part of the gang by chatting to us at the bar etc.

A great feature is the guest kitchen, so we could cook for ourselves and one thing if i have to mention a negative would just be that the floors make a noise while you walk on them, which isnt great for coming and going late at night.

All in all i had a blast staying here and so did my friends. We will be back in the near future and really look forward to it!

Thank you!

Room Tip: If you are high up and facing Blackfriars Street, you get an amazing view of Arthur's Seat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Hi there,

We are so pleased you had a great time! It's amazing that you have taken the time to review us positively - we really appreciate it.

I'll be sure to let Steve, Brodie and Lizzie know you guys had a good time with them.

We hope to see you back soon.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    498
    180
    51
    54
See reviews for
185
113
379
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle,Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Ever had problems finding somewhere in Edinburgh where you can have a drink and bring your kids in without having to buy a meal? We have but not here! Ground floor easy access bar which is surprisingly well behaved as it's attached to a hostel. Staff were friendly and helpful and pints of Stella only £2.80 and it wasn't even happy hour! We'll be back when we vist with our kids.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatherTed1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Hi,

Thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed coming into Bar 50 and look forward to seeing you with your kids, back here soon.

Thanks,

Jayne @SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here over Hogmanay 2012 with a tour group then by myself for a further night. The location was wonderful, but the staff were less than accommodating, the toilets were atrocious and we waited 1 1/4 hours for our meals in the bar.

Only stay here if you need a central location, don't need any help finding your way around Edinburgh and don't mind non-flushing toilets. And DON'T eat at the bar - a half hour wait will be over an hour and your food will be cold.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loralai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for your review.

New Year, as you will understand is a busy time for us. We are sorry you didn't experience the high level of service that our guests are used to.

I am sure that if you highlighted the issues you mentioned to a member of management at the time, they would have tried their best to resolve them.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I've stayed here twice during my annual trip to the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. The hostel is in a perfection location for rambling in the beautiful Old Town of Edinburgh and is a good, cheap option during the busy festival time. However, absolutely everything seemed to be a problem for the staff - checking in, getting served in the bar, buying wifi credit etc. They were sullen and rude and created a hostile environment. Would only stay again if nothing else was available.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justhavinalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for your review.

We are sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations. Normally, our guests really enjoy the atmosphere in our hostel and compliment our team. I am sure that if you had spoken to a member of management regarding any issues at the time, they would have tried their best to resolve it.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were going on a girlie weekend away. It was the day before and we still had not decided where to go. Due to work commitments it meant that one of us out of the 3 members of the party had to make the decision on where to go and stay. This in mind one of the first questions my friend asked when booking this hostel (less than 24 hours in advance) was the charge if we were unable to make it. My friend was advised this would be £21 and as it was only £7 each decided to book the place for the following 3 nights.
Unfortuantley we were unable to make the first night so I rang during the day to confirm we could only attend the other 2 nights. The women on the phone said this was fine and they would sort out the final balance when we arrived.
I appreciate this is meant to be an 5* hostel but the service we received was awful. We arrived and the lady on the desk told us we owed them £70 for each night including the night we had not stayed. As this was the first we knew about this and the lady on the desk did not understand we asked to speak to a manager.
The manager was only a duty manager and was very rude. She did not sympatheize, all she kept saying was it was our fault for being told the £21 covered not attending and that we would have to pay. When asking to speak to a manager she said no one could help and we would have to pay. We explained we had booked the hostel on the conditions that if we could not make it all we would loose is £21. She did not care and said it had nothing to do with her and we needed to pay. Several conversations were all she said was there was a 48 hour cancellation fee (which we booked under this time anyway).

In the end she went off to speak to somebody at the booking agency. We had travelled for 8 hours, had not even received a hello and resulted to having to ask if we could briefly sit down.

Whilst she took her time talking to somebody on the booking line and saying we (the customer) were wrong, we decided to put all our stuff back in the car and explore Edinburgh. She could have taken forever and was never going to listen to us!

As it turned out we ended up fibdin somewhere else to stay- could not bring ourselves to go back to her with her smirky 'im right' face. I rang and spoke to her and said unfortunately we had recieved awful service and as such had found somewhere else to stay. I got no apology and all she said was you still need to pay the £70 from the night you were not here! She then put the phone down!

Do not go here if you are looking for flexibility and a friendly service- you will not get it!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx1soph1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Hi there,

Thanks for your review.

I can only presume that Late Rooms have not contacted you yet, hence this review. You booked through Late Rooms, who mis informed you about our cancellation fee. Late Room record all of their calls, and have taken full responsibility for the incorrect informaiton given to you. We sell rooms through many third party agancies, and can not control the information, or lack thereof, given to you.

This is the first complaint we have ever received about the manager on shift the night you are referring to. I can only presume that she handled your conversation as she has done every other.

Thanks,

Jayne @SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Made a group booking for three nights with 20 Japanese university students, many travellling overseas for the first time. Reviews by people on Stag and Hen nights made me a bit wary, but it all turned out very well. Group booking staff were friendly and efficient. The students said the rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast fine. There were a few grumbles about lack of wifi. The location just off the Royal Mile is fantastic. At check-in the attitude was less 'Welcome, value paying customer' and more 'Right, here are the rules, so behave!'. Still, it was a cultural lesson in Scottish charm for the students!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Hi there,

Thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed the experience.

We have free wifi in the bar. If there was a problem with the wifi, then I'm sure one of our team would have been more than happy to help you, should you have rasied the issue with them.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thanks,

Jayne @ sCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Spent 2 nights in a 10-bed mixed dorm - Room 108. Check-in was fairly smooth; we arrived early so had to put our bags in the luggage room. The dorm was clean and comfortable. I think it was great that there were 2 bathrooms and toilets in the dorm. The shower was nice and warm. The mattress was rather old and lumpy - but that is not a big issue considering this is after all a hostel.

The location cannot be better - it's just off the Royal Mile and within walking distance from Waverly station and lots of amenities.

The hostel bar was one of the best i've seen. Very pleasant and efficient staff. Great food at reasonable price. The bar was also very spacious and clean. Great atmosphere.

My stay could have been perfect if not for rowdy inconsiderate room-mates on my first night. A bunch of English-speaking girls and Spanish speaking girls/guys came into the room at 3am, talking, singing and laughing at the top of their voices. They continued their antics even after a hostel staff came and told them off. Some of the spanish guys were not even supposed to be in the room. After they left the room, they returned and started banging the door. It was also apparently one of the english girls' birthday and they started singing birthday songs in english and spanish - all these at 3am. Everyone finally went to sleep for a couple of hours. At around 5am, the english girls woke up and blew their party poppers, and wondered why no one thought it was funny. I left them alone as i was worried they might be drunk and might turn physically violent if i told them off. Although this is a dorm, such incredibly rude and shamefully inconsiderate behaviour should not be tolerated. Such ill-behaved individuals should be thrown out of the hostel.

Perhaps hostels should reinforce rules regarding noise levels at night. Or perhaps there should be 'quiet dorms' for travellers who prefer to have restful nights, and separate them from 'party dorms' for those who just want to get drunk and make noise.

Overall despite this annoyance i would say this was an excellent accomodation and i would definitely come back again and would also recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ada123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Hi there,

Thanks for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry others ruined the over all experience for you.

As you will appreciate, you were staying in a dorm room and SCH can't control the behaviour of others in that room too.

Your point about a 'quiet dorm' has been taken on board. A good idea in deed!

Thanks and hope to see you again soon.

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Property: Safestay Edinburgh
Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing