We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on...you know you want to!”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #17 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go on...you know you want to!”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I love a bargain and having nailed a deal on this boutique hotel in Edinburgh, I was feeling very smug with myself. Again, because I had a good deal, I upgraded to a suite and was not disappointed.

With an enormous shower, giant bed, heaps of top end toiletries, you almost don't want to leave your room.

The location is brilliant, right on George Street, so shopping, good restaurants and historical attractions are within a short walk away.

We arrived quite late so decided to eat in the restaurant. We had a delicious meal and please, don't even think of coming here without trying one...or several...of the cocktails. I can recommend the Reggae Reggae one, or the rusty nail, or the mojitos. I'm usually a red wine drinker but when in Rome, or one of the best cocktails bars in the city for that matter, you've got to join in, right?

We only stayed for one night but felt refreshed and totally rejuvenated after our whistle-stop stay. You won't need to upgrade to get a great room here, I did because it was a special occasion.

One of the best in the City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    331
    116
    38
    21
See reviews for
123
986
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel last week for a last break before my boyfriend was posted to Afghanistan and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. The staff could not be friendlier, the rooms were fantastic (with lovely touches such as fresh fruit and fully loaded i-pods), what the bar staff don't know about cocktails is not worth knowing and our evening meal in the restaurant was just delicious and the service again was spot on! Free entry into the club downstairs for a late night dance and nightcap ended off a perfect day! Would recommend to anyone... It's only a shame we have to wait 6 months before we can go back...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at this beautiful and hip hotel in 2010. It was a little pricey but we were only there for a couple of days and it was so worth it. The hotel itself was gorgeous with its lounge, bar, restaurant and breakfast area. The breakfast was AWESOME and very American, which is great because it Europe breakfast is normally not what we are used to. The staff were all very polite, spoke perfect english and accomadating. The room was AMAZING!! It was huge with a huge and very comfortable bed. I believe it was the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in. The rainforest shower was also wonderful. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, our stay here or Edingburgh. It was a truly wonderful experience

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlaDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at Tiger on Monday night, beautiful room to relax in, soft towels, quality soaps etc, they had reserved a table for my meeting which was quiet, staff could not have been more helpful, decided to stay for dinner (one of the good decisions that day), food was exquisite with excellent choice of wines. Woke the next morning refreshed and ready for the day. Overall a very restful experience with very attentive staff a venue not to be missed if coming to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cujimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just had one night dinner, bed & breakfast @ this hotel and would recommend it to everyone. It's not just a hotel it's a wonderful experience, saving up now to come back :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labradoodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed in a luxury double room with Tigerlily's spring break offer. The room was very clean and spacious. It had good lighting and mirrors and a proper hair dryer! Very important to women (take note other hotels!!) We were offered breakfast in our room free of charge which was a real bonus. Our deal included a bottle of wine each night delivered to our room and a 2 course dinner. The food was delicious, the staff very pleasant and helpful. The bar and restaurant was buzzing and lively. Cannot fault our experience and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonic27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I booked Tigerlily in Edinburgh as a weekend treat for me and my wife. We have both stayed there previously in a luxury double room and I had booked the same type of room again, but we received a bonus of being upgraded on check-in to a Junior Suite. This room was amazing and it was a shame we were only staying for one night as you could easily spend a week in this room to make the most of the features and space. It came with a flatscreen TV on the wall, a DVD player and iPod and dock. The bathroom was enormous and had the largest walk-in shower that I have ever seen. Our room, on the third (top) floor of the hotel was very quiet. All of the incidentals, such as towels, dressing gowns, cushions, etc. were of a higher quality than you usually get in hotels.

The bed was enormous, although it was 2 twin beds locked together so there was a seam in the middle and I wouldn’t say it was the most comfortable bed I’ve been in. However, the various lounge seats were very comfortable. We had breakfast in the room, served at the table and chairs. When eating in the room it seemed like the chairs were too low for the table and not the most comfortable eating positions.

These are however very minor points and overall the experience was fantastic and a real feeling of luxury and pampering. We had a couple of drinks in the bar before heading out onto George Street for the rest of the night. That’s another great thing about TIgerlily – it is in a fantastic location. The Tigerlily bar was busy but easy to get served. It has a great range of beers, wines and cocktails. The bar staff were efficient and friendly and would most likely mix any cocktail drinks you ask for.

The hotel staff were also very friendly and nothing seemed too much bother. Breakfast was brought up by 2 members of staff in the morning and the food was hot and fresh and, although the eggs were a little overdone, the breakfast was very nice.

We look forward to going back to Tigerlily again and highly recommend staying here for a romantic break or for something different to the usual hotel chains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB_the_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,725 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,800 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
911 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing