We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb Edinburgh hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #21 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Edinburgh hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit & this in a standard room but every bit as good as our previous stay. Spacious cosy room with all the little extra touches of luxury. Our evening meal & room served breakfast were great & very attentative staff. We will be back next year for another weekend in this superb Edinburgh hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    311
    106
    38
    19
See reviews for
101
910
23
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My partner and I have always dreamed of running a hotel.
After staying at Tigerlily, there are some things that we have learned...

- A restaurant is a restaurant. The food here is divine. But I'd rather have bad food and be able to hear what my partner is saying, than have to lean over the table to hear what my partner is saying over the thumping techno music. Decide whether you're a trendy cocktail bar or a restaurant.
- Designers are good at designing, not hotel designing. Yes, suede covers for your chairs look wonderful... for a while. Then, after a few months, when your guests sit down for breakfast, all they can see is last night's carnage of spilt drinks, and for all we know, bodily fluids, sprayed about the seatcovers. Washable covers are key!
- And on the same point, the first thing we noticed on walking into our room, was a beige rug, horribly stained and foot-marked. Yes, it complimented the wallpaper, but detracted badly from the overall impression of the room.
- Walk-in showers are a wonder of the modern age.... yet, minimal lighting does not serve to cover up the horrendous accumulation of mould and fungus in the grout.
- Bass drivers work beautifully for your trendy cocktail bar. And at £8-9 per cocktail, that's a good idea. Not so good though, if you happen to have a room on the 1st floor, as we were in room 3, where the cleverly-mounted ceiling speakers vibrated bass drums through our room until at least midnight.
- Abstract electronica is not a good backgroung music for breakfast. I thought the couple next to us had really bad flatulence.
- If I order a continental breakfast, and an omlette, that should not take 25 minutes to arrive.
- And if I order continental, and you bring me lots of marmalade, jam, and cheese, I would like more than two slices of toast.
- Parking is key. I was told that I could park in Castle Terrace. Oooh, great. It was 1 mile away, and it cost me... wait for it.. £26. Yes, you heard correctly, £26 for 24 hours parking. There are many other hotels that have deals with NCP for £12 for 24 hours, this should be sorted out ASAP.

All in all, this was a beautiful hotel, some time ago. The service we received from the staff was exceptional; they all tried their best to make us feel welcome, and I commend them for that.( In particular, the reception staff, the duty mananger, and the polite Australian guy who works the lift..) But I feel that such good staff are wasted on a hotel that can't decide whether it's customers are wealthy Ruperts and Henrys in the cocktail bar, or the guests sleeping in their rooms.
Move with the times, or just be a trendy bar...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmetyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We continually aim for excellence and apologise if we fell short of your expectations on this occasion. Tigerlily is going to be enjoying a minor facelift in the coming weeks and this will leave the bars and restaurant space fresh and more exciting and enticing than ever.

Our rooms are also continually upgraded and old rugs are currently being replaced with new. I am sorry if your rug was not as spotless as it could have been on your visit.

On the bright side, we were pleased to read your kind comments about our staff and the way they looked after you.

Yours sincerely

Tigerlily management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We had a really nice stay at this hotel, which was a surprise treat from my husband for my birthday. We loved the decor. The shower was amazing and the bed really comfy. We had dinner in the restaurant. My husband had a fantastic steak. Our waiter was great but I don't think there was enough staff on as there was a big party in. we did have to wait a while for our food, which we didn't mind as we a were in no rush. My only other small negative was there was no ice In the room. Someone did come round 3 hours after we checked in but by that point we were heading out. We did have a lovely stay, it felt very special & would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caza30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Tigerlily as part of a tour around Scotland. We found out about the hotel on the Mr & Mrs Smith site and thought it looked very luxurious, just right for a honeymoon. The hotel is only part of the establishment, there is also a restaurant, bar and club. Its decoration is very modern and is uber cool with hot pink fabrics, statement mirrors and sparkling disco balls hanging from the ceilings. Our room was beautiful and had everything you could possible want including a fully loaded ipod and GHD hair straightners!

The rooms are situated above the bar/restaurant area. We couldn’t hear any music or noise to disturb us and enjoyed the close proximity so we could stumble upstairs after several cocktails in the bar.

The restaurant and bar is very chic with plenty larger’s on tap and a good choice of dishes on the menu at reasonable prices (2 courses for £15). Breakfast is also served in the bar and restaurant area which feels a little strange seeing it in the daylight and spotting the drunken alcohol stains on the chairs from previous nights. Breakfast itself is wonderful. Freshly cooked and served to order, the choice is varied and the cooked breakfast very tasty.

The hotel doesn’t have guest parking however there is some street parking just outside. This is pay & display and is fairly expensive (reasonable I suppose for City parking). Be careful when parking your car, we parked up temporarily outside the hotel simply to unload the suitcases and returned to a parking fine. The attendants are extremely vigilant!

We enjoyed our stay and found the staff very helpful. However, I couldn’t help but feel that the luxury was slightly over stated. It’s obviously a very popular place to go on a night out and ‘be seen’, full of beautiful people, but not really suited to my nature.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from a weekend in Edinburgh for my friends Hen weekend. We booked cocktail making and a meal at Tigerlily and Lulus. The cocktail making was great fun, the two mixologists, Jim and Aaron were friendly and welcoming. We all had chance to make a cocktail or 2 and tried each others, needless to say we were all quite happy! We had the club to ourselves for the session which lasted approx 1 1/2 hours. We then went upstairs to
lovely Tigerlilys, the restaurant is beautifully presented and the food and service were wonderful. There were 15 of us and the server remembered what each person ordered! the food was hot and delicious. We paid £55 each for the cocktail session and meal, which we all thought was brilliant value. Cant recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I love a bargain and having nailed a deal on this boutique hotel in Edinburgh, I was feeling very smug with myself. Again, because I had a good deal, I upgraded to a suite and was not disappointed.

With an enormous shower, giant bed, heaps of top end toiletries, you almost don't want to leave your room.

The location is brilliant, right on George Street, so shopping, good restaurants and historical attractions are within a short walk away.

We arrived quite late so decided to eat in the restaurant. We had a delicious meal and please, don't even think of coming here without trying one...or several...of the cocktails. I can recommend the Reggae Reggae one, or the rusty nail, or the mojitos. I'm usually a red wine drinker but when in Rome, or one of the best cocktails bars in the city for that matter, you've got to join in, right?

We only stayed for one night but felt refreshed and totally rejuvenated after our whistle-stop stay. You won't need to upgrade to get a great room here, I did because it was a special occasion.

One of the best in the City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel last week for a last break before my boyfriend was posted to Afghanistan and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. The staff could not be friendlier, the rooms were fantastic (with lovely touches such as fresh fruit and fully loaded i-pods), what the bar staff don't know about cocktails is not worth knowing and our evening meal in the restaurant was just delicious and the service again was spot on! Free entry into the club downstairs for a late night dance and nightcap ended off a perfect day! Would recommend to anyone... It's only a shame we have to wait 6 months before we can go back...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing