We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location, View and Value”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JoAnn C
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, View and Value”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself, a friend, and each of our teenage daughters stayed for 2 nights in June.
The location is phenomenal with attractions and great restaurants right around the corner.
We had a one bedroom apartment with stunning views of Edinburgh Castle from the bedroom and kitchen windows.
The apartment itself was quite clean and fully functional. The WiFi was super fast and included in the low price we paid per night.
Plenty of linens are available so you don't have to worry about running out of clean towels.
We travelled all over the UK and Edinburgh is my favorite place partially because the accommodations made our stay so wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: small shower
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Castle View. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and agree Edinburgh is a truly wonderful place to stay. There is just so much to see and do. Please don't hesitate to contact us at ts properties if you need help to book your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This apartment is quite small for 4 people however it was more than adequate for 2 nights. It was excellently located and all the city centre attractions are within walking distance. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within easy reach, some being only a 2 minute walk. The view of the castle is quite spectacular. All in all this was a well priced alternative to a chain.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and absolutely agree with you that this particular property being a one bedroom apartment is more suited to 2 people but a sofa bed in the lounge gives you the ability to have 4 if needed. The views of the castle are indeed spectacular. Thanks again for your feedback and please don't hesitate to contact us if you would like any help to book accommodation in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooski
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb value for money”
Reviewed January 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

In my view (and considering the view!) this place can't be beaten for location and value. The windows were draughty but the problem was instantly solved by using the blinds and curtains, along with the plentiful heaters. There was loads of room, a comfy sofa, good TV, excellent kitchen facilities and a clean bathroom with decent shower. My only gripe was the badly stained carpet in the living room; I suspect it's clean enough but it looks grubby. Take slippers! Oh, and earplugs - it can get noisy but that's to be expected in such a central location. 5 minutes walk from the Grassmarket; 10 minutes from the Castle. You can't beat it! For a city break in Edinburgh I can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Carpet - but that's a minor gripe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Castle View Apartment in Edinburgh. We're so pleased that you loved the apartment, location and of course views (we still get wowed by the views on to the Castle). Equally we're glad that you found it to be good value for money.

We've taken on board your feedback about drafts from the windows and stains on the carpet. Being in a conservation area we have to keep the sash & case windows however we have now put an order in for secondary glazing to be fitted in the coming weeks - this should reduce both noise and draughts and mean that you shouldn't need to close blinds / curtains all of the time. We're also in process of getting a replacement carpet. The current carpet is just a couple of years old and does get cleaned every year, however as the pile is quite thick, it does seem to pick up and hold marks resulting in it looking dirty. In addition to this we're also making some other updates including the purchase of a new dining table / chairs, armchair, cutlery and crockery. We hope you will return in the near future and enjoy the new upgrades we've made!

Thanks once again for your honest feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W
1 review
“Great location, simple booking and easy key collection”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

The flat was as advertised and in a great central location that I knew as I had previously owned a flat in Websters Land. The key collection and entire booking process was simple and the attention of the staff in ensuring I arrived and was satisfied was excellent. Unfortunately the interior of the flat is a little tired and the carpet was dirty and stained. Some of the kitchen utensils were broken. Nevertheless the kitchen is very well equipped.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: booking process, value and location
Liked least: interior decor and fittings needs re-vamped
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, it is much appreciated. Every year we undertake a serious of upgrades to the flat, and I can confirm it was redecorated back in March 2014, carpets cleaned, new curtains and bedding purchased, etc. It is a very busy property and therefore may have some wear and tear however I'd be most grateful if you could contact us at: contact@tspropertyservices.com so that we can discuss your feedback further. It is very important to us that the property is kept up to a good standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauline65...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great flat in a very central location.”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The flat was lovely with everything we needed for a few nights stay. It was very easy to find the flat and the key access was superb as saved hanging around for someone to meet us. The location was ideal for us as we were moving around various areas in Edinburgh meeting up with my daughter who is at University in Edinburgh and just doing some general sightseeing, Taxis were readily available just down from the flat and other areas were within walking distance. Lots of local bars, restaurants and shops etc in this area too meant we didn't have to go too far to find good food etc. Hoping to book the flat again over the next few months for another few days break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliaB864...
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely flat just a shame about the noise on a night”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely flat in a very central location with everything you would need and more. Just a shame that we stayed on a Friday and Saturday night and could hear loud music from the bars and clubs nearby until 2am.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Castle View Apartment is right in the heart of the city centre looking directly onto Edinburgh Castle. It's ideal if you want to be close to everything and enjoy the hustle and bustle of this beautiful city. We so pleased you loved the accommodation and thought it was really well equipped. We hope you will consider us again in future. For a quieter break we've also got a lovely selection of properties available in the picturesque coastal villages of Fife or stunning Perthshire, to name but a few so can offer a real contrast of what Scotland has to offer. Thanks again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D
Trenton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“RO Research”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Great location within walking distance to the Grassmarket and West Port. Not a lot of work area to spread out papers and a laptop. There was a folding 4 seat dining set but it wasn't comfortable for long periods of time. The wardrobe was so full of children's stuff and a cot as to be unusable for hanging clothes. Overall a good place sleep and get quick meals with good access to everything. Access was through an entry code and key lock code emailed to us before arriving so we never had contact with anyone during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of workspace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're glad you found the location and the accommodation itself good but are sorry to hear to found the dining table uncomfortable. Due to limited space, we opted for the folding 'butterfly' dining set as it can then be folded down when not in use giving much more space within the living area. We will of course take on board your comments when next reviewing the furnishings. With regards to contact during your stay, we have found over the years that most guests booking a self-catering property want to just arrive and settle in at their own leisure and we therefore installed a key safe for that reason. We do, of course, provide our contact details should there be anything we can help with during the stay. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing