We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Etrip
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,692 results
Traveller rating
906
604
128
32
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
906
604
128
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waverley station great location balmoral hotel city view continental breakfast air con old town royal mile comfortable bed great shower lounge area tea and coffee would definitely stay here again calton hill short break stayed here for one night princes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 1,692 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for my wife's bday and we had a ball. It is direclty across from Edinburgh Waverly. Staff were lovely, the rooms had good views and were really comfy. The hotel bar was the high light, the views from the bar at night were absolutely stunning. To sum up... close to waverly, views of the castle, good staff, comfy rooms. We tried booking for this year but was gutted that it was booked up. Keep up the great work

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tegjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Excellent central location. Very comfortable room (small, but not too small). Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast. The dining room and bar area (breakfast, snacks and drinks only) is a nice space to hang out in.
No bar fridge in the room, or iron etc. No cupboard, but hangers and rack to hang your clothes. Very good wifi.
Good value.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Stayed here for a few nights in September 2016. Main points are as follows:
- location is wonderful, right opposite Waverley Station on Princess Street and close to all the major sights
- staff were really friendly and efficient. No problems at all with check-in and a real nice lounge / bar area located right next to reception.
- free WiFi which worked perfectly
- rooms were fine although very little storage space and no view to speak of. Seemed clean though and certainly comfortable for the price.
- the major downside was housekeeping. They continually knocked the door on the first morning from around 9:30 until 10:30 despite there being a Do Not Disturb marker on the door! I asked them to please come back later and ended up leaving the room just before midday. When I arrived back at 6pm, the room still had not been made up! Very annoying.
At the price though, I would happily stay here and recommend for a short break. Thanks.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhyd78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

I travel a lot for work and work for a charity so our budgets are limited. We normally stay at premier inns but have been disappointed with the last few visits.

What a great surprise I had when I checked into the Motel One on Princes Street in Edinburgh! It's great - very clean, modern and doesn't smell like a urinal (unlike my last purple palace in Edinburgh!!).

Really good location too and will definitely be visiting again and looking where else the chain has hotels.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Motel one Princes Street is a fabulous location for a city break to Edinburgh. We were met by the very helpful Natalia on reception - room was fantastic with a view of Princes St and spotlessly clean. Bed very comfortable and in room provisions like tea/ coffee making facilities and toiletries very welcome. For a budget hotel right in the centre of Edinburgh I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel chain to family and friends and would certainly stay here again!
Last year we stayed at Motel one on Market St. and although perfectly adequate our room on Princes St was by far much better.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colinr569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews