We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Signal House The Signal House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Signal House
The Signal House
Location location location !
The Signal House - a welcome malt: slanj!
The Signal House - stairway to the living room
The Signal House living room
The Signal House bedroom
The Signal House bedroom
The Signal House kitchen
The Signal House shower-room
Edinburgh Castle - photograph taken from the Signal House living room
Edinburgh Castle New Year 2014 - photograph taken from the Signal House living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
DanielH75...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem.”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We chose the Signal House for a senior teacher in our field, who was visiting Edinburgh as part of an International teaching tour. We needed a central, yet quiet location and we really lucked out with the Signal House. Despite its very central and historic Old Town position, the property is wonderfully quiet; set back from the road and enclosed within a courtyard full of plants and greenery.

The flat is scrupulously clean and beautifully presented, fully equipped and extremely comfortable. The upstairs living room is light and bright and has a stunning view of the Castle, while the downstairs bedroom with its shuttered windows feels pleasantly cosy and secluded.

Peter is simply an exemplary host; friendly, professional and reliable. He welcomed our guest warmly, responded swiftly and efficiently to all communication from start to finish, and took care of every detail. He had a willingness to go the extra mile to make sure all our requests were addressed.

Thank-you Peter!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, clean, beautifully presented.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMcG61
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place with Great View!”
Reviewed May 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Signal House is a tranquil haven amidst the hustle and bustle of Grassmarket. The accommodation itself exceeded our expectations and was very comfortable and well laid out, the view of the castle was stunning and really added to the experience of staying in this fab city. Peter was very efficient to deal with from the initial booking right the way through to our departure. He was really friendly, informative and helpful, we could not have asked for more and would certainly recommend staying at this lovely little place!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda C
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Excellent location, beautiful view of the castle from the first floor living room and great size bedroom. The signal house is under a 5 minute walk to numerous excellent pubs and restaurants and although it's slap in the middle of things it is beautifully secluded and quiet at night. Peter was extremely helpful and after meeting us at the accommodation on our check in, he also responded quickly to any queries we had during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pdvinc
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and wonderful location”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We can definitely recommend the Signal House, it was excellently presented, warm and spotlessly clean. Peter was very friendly. The view of the castle from the bay window was stunning. The location of the house is very secluded which meant there was no troublesome traffic noise and ensured a good nights sleep. We can’t wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky building located in a secluded quiet location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudiade...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Tucked behind the green door off Westport is the Signal House. I can't say enough good things about the home. It's steps away from the Grassmarket, just where I wanted to be, very private and secure. From the day I started asking questions Peter answered every email with all the questions I had. When I arrived at the property he was there to meet me just as promised. The condition and cleanliness couldn't have been better. I spent 15 nights at the Signal house and planning on returning next year. Please do not miss this vacation rental as you will be pleasantly surprised on what you find behind the green door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dale_rive...
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Brilliant, chic little gem in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
7
people found this review helpful

I was beyond happy when we arrived at the Signal House, where we spent three charmed and relaxed nights, and found it was even better than the photos. Cordiner's Land is a special enclave and we felt very lucky to stay in this unique complex. Huge tour buses regularly whiz past on West Port, but once you close the big green door and enter the private courtyard, complete serenity and verdant gardens await. The flat, up two short flights of exterior stairs, is newly renovated and stylishly decorated in a smart palette of gray and taupe. We adored the upstairs lounge with its amazing view of Edinburgh Castle and spent as much time there as we could. The modern kitchen had everything we needed, including a welcome washer; it is a true luxury to return home from a vacation with clean clothes. The bedroom was especially luxurious, with a heavenly large bed, and SO QUIET. The bathroom, though quite compact, was cleverly designed (better than our home) and well equipped. We even sat outside at the cafe table in the tiny garden and shared some wine and cheese amid the greenery, and a few friendly neighbors said hello. Yet the buzz of Grassmarket is just moments away, and many top highlights of Edinburgh can be accessed on foot. This was easily one of our favorite holiday rentals and highly recommended for a couple. Thanks to Peter Tucker for a very fine stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chic decor, the courtyard gardens, the view and the quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalln...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy wee get away in the centre of town”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Signal House for a week while we visited friends and reconnected with the city. The Signal House proved a fantastic retreat: clean; beautifully laid-out; and amazingly quiet considering the location is right in the centre of town. We would strongly recommend the Signal House - fantastic value and a fab place to stay. We will stay again when we're next in Edinburgh!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing